The genetic architecture of type 2 diabetes

  title={The genetic architecture of type 2 diabetes},
  author={Christian Fuchsberger and Jason Flannick and Tanya M. Teslovich and Anubha Mahajan and Vineeta Agarwala and Kyle J. Gaulton and Clement Ma and Pierre Fontanillas and Loukas Moutsianas and Davis James McCarthy and Manuel A. Rivas and John R. B. Perry and Xueling Sim and Thomas W. Blackwell and Neil R. Robertson and Nigel William Rayner and Pablo Cingolani and Adam E Locke and Juan Fernandez Tajes and Heather M. Highland and Jos{\'e}e Dupuis and Peter S. Chines and Cecilia M. Lindgren and Christopher Hartl and Anne U. Jackson and Han Chen and Jeroen R Huyghe and Martijn van de Bunt and Richard D. Pearson and Ashish Kumar and Martina M{\"u}ller-Nurasyid and Niels Grarup and Heather M Stringham and Eric R. Gamazon and Jeannette Y. Lee and Yuhui Chen and Robert Andrew Donald Scott and Jennifer E Below and Peng Chen and Jinyan Huang and Min Jin Go and Michael L. Stitzel and Dorota Paśko and Stephen C. J. Parker and Tibor V Varga and Todd Green and Nicola L. Beer and Aaron G. Day-Williams and Teresa Jorge Ferreira and Tasha E Fingerlin and Momoko Horikoshi and Cheng Hu and Iksoo Huh and M. Kamran Ikram and Bong-Jo Kim and Yongkang Kim and Young Jin Kim and Min-Seok Kwon and Juyoung Lee and Selyeong Lee and Keng-Han Lin and Taylor J. Maxwell and Yoshihiko Nagai and Xu Wang and Ryan P. Welch and Joon Yoon and Weihua Zhang and Nir Barzilai and Benjamin F. Voight and Bok-ghee Han and Christopher P. Jenkinson and Teemu Kuulasmaa and Johanna Kuusisto and Alisa K Manning and Maggie C Y Ng and Nicholette D. Palmer and Beverley Balkau and Alena Stan{\vc}{\'a}kov{\'a} and Hanna Emily Abboud and Heiner Boeing and Vilmantas Giedraitis and Dorairaj Prabhakaran and Omri Gottesman and James Samson Scott and Jason Wp Carey and Phoenix Kwan and George B Grant and Joshua D. Smith and Benjamin M. Neale and Shaun M Purcell and Adam S. Butterworth and Joanna M M Howson and Heung Man Lee and Yingchang Lu and Soo-Heon Kwak and Wei L Z Zhao and John Danesh and Vincent K. L. Lam and Kyong Soo Park and Danish Saleheen and Wing Yee So and Claudia H. T. Tam and Uzma Afzal and David Aguilar Aguilar and Rector Arya and Tin Aung and Edmund Chan and Carmen Navarro and Ching-Yu Cheng and Domenico Palli and Adolfo Correa and Joanne E. Curran and Denis V. Rybin and Vidya S. Farook and Sharon P. G. Fowler and Barry I. Freedman and Michael E. Griswold and Daniel Esten Hale and Pamela Jane Hicks and Chiea Chuen Khor and Satish Kumar and Benjamin C Lehne and Doroth{\'e}e Thuillier and Wei Yen Lim and Jianjun Liu and Yvonne T van der Schouw and Marie Loh and Solomon K. Musani and Sobha Puppala and William Robert Scott and Lo{\"i}c Yengo and Sian-Tsung Tan and Herman A. Taylor and Farook Thameem and Gregory Arthur Wilson and Tien Yin Wong and P{\aa}l Rasmus Nj{\o}lstad and Jonathan C Levy and Massimo Mangino and Lori L.C. Bonnycastle and Thomas Schwarzmayr and Jo{\~a}o Fadista and Gabriela L. Surdulescu and Christian Herder and Christopher James Groves and Thomas Wieland and Jette Bork-Jensen and Ivan Brandslund and Cramer Kjeldahl Christensen and Heikki A Koistinen and Alex S. F. Doney and Leena Kinnunen and T{\"o}nu Esko and Andrew J Farmer and Liisa Hakaste and Dylan Hodgkiss and Jasmina Kravic and Valeriya Lyssenko and Mette Hollensted and Marit Eika J{\o}rgensen and Torben J{\o}rgensen and Claes Ladenvall and Johanne Marie Justesen and Annemari K{\"a}r{\"a}j{\"a}m{\"a}ki and Jennifer Kriebel and Wolfgang Rathmann and Lars L. Lannfelt and Torsten Lauritzen and Narisu Narisu and Allan Linneberg and Olle Melander and Lili Milani and Matt J Neville and Marju Orho-Melander and Lu Qi and Qibin Qi and Michael Roden and Olov Rolandsson and Amy J. Swift and Anders H Rosengren and Kathleen Kanoni Stirrups and Andrew R Wood and Evelin Mihailov and Christine Blancher and Mauricio Oliveira Carneiro and Jared Maguire and Ryan Poplin and Khalid Shakir and Timothy Fennell and Mark A. DePristo and Martin Hrabe de Angelis and Panagiotis Deloukas and Anette Prior Gjesing and Goo Jun and Peter M Nilsson and Jacquelyn Murphy and Robert C. Onofrio and Barbara Thorand and Torben Hansen and Christa Meisinger and Frank B Hu and Boris Isomaa and Fredrik Karpe and Liming Liang and Annette Peters and Cornelia Huth and Stephen O'Rahilly and Colin N. A. Palmer and Oluf Pedersen and Rainer Rauramaa and Jaakko Tuomilehto and Veikko V Salomaa and Richard M. Watanabe and A C Syv{\"a}nen and Richard N Bergman and Dwaipayan Bharadwaj and Erwin P. Bottinger and Yoon Shin Cho and Giriraj Ratan Chandak and Juliana C. N. Chan and Kee Seng Chia and Mark J. Daly and Shah B J Ebrahim and Claudia Langenberg and Paul Elliott and Kathleen A. Jablonski and Donna M. Lehman and Weiping Jia and Ronald C. W. Ma and Toni Pollin and Manjinder S. Sandhu and Nikhil Tandon and Philippe Froguel and In{\^e}s Barroso and Yik Y. Teo and Eleftheria Zeggini and Ruth J. F. Loos and Kerrin S. Small and Janina S. Ried and Ralph A DeFronzo and Harald Grallert and Benjamin Glaser and Andres Metspalu and Nicholas J Wareham and Mark Walker and Eric Banks and Christian Gieger and Erik Ingelsson and Hae Kyung Im and Thomas Illig and Paul W Franks and Georgina Buck and Joseph M. Trakalo and David F. Buck and Inga Prokopenko and Reedik M{\"a}gi and Lars Lind and Yossi Farjoun and K Owen and Anna L Gloyn and Konstantin Strauch and Tiinamaija Tuomi and Jaspal Singh Kooner and Jong-Young Lee and Taesung Park and Peter Donnelly and Andrew D. Morris and Andrew T Hattersley and Donald W. Bowden and Francis S. Collins and Gil Atzmon and John Campbell Chambers and Timothy David Spector and Markku Laakso and Tim Matthias Strom and Graeme I. Bell and John Blangero and Ravindranath Duggirala and E Shyong Tai and Gilean McVean and Craig L Hanis and J. Gerald Wilson and Mark Seielstad and Timothy M. Frayling and James B. Meigs and Nancy J. Cox and Robert Sladek and Eric S. Lander and Stacey Bolk Gabriel and No{\"e}l P. Burtt and Karen L. Mohlke and Thomas Meitinger and Leif Groop and Gonçalo R. Abecasis and Jose C Florez and Laura J. Scott and Andrew P. Morris and Hyun Min Kang and Michael Boehnke and David M Altshuler and Mark I. McCarthy},
The genetic architecture of common traits, including the number, frequency, and effect sizes of inherited variants that contribute to individual risk, has been long debated. Genome-wide association studies have identified scores of common variants associated with type 2 diabetes, but in aggregate, these explain only a fraction of the heritability of this disease. Here, to test the hypothesis that lower-frequency variants explain much of the remainder, the GoT2D and T2D-GENES consortia performed… CONTINUE READING

Similar Papers


Publications citing this paper.




  • 16 Highly Influenced Citations

  • Averaged 76 Citations per year from 2017 through 2019


Publications referenced by this paper.

The concordance and heritability of type 2 diabetes in 34,166 Twin Pairs From International Twin Registers: The Discordant Twin (DISCOTWIN) Consortium

G Willemsen
  • Twin Res Hum Genet
  • 2015

Loss-of-function mutations in SLC30A8 protect against type 2 diabetes

J Flannick
  • Nat Genet
  • 2014