The Discovery of gamma-Ray Emission From The Blazar RGB J0710+591

  title={The Discovery of gamma-Ray Emission From The Blazar RGB J0710+591},
  author={V. A. Acciari and Ester Aliu and T. Arlen and T. Aune and Mayka Bautista and Matthias Beilicke and Wystan Benbow and Marie Bottcher and Dana Boltuch and S. M. Bradbury and James H. Buckley and V. I. Bugaev and K. L. Byrum and A. Cannon and A. Cesarini and L. Ciupik and Wen-zheng Cui and R. Dickherber and Charlie Duke and Abraham Falcone and James P. Finley and G. Finnegan and Lucy Fortson and Anna Furniss and Nicola Galante and Daniel Gall and K. Gibbs and G. H. Gillanders and S. Godambe and Jeff Grube and R. Gu{\'e}nette and Geza Gyuk and Dalia Hanna and Jamie Holder and C. M. Hui and Thomas Brian Humensky and Ali Imran and Phil Kaaret and Nikolaj Karlsson and M. Kertzman and D. Kieda and Alexander Konopelko and Henric S. Krawczynski and Frank Krennrich and Matthew J. Lang and A. Lamerato and Stephan LeBohec and G. Maier and S. McArthur and Andrew McCann and M. W. McCutcheon and Philip Moriarty and Rupam Mukherjee and Rene A. Ong and Adam Nepomuk Otte and Dirk Pandel and Jeremy Shane Perkins and D. Petry and A. Pichel and Martin Pohl and J. Quinn and K. Ragan and Luis Carlos Reyes and Paul T. Reynolds and E. Roache and Hannah Rose and Parisa Roustazadeh and Martin Schroedter and Glenn H. Sembroski and G. Demet Senturk and Andrew William Smith and Dayton Steele and S. P. Swordy and G. Tevsi'c and Mark Theiling and Susan F. Thibadeau and Angelo Varlotta and Vladimir V. Vassiliev and S. Vincent and Robert Gene Wagner and Scott Patrick Wakely and J. E. Ward and Trevor C. Weekes and Amanda Weinstein and Thomas Weisgarber and D A Williams and S. Wissel and Michael Wood and Benjamin Zitzer and Markus Ackermann and Maria Ajello and Elisa Antolini and Luca Baldini and Jean Ballet and Guido Barbiellini and Denis Bastieri and Keith C. Bechtol and Ronaldo Bellazzini and B Janos Berenji and R. D. Blandford and E. D. Bloom and Emanuele Bonamente and A. W. Borgland and Audrey Bouvier and Johan Bregeon and M. Brigida and Pascal Bruel and R. Buehler and Sara Buson and G. A. Caliandro and R. A. Cameron and P. A. Caraveo and Svenja Carrigan and Jean Marc Casandjian and Elisabetta Cavazzuti and Claudia Cecchi and O. cCelik and Eguma Charles and Alexandre Chekhtman and Chi C. Cheung and James Chiang and Stefano Ciprini and Ryan Claus and Johann Cohen-Tanugi and J. Conrad and Charles D. Dermer and Francesco de Palma and E. do Couto e Silva and P. S. Drell and R. Dubois and Denis Dumora and Christian Farnier and C. Favuzzi and S. J. Fegan and Pascal D. Fortin and Marco Frailis and Yasushi Fukazawa and Stefan Funk and P. Fusco and Fabio Gargano and Dario Gasparrini and Neil A. Gehrels and S. Germani and Berrie Giebels and N. Giglietto and Francesco Giordano and Marcello Giroletti and Tom Glanzman and G. L. Godfrey and Isabelle A. Grenier and J E Grove and Sylvain Guiriec and Elizabeth Hays and Deirdre Horan and Richard Hughes and Guðlaugur J{\'o}hannesson and Alexander S. Johnson and W. Neil Johnson and Tuneyoshi Kamae and Hiroyuki Katagiri and Jun Kataoka and Jurgen Knodlseder and M. Kuss and Joshua Lande and Luca Latronico and Sh Lee and M. Llena Garde and Francesco Longo and Francesco Loparco and Benoit Lott and Michael N Lovellette and Pasquale Lubrano and A. Makeev and Mario Nicola Mazziotta and P. F. Michelson and Warit Mitthumsiri and Tsunefumi Mizuno and A. A. Moiseev and C. Monte and Maria Elena Monzani and Aldo Morselli and Igor V Moskalenko and Simona Murgia and P. L. Nolan and Jay Norris and Eric Nuss and Masanori Ohno and Takashi Ohsugi and Nicola Omodei and Ernest Orlando and J. F. Ormes and David Paneque and J. H. Panetta and V{\'e}ronique Pelassa and Martina Pepe and Melissa Pesce-Rollins and F. Piron and Troy A. Porter and Silvia Rain{\`o} and Robert R. Rando and Massimiliano Razzano and A. Reimer and Olaf Reimer and Joachim Ripken and A. Y. Rodriguez and Markus Roth and H. F.-W. Sadrozinski and David Carricondo S{\'a}nchez and Andreas Sander and Jeffrey D. Scargle and Carmelo Sgr{\`o} and E. J. Siskind and Penelope Smith and Gloria Spandre and Paolo Spinelli and Mark S. Strickman and Daniel J. Suson and Hiromitsu Takahashi and Takaaki Tanaka and J. B. Thayer and James Thayer and David W. J. Thompson and Luigi Tibaldo and Diego F. Torres and Gino Tosti and Andrea Tramacere and T. L. Usher and Vlasios Vasileiou and Nieves V{\'i}lchez and Vincenzo Vitale and A. P. Waite and Pei Tao Wang and Brian L Winer and Kent S. Wood and Zongchang Yang and Tomi Ylinen and Mareike Ziegler},
  journal={The Astrophysical Journal},
  • V. A. Acciari, Ester Aliu, +234 authors Mareike Ziegler
  • Published 2010
  • Physics
  • The Astrophysical Journal
  • The high-frequency-peaked BL Lacertae object RGB J0710+591 was observed in the very high-energy (VHE; E > 100 GeV) wave band by the VERITAS array of atmospheric Cherenkov telescopes. The observations, taken between 2008 December and 2009 March and totaling 22.1 hr, yield the discovery of VHE gamma rays from the source. RGB J0710+591 is detected at a statistical significance of 5.5 standard deviations (5.5{sigma}) above the background, corresponding to an integral flux of (3.9 {+-} 0.8) x 10{sup… CONTINUE READING

    Figures and Tables from this paper.


    Publications citing this paper.


    Publications referenced by this paper.