The complete mitochondrial genome of an agamid lizard from the Afro-Asian subfamily agaminae and the phylogenetic position of Bufoniceps and Xenagama.

Squamate reptiles are traditionally divided into six groups: Iguania, Anguimorpha, Scincomorpha, Gekkota (these four are lizards), Serpentes (snakes), and Amphisbaenia (the so-called worm lizards). The Iguania is recognized as having two major lineages the Iguanidae and Acrodonta (Agamidae and Chamaeleonidae). Currently, there are complete mitochondrial… CONTINUE READING