The design and performance of IceCube DeepCore

  title={The design and performance of IceCube DeepCore},
  author={Roohollah Abbasi and Youssao Abdou and Tareq Abu-Zayyad and Markus Ackermann and Joerg Adams and Juan Antonio Araiza Aguilar and Markus Ahlers and Mary Marsha Allen and David Altmann and Karen Andeen and Jan Auffenberg and Xiaojun Bai and Michael Robin Baker and Steve W. Barwick and Richards Bay and J. L. Bazo Alba and Keith Beattie and James J. Beatty and Sophie Bechet and Julia U. K. Becker and Kurt H. Becker and Mohamed Lotfi Benabderrahmane and Segev BenZvi and Jens Berdermann and Patrick Berghaus and David Berley and Elisa Bernardini and Daniel Bertrand and David Z. Besson and Daniel Bindig and Martin Bissok and Erik Blaufuss and Julia von Blumenthal and David J. Boersma and Christian Bohm and Dhiman Bose and Sebastian B{\"o}ser and Olga Botner and Andrew M.S. Brown and Stijn J. Buitink and Karen Salom'e Caballero-Mora and Michael Carson and Dmitry Chirkin and Berliance Christy and Fabian Clevermann and Seth Cohen and Claudine Marie Marguerite Colnard and Douglas F. Cowen and Angel H. Cruz Silva and Michelangelo Vincent D'Agostino and Matthias Danninger and Jacob Daughhetee and James C. Davis and Catherine De Clercq and Thomas Degner and Levent Demiroers and Françoise Descamps and Paolo Desiati and G. de Vries-Uiterweerd and Tyce DeYoung and Juan Carlos D{\'i}az-V{\'e}lez and Mark Dierckxsens and Jacqueline Dreyer and J. P. Dumm and Matthew Dunkman and Jonathan Eisch and Re. Ellsworth and Olle Engdeg{\aa}rd and Sebastian Euler and Paul A. Evenson and Olaoluwa Fadiran and Ali R. Fazely and F. A. Fedynitch and Jacob Feintzeig and Tom Feusels and Kirill Filimonov and Chad Finley and Tobias Fischer-Wasels and Benjamin D. Fox and Anna Franckowiak and Robert Franke and Thomas K. Gaisser and James Gallagher and Lisa Gerhardt and Laura Gladstone and Thorsten Gl{\"u}senkamp and A. Goldschmidth and Jordan A. Goodman and Dariusz G{\'o}ra and David Ronald Grant and Timo Griesel and Axel Gross and Sean Grullon and Martin Gurtner and Chen Ha and Alhassan H. Ismail and Allen Hallgren and Francis Halzen and Kyongchol Han and Kenneth Merrill Hanson and Dirk Heinen and Klaus Helbing and Robert Eugene Hellauer and Stephanie Hickford and Gary C. Hill and Kara Dion Hoffman and Bernd Hoffmann and Andreas Homeier and Kotoyo Hoshina and W. Huesnitz and J. P. Huelss and Per Olof Hulth and Klas Hultqvist and S. Hussain and Asahi Ishihara and Emanuel Jacobi and John A. Jacobsen and G. S. Japaridze and Henrik M Johansson and K. H. Kampert and Andr'e Kappes and Timo Karg and Abrecht Karle and Peter S. Kenny and Jan Kiryluk and Fabian Kislat and S. Klein and J. H. Koehne and Georges Kohnen and Hermann Kolanoski and Lutz K{\"o}pke and D. Jason Koskinen and Mateusz Kowalski and Thomas Kowarik and Mark Krasberg and G{\"o}sta Kroll and Nobuaki Kurahashi and Takao Kuwabara and Mathieu Labare and Karim Laihem and Hagar Landsman and Michael James Larson and Robert D. Lauer and Jan L{\"u}nemann and Jens Elgaard Madsen and Angela Rose Marotta and Reina Maruyama and Kenichi Mase and Howard S. Matis and Kate Meagher and Martin Merck and P{\'e}ter M{\'e}sz{\'a}ros and Thomas Meures and Sandra Miarecki and Eike Middell and Natalie Milke and John Michael Saline Miller and Teresa Montaruli and R. V. Morse and Steven M. Movit and Rolf Nahnhauer and Ji Woo Nam and Uwe Naumann and David Robert Nygren and Sirin Odrowski and A. Borda Olivas and Martino Olivo and Aongus O'Murchadha and Sebastian Panknin and L Zweng Paul and C. de los Heros and J Ivanka Petrovic and Alexander Pi{\'e}gsa and Damian Pieloth and Rodr{\'i}guez Porrata and J{\o}rn Posselt and Paul Buford Price and Gerald T. Przybylski and Katherine Rawlins and P{\'a}l Redl and Elisa Resconi and Werner Rhode and Mathieu Ribordy and Michael Richman and Jo{\~a}o Paulo Philippi Rodrigues and Fabian Rothmaier and Carsten Rott and Tim Ruhe and Douglas F. Rutledge and Bakhtiyar Ruzybayev and Dirk Ryckbosch and H. G. Sander and M Margareth Santander and Subir Kumar Sarkar and Kai Schatto and T. O. B. Schmidt and Arne Sch{\"o}nwald and Anne Schukraft and Anselm Schultes and O. J. Schulz and Matthias Schunck and David Seckel and Benjamin Semburg and Sung Hyeok Seo and Yolanda Sestayo and Surujhdeo Seunarine and Anton Silvestri and Glenn M. Spiczak and Ch. Spiering and Mike Stamatikos and Todorov Stanev and Thorsten Stezelberger and R. G. Stokstad and Achim St{\"o}{\ss}l and Erik A. Strahler and Robert Str{\"o}m and M. Stueer and Gregory W. Sullivan and Quentin Swillens and Henric Taavola and Ignacio Taboada and Alessio Tamburro and A. Sezgin Tepe and Samvel Ter-Antonyan and Serap Tilav and Patrick A. Toale and Sperantsa Toscano and Davide Tosi and N. van Eijndhoven and Jm. Vandenbroucke and Arne Van Overloop and Jakob van Santen and Markus Vehring and Markus Voge and Christian Walck and Tilo Waldenmaier and Marcel Wallraff and Michael Walter and Ch. Weaver and Christoph Wendt and Stephan Westerhoff and Nathan Whitehorn and Klaus Wiebe and Christopher Henrik Viktor Wiebusch and David R Williams and Ralf Wischnewski and Henrike Wissing and M. Wolf and T. Richard Wood and Kurt Woschnagg and Cheng-dong Xu and Dao Lin Xu and X. W. Xu and Juan Pablo Mart{\'i}nez Y{\'a}{\~n}ez and Gb Yodh and Sho Yoshida and Pavel Zarzhitsky and Marcel Zoll},
The IceCube neutrino observatory in operation at the South Pole, Antarctica, comprises three distinct components: a large buried array for ultrahigh energy neutrino detection, a surface air shower array, and a new buried component called DeepCore. DeepCore was designed to lower the IceCube neutrino energy threshold by over an order of magnitude, to energies as low as about 10 GeV. DeepCore is situated primarily 2100 m below the surface of the icecap at the South Pole, at the bottom center of… CONTINUE READING

Similar Papers