The STAR Time Projection Chamber

  title={The STAR Time Projection Chamber},
  author={Karin Ackermann and Nardeeka Adams and CanadaandS. Adler and M. Aluyshin and M. A. Ananeva and Michael Throan Anderson and G. S. Averichev and Alfred Dirk Bacher and Jonathan B. Balewski and O. Balrannikova and J. Baudot and Selemon Bekele and Francesca Bellini and Sean J. Bennett and Joram Berger and W. Betts and H. C. Bichsel and Fred S. Bieser and Leslie Carlisle Bland and Christian O Blyth and Andrej Bogdanov and Billy E. Bonner and R. R. Bossingham and Abdelmoula Boucham and Salima Bouvier and Fiona Brady and Edwin S. Braithwaite and Wilson Braithwaite and Paul A. Vanden Bout and V. A. Budilov and Colleen Byrd and Camilo Ernesto Lara Martinez and Nelson Carlin and John William. Carroll and Daniel Alan Cebra and M.-L. Chen and Wen-Tsuen Chen and Yun-xia Chen and Sergey Chernenko and Marianne Cherney and Alexei Chikanian and J. T. M. Chrin and William Harvey Christie and Jean Pierre Michel Coffin and L. Conin and Thomas Michael Cormier and John Gleason Cramer and Henry J. Crawford and Amit Chandra Das and Wei Si Deng and A. A. Derevschikov and Larisa Didenko and Wojciech Dominik and J. Everett Draper and I. Ivanchenko and James Colville Dunlop and Heather Dyke and William Robert. Edwards and Volker F. Eckardt and Anatoli Vasilievich Efremov and Vyacheslav Emelianov and M. R. Dutta Majumdar and S. Timoshenko and Barbara Ewa Erazmus and A. A. {\'E}tkin and Patr{\'i}cia Fachini and J. Engelage and Michael I. Ferguson and Henry Eric Fessler and Yu. V. Fisyak and D. Flierl and Kyle J. Foley and Dominik Arthur Fritz and Nikolai Gagunashvili and Michelle Saint Germain and Vahe Ghazikhanian and Mark Laurens Gilkes and Sandra Giliberto and Joanna L. Grabski and F. J. M. Geurts and Dieter Greiner and Leo C. Greiner and Victor Grigoriev and E. V. Gushin and Hans H. Gutbrod and Timothy J. Hallman and David Hardtke and John William Harris and Mike Heffner and Steve F. Heppelmann and Eric Lance Hjort and Geoffrey W. Hoffmann and S. Heppelmann and J. L. Drachenberg and Thomas John Humanic and Holm Gero H{\"u}mmler and Tim Huyck and George J. Igo and Yu. Ivanshin and Peter Martin Jacobs and Walter William Jacobs and Steven Eric Jacobson and Rutledge Jared and Peter Graham Jones and Eleanor G. Judd and Francis Jundt and Martin F. Kaplan and V S Kaplin and Devon Keane and V. Y. Khodyrev and Gabriele Gaetano Fronze and Spencer R. Klein and L. Kolobashkina and Alexander S. Konstantinov and L. M. Kotchenda and I. O. Kotov and Melanie A. Kramer and V. I. Kravtsov and Christian Kuhn and Gerd J. Kunde and R. K h. Kutuev and M Christy Lamont and Jens S{\"o}ren Lange and Brian Walter Lasiuk and Frank Laue and Anton Lebedev and Zong-Yi Lee and Juan Suarez Gonzalez and Bernd Leonhardt and Vladimir M. Leontiev and Leszczynski and Micheal Joseph Levine and Qi Li and Zhitang Li and Chong Jin Edmund Liaw and J. C.-W. Lin and Seymour Joseph Lindenbaum and Hui Liu and Michael Annan Lisa and Ante Ljubi{\vc}i{\'c} and Maxim Konyushikhin and G. Locurto and Huiping Long and Ron S. Longacre and Wm. Abram Love and Jennifer Renee Lutz and Deirdre Lynn and L. AUTHOR-Majka R. Madansky and Richard Daniel Majka and Tatiana M. Makarenko and Aleksander Maliszewski and Spiros Margetis and Ken Marks and Lockheed Martin and Jay N. Marx and Howard S. Matis and Yu. A. Matulenko and J. Ulery and A. Meshanin and Yu.M. Mel'nik and Alain Michalon and Bruce N. Miller and Zoran Milosevich and N. G. Minaev and R. M. Minor and John Turner Mitchell and Vitali Moiseenko and Dennis Michael Moltz and Catherine F. Moore and Marcelo Gameiro Munhoz and G. S. Mutchler and John Marshall Nelson and P. Nevski and Vladimir A. Nikitin and Bjorn Steven Nilsen and A. M. Vander Molen and Sandibek B. Nurushev and Joakim Nystrand and G. Odyniec and W. T. Waggoner and Craig A. Ogilvie and Vitalii A. Okorokov and Debra K. Olson and A. Oltchak and G{\"u}nter Ott and Mustafa Naji Anaam and Sanjeev Ulrich Pandey and Yu. A. Panebratsev and S. Panitkin and Andrey Pavlinov and Tomasz Jan Pawlak and R. Manweiler and Victor Perevoztchikov and Vladimir Alexeevich Petrov and Yu. M. Petukhov and Walter Pinganaud and Eva Platner and Jan Marian Pluta and Norbert T. Porile and Jeff A. Porter and Arthur M. Poskanzer and M. Przewlocki and D. Prindle and E. V. Potrebenikova and Claude Andre Pruneau and Gulshan Rai and Olivier Ravel and Robert L. Ray and Drehud Razin and Sergei Viktorovich Razin and Jeffrey G Reid and Fabrice Reti{\`e}re and Alexey Valentinovich Ridiger and Jose Riso and HG. Ritter and J. Brent Roberts and Dieter R{\"o}hrich and O. V. Rogachevskiy and Aimar Andre Rollefson and Juan Luis Romero Romero and Christelle Roy and Mark Andrew Runco and Daniel E. Russ and V. T. Rykov and Iwona Sakrejda and P. Saltz and Jack Sandweiss and Alfred Casimir Saulys and Irina N. Savina and Johann Joachim Schambach and Rolf Paul Scharenberg and Norbert Schmitz and Lee Schroeder and A. Schuettauf and Mauro Schulz and J. C. Seger and Denis Seliverstov and J. Seyboth and Arthur H. Rosenfeld and Anatoly Shalnov and K. E. Shestermanov and Yanli Shi and V. S. Shvetsov and I. N. Silin and Nicholas Smirnoff and Raimond Snellings and L. F. Soloviev and John Sowinski and R. Squartini and Bhaskar Srivastava and Edward James Stephenson and T. D. S. Stanislaus and Mikhail Nikolaievich Strikhanov and Bruce Stringfellow and Hubert Str{\"o}bele and Christof Struck and Everett D. Sugarbaker and Christophe Pierre Suire and Andrew Thomas Sustich and T. J. M. Symons and Eloisa Madeira Szanto and A. Szanto de Toledo and Mikolaj Krzewicki and Adalard Lik Hang Tang and T. Tarnowsky and Jeffrey H. Thomas and Vladimir Mikhailovich Tikhomirov and V Kh Tikhonov and Marguerite Belt Tonjes and Thomas A. Trainor and Stephan Trentalange and Mikhail Tokarev and Victor Trofimov and B. A. Trzeciak and Craig Tull and Kathy A. Dunn Turner and Tino Ullrich and David Glenn Underwood and George Vanburen and A-C. Vandermolen and A. V. Vanyashin and Aleksander N. Vasiliev and S. J. Lindenbaum and Steven Elliot Vigdor and Sergei A. Voloshin and Chinh Qu Vu and Feng Wang and Herbert John Ward and D. Weerasundra and Robert Ferrell Wells and Torre Wenaus and Gary Duane Westfall and James Edward Whitfield and Charles A. Whitten and Henry M. Wieman and Richard Willson and Scott Winston Wissink and Ron Witt and Lynn Scott Wood and M. J. Tannenbaum and Zhenli Xu and A. E. Yakutin and Etsuji Yamamoto and Joseph Yang and P Antonio Yepes and Atsushi Yokosawa and Vladimir I. Yurevich and Jiasen Zhang and William Axel Leight and Nickholas Zhidkov and Donald Shelly Zimmerman and R. Ya. Zoulkarneev and AndrejYu. Zubarev},
The STAR Time Projection Chamber was successfully operated during the first RHIC run in 2000. Most of the STAR contributions reported in these proceedings are based on the analysis of data from the TPC. In this article, we show that the performance achieved by the TPC, in terms of track reconstruction, position resolution, and particle identification are well suited for measuring precise and reliable physics observables. 

Topics from this paper.

Similar Papers

Loading similar papers…