The silicon microstrip sensors of the ATLAS semiconductor tracker


This paper describes the AC-coupled, single-sided, p-in-n silicon microstrip sensors used in the Semiconductor Tracker (SCT) of the ATLAS experiment at the CERN Large Hadron Collider (LHC). The sensor requirements, specifications and designs are discussed, together with the qualification and quality assurance procedures adopted for their production. The measured sensor performance is presented, both initially and after irradiation to the fluence anticipated after 10 years of LHC operation. The sensors are now successfully assembled within the detecting modules of the SCT, and the SCT tracker is completed and integrated within the ATLAS Inner Detector. Hamamatsu Photonics Ltd. supplied 92.2% of the 15,392 installed sensors, with the remainder supplied by CiS. r 2007 Elsevier B.V. All rights reserved.

25 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Ahmad2007TheSM, title={The silicon microstrip sensors of the ATLAS semiconductor tracker}, author={A. Ahmad and Z. Albrechtskirchinger and P. P. Allport and J. Alonso and L. Andricek and A. Belymam and J. Benes and J. Bernabeu and S. Bethke and N. Bingefors and J. Bohm and R. Brenner and P. Bruckman De Renstrom and C. M. Buttar and D. Campbell and C. Carpentieri and A. Chilingarov and V. Cindro and A. G. Clark and A.-P. Colijn and M. J. Costa and W. Dabrowski and I. Dawson and B. Demirkoz and P. Dervan and Z. Dolezal and O. Dorholt and M. Dwuznik and S. Eckert and T. Ekel{\"{o}f and L. Eklund and C. Escobar and D. Ferrere and R. Fortin and J. M. Foster and H. Fox and K. Fujita and J. Fuster and S. Gadomski and B. J. Gallop and J. E. Garcı́a-Navarro and M. D. Gibson and S. Gonzalez and S. Gonzalez-Sevilla and E. Gornicki and C. Green and A. Greenall and C. Grigson and A. A. Grillo and J. Grosse-Knetter and C. Haber and T. Handa and K. Hara and R. S. Harper and F. G. Hartjes and T. I. Hollins and S. Holt and T. Horazdovsky and M. Hornung and K. M. Hovland and G. Hughes and T. Huse and Y. Ikegami and Y. Iwata and J. N. Jackson and P. de Jong and J. Joseph and P. Jovanovic and J. Kaplon and Y. Kato and C. Ketterer and I. M. Kindervaag and P. Kodys and E. Koffeman and T. Kohriki and Z. Kohout and T. Kondo and S. Koperny and E. van der Kraaij and V. Kral and G. Kramberger and J. Kudlaty and C. Lacasta and M. Limper and V. Linhart and G. Llos{\'a} and M. Lozano and I. Ludwig and J. Ludwig and G. Lutz and A. Macpherson and S. J. McMahon and D. Macina and P. Malecki and I. Mandi{\'c} and S. Martı́-Garcı́a and T. Matsuo and J. Meinhardt and M. Mikestikova and M. Miku{\vz} and M. Mi{\~n}ano and J. Mistry and V. Mitsou and P. Modesto and B. Mohn and S. D Molloy and G. Moorhead and A. Moraes and M. C. Morone and J. Morris and H.-G. Moser and A. Moszczynski and A.J.M. Muijs and K. Nagai and Y. Nakamura and I. Nakano and R. Nicholson and T. Niinikoski and R. Nisius and V. O’Shea and O. K. Oye and U. Parzefall and J. R. Pater and H. Pernegger and P. W. Phillips and P. N. Ratoff and P. Reznicek and J. D. Richardson and R. H. Richter and D. Robinson and G. Ruggiero and K. Runge and H.F.W. Sadrozinski and H. Sandaker and J. Schieck and M. Solar and A. Solberg and B. Sopko and L. Sospedra and H. Spieler and E. Stanecka and S. Stapnes and J. Stastny and F. Stelzer and A. Stradling and B. Stugu and R. Takashima and R. Tanaka and G. Taylor and S. Terada and M. Ull{\'a}n and Y. Unno and T. Vickey and M. Vos and R. Wallny and P. Weilhammer}, year={2007} }