ar X iv : h ep - e x / 99 07 05 7 v 1 2 8 Ju l 1 99 9 CLNS 99 / 1626 CLEO 99 - 7 Charged Track Multiplicity in B Meson Decay CLEO


We have used the CLEO II detector to study the multiplicity of charged particles in the decays of B mesons produced at the Υ(4S) resonance. Using a sample of 1.5×10 B meson pairs, we find the mean inclusive charged particle multiplicity to be 10.71±0.02 −0.15 for the decay of the pair. This corresponds to a mean multiplicity of 5.36±0.01 −0.08 for a single B meson. Using the same data sample, we have also extracted the mean multiplicities in semileptonic and nonleptonic decays. We measure a mean of 7.82 ± 0.05 −0.19 charged particles per BB̄ decay when both mesons decay semileptonically. When neither B meson decays semileptonically, we measure a mean charged particle multiplicity of 11.62 ± 0.04 −0.18 per BB̄ pair.

4 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Wilson1999arXI, title={ar X iv : h ep - e x / 99 07 05 7 v 1 2 8 Ju l 1 99 9 CLNS 99 / 1626 CLEO 99 - 7 Charged Track Multiplicity in B Meson Decay CLEO}, author={Rosamund J. Wilson and Thomas Browder and Y. Li and J. Rodr{\'i}guez and H. Yamamoto and Timothy J. Bergfeld and Barry I. Eisenstein and John A. Ernst and Gary E. Gladding and G . D . Gollin and R . M . Hans and Everett E. Johnson and Inga Karliner and Melissa A Marsh and Mark Alan Palmer and C. Plager and C. M. Sedlack and Mats A Selen and J . J . Thaler and J. Williams and Kenneth W. Edwards and Radoslav Jan{\'i}cek and Paresh M. Patel and Ahren Sadoff and Rachid Ammar and P. Baringer and Angela M Bean and David Besson and Reid Davis and Stefan Kotov and Ilya Kravchenko and Nam-Seok Kwak and X. Zhao and Susan G Anderson and V. Frolov and Yoji Kubota and S. J. Lee and Rajat Mahapatra and John J. O’Neill and Ron Poling and Tiffany J. Riehle and A. Smith and Sheraz Ahmed and M Sayeed Alam and Sania Athar and Lixin Jian and Liming Ling and Ahmed Hassan Mahmood and Mohammad Saleem and S . Timm and Frank Wappler and Anton Anastassov and Jean E. Duboscq and K . K . Gan and Chul Gwon and Mick B Spencer and E. von Toerne and M . M . Zoeller and S. J. Richichi and Horst Severini and P. Skubic and A . E . Undrus and M. Bass F. Bay M. Bishai and S. Chen and D. H. Miller and Edward I. Shibata and I . P . J . Shipsey and Gobinda Majumder and Gloriano Moneti and Lokukaluge P. Perera and Gui Jiang Zhou and Werner M. Sun and Jon Urheim and Aaron Jacob Weinstein and Frank W{\"{u}rthwein and David E. Jaffe and G . E . Masek and H . P . Paar and E. M. Potter and Soeren Prell and Vikram Sharma and David Asner and A. Eppich and J. Gronberg}, year={1999} }