ar X iv : h ep - e x / 99 05 04 8 v 1 2 5 M ay 1 99 9 Muon astronomy with LVD detector LVD Collaboration


We analysed the arrival directions of single muons detected by the first LVD tower from November, 1994 till January, 1998. The moon shadowing effect has been observed. To search for point sources of high energy photons we have analysed muons crossing the rock thickness greater than 3, 5 and 7 km w.e., which corresponds to the mean muon energies 1.6, 3.9 and 8.4 TeV at the surface, respectively. Upper limits on steady muon fluxes for selected astrophysical sources for different muon energies are presented. ∗

4 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Aglietta1999arXI, title={ar X iv : h ep - e x / 99 05 04 8 v 1 2 5 M ay 1 99 9 Muon astronomy with LVD detector LVD Collaboration}, author={Michel Aglietta and E . D . Alyea and Pietro Antonioli and Giorgio Badino and G . Bari and M. Basile and Veniamin S. Berezinsky and F. Bersani and Maurizio Bertaina and Roman Bertoni and Gabriele Bruni and Giovanni Romeo and Carlotta Castagnoli and A . Castellina and Andrea Chiavassa and Jos{\'e} A. Chinellato and L . Cifarelli and F . Cindolo and Andrea Contin and V . L . Dadykin and L . G . Dos Santos and Ruslan Enikeev and Walter Fulgione and P . Galeotti and P . L . Ghia and Pierre Giusti and Felipe G{\'o}mez and R . Granella and Francesco Grianti and V . I . Gurentsov and Giuseppe Iacobucci and Naoya Inoue and Erica Kemp and F . F . Khalchukov and E . V . Korolkova and P . V . Korchaguin and V . B . Korchaguin and V. A. Kudryavtsev and Marisa Luvisetto and A . S . Malguin and T . Massam and N . Mengotti Silva and Christian Morello and R . Nania and Giancarlo Navarra and L . Periale and Arianna Pesci and P . Picchi and I . A . Pless and V . G . Ryasny and O . G . Ryazhskaya and O . Saavedra and Kenichi Saitoh and Gabriella Sartorelli and M. Kalai Selvi and N . Taborgna and V . P . Talochkin and G . C . Trinchero and Sabilro Tsuji and A . Turtelli and P . Vallania and Silvia Vernetto and Carmela Vigorito and Lucia Votano and Tatsuaki Wada and Robert B . Weinstein and M . Widgoff and Vladimir Yakushev and I . Yamamoto and G . T . Zatsepin and Antonino Zichichi}, year={1999} }