The Last Dragon of Earthsea

  title={The Last Dragon of Earthsea},
  author={Peter Hollindale},
  journal={Children's Literature in Education},
Ursula Le Guin's original Earthsea trilogy was published between 1968 and 1972. Sequels have since been published at long intervals, first Tehanu in 1990, then The Other Wind (together with a volume of short stories, Tales from Earthsea) in 2002. This essay argues that each of these additions has retrospectively “rewritten” the earlier books, replacing the accepted original trilogy by a different one, to which the first two books are prequels. Major revisions include the displacement of the… Expand
2 Citations
Finding Balance Through Friendship: Reading A WIZARD OF EARTHSEA
The well-recognized theme of balance within Ursula Le Guin’s A Wizard of Earthsea clearly emerges through an examination of the friendship the wizard Ged has with fellow wizard Vetch. Most of theExpand
Failed Feminism ? :


Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea
Classics of high fantasy, Ursula K. Le Guin's three previous Earthsea novels--A "W izard Of Earthsea," "The Tombs Of Atuan," and "The Farthest Shore" --have been compared with J.R.R. Tolkien's "TheExpand
The Tombs of Atuan
The second Earthsea saga book, which precedes "The Farthest Shore" and follows "A Wizard of Earthsea". Ged continues in his struggle for peace, but is impeded by the priestess, Arha. The author'sExpand
The Farthest Shore
Young Arren, Prince of Enlad, brings disquieting news to the Wizard Sparrowhawk, telling how the powers of wizardry, spells and chants have gone from his island. They go on a sea odyssey in search ofExpand
Tales from Earthsea
Tales from earthsea is universally compatible with any devices to read and hosts in multiple countries, allowing the most less latency time to download any of the authors' books like this one. Expand
The Other Wind