Corpus ID: 147725932

Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf? The ayatollahs are

@inproceedings{Goldberg2009WhosAO,
  title={Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf? The ayatollahs are},
  author={Michelle Goldberg},
  year={2009}
}
  • Michelle Goldberg
  • Published 2009
  • Art
  • May. 05, 2003 | Marjane Satrapi's "Persepolis" and Azar Nafisi's "Reading Lolita in Tehran" are two very different sorts of masterpieces that tell similar stories about being young, gifted and female in the Islamic Republic of Iran. Both are me moirs that transcend the facile confessionalism that plagues the genre: "Persepolis" is a literary comic book in the tradition of Art Spiegelman's "Maus" and Joe Sacco's "Safe Area Gorazde," while " Reading Lolita in Tehran" is the story of a literature… CONTINUE READING
    1 Citations