The ATLAS Transition Radiation Tracker (TRT) proportional drift tube: design and performance

  title={The ATLAS Transition Radiation Tracker (TRT) proportional drift tube: design and performance},
  author={Elif Abat and T. N. Addy and Torsten Paul Ake {\AA}kesson and J Karley Alison and Francis Anghinolfi and Enis Arik and Mehmet Arik and Grigor Atoian and Bert Auerbach and Oliver Keith Baker and Ed Banas and Sandrine Baron and C. Bault and N. Becerici and Andrew Beddall and J. Bendotti and Douglas P. Benjamin and Henrik Bertelsen and Ahmet Bingul and H. Blampey and Annamaria Bocci and Maciek Bochenek and V. G. Bondarenko and Vitaly Bychkov and Janet Callahan and Mar Capeans Garrido and Laia Cardiel Sas and Andrea Catinaccio and Serpil Abali Çetin and Travis Chandler and Regis Chritin and Peter Cwetanski and Mihir Dam and H{\aa}kan Danielsson and Elena Danilevich and E Portwood David and Jens Degenhardt and Beniamino Di Girolamo and Florian Dittus and Nicholas M. Dixon and Ozgen Berkol Dogan and Boris Dolgoshein and Nandor Dressnandt and C. Driouchi and William L. Ebenstein and Paula Eerola and Ulrick Egede and Konstantin Egorov and Hal Evans and Philippe Farthouat and O. L. Fedin and Audrey J. Fowler and Sasa Fratina and Daniel Froidevaux and Anna Catherine Fry and Pascale Gagnon and I. L. Gavrilenko and Nabil Ghodbane and Jan Godlewski and M. P. Goulette and I. Gousakov and Nugesha Grigalashvili and Ya. V. Grishkevich and J. Grognuz and Zbigniew Hajduk and M. Hance and Finn Hansen and J{\o}rgen Beck Hansen and Peter H.F. Hansen and George Graham Aeros Hare and Adam Harvey and Claude Hauviller and Anke High and W. Hulsbergen and W. Huta and Vadim Issakov and Serhat Istin and Vishal Jain and G{\"o}ran Jarlskog and Laura Jeanty and V. A. Kantserov and Burak Kaplan and Anton Kapliy and S. Katounine and F. I. Kayumov and Patti Keener and G. D. Kekelidze and Elena Khabarova and A. E. Khristachev and Bartlomiej Kisielewski and T. Kittelmann and Craig Kline and Esben Bryndt Klinkby and Nicolay V. Klopov and Byeong Rok Ko and Telly Koffas and Natalia Kondratieva and Sergei P. Konovalov and S. Koperny and Helen Korsmo and Sergey Kovalenko and Theodo Kowalski and Karsten Kruger and Viktor Kramarenko and L. G. Kudin and A-C Le Bihan and B. C. LeGeyt and Konstantin Levterov and Peter Lichard and Anders Lindahl and V. Lisan and Sergey Lobastov and Arkadii Loginov and Chze Wee Loh and S. Lokwitz and Ming Ce Long and Stuart J. Lucas and Arnaud Lucotte and Fred Luehring and Bj{\"o}rn Lundberg and Rasmus Mackeprang and Viktor Maleev and Angelo Manara and Magdalena Mandl and Antonio Juan S{\'a}nchez Mart{\'i}n and Fernando Fern{\'a}ndez Mart{\'i}n and Ruslan Mashinistov and G. M. Mayers and Kenneth W. McFarlane and V. V. Mialkovski and Benjamin M. Mills and Bartosz Mindur and Vasiliki A. Mitsou and J. U. Mj{\"o}rnmark and Sergey V. Morozov and Erel Morris and Serge Mouraviev and Andrew M. Muir and Antoni Munar and A. V. Nadtochi and S. Yu. Nesterov and F. M. Newcomer and Nikolay Nikitin and Olga Novgorodova and E. G. Novodvorski and Harold Ogren and Sang Hoon ㅼ긽 Oh and Stanislav Oleshko and Dominick Olivito and Jolanta Olszowska and Waclaw Ostrowicz and M. S. Passmore and S. K. Patrichev and Jaq Penwell and Francisco P{\'e}rez-G{\'o}mez and Vladimir D Peshekhonov and Tc Petersen and Raffaella Petti and A. Placci and Andrei A. Poblaguev and Xavier Gomila Pons and Michelle Judith Price and O R{\o} hne and Ryan Reece and Mary Beth Reilly and Christoph Rembser and Anatoli Romaniouk and David Rousseau and Donna Rust and Yu. F. Ryabov and Vladimir Ryjov and Marcus S{\"o}derberg and A. Savenkov and Joe Saxon and Marta Scandurra and Valery A. Schegelsky and Maxwell Ian Scherzer and Mike P. Schmidt and Christa Schmitt and E. S. Sedykh and D. M. Seliverstov and Taeksu Shin and Aleksandra Shmeleva and Sy Sivoklokov and Stanislav Y. Smirnov and Liidia Smirnova and Oxana Smirnova and Paul Tincher Smith and Valeri Sosnovtsev and Gerald Sprachmann and Sakthikumar Subramania and Sergey I. Suchkov and V. V. Sulin and Richard Szczygiel and Giandonato Tartarelli and Ed Thomson and V. O. Tikhomirov and Phillip Tipton and Juan Antonio Valls Ferrer and Richard Van Berg and Vassilios Ioannis Vassilakopoulos and L. M. Vassilieva and Petra J. Wagner and R. Wall and Changgen Wang and Denver Whittington and Hugh H. Williams and A. Zhelezko and Konstantin Zhukov},
A straw proportional counter is the basic element of the ATL S Transition Radiation Tracker (TRT). Its detailed properties as well as the main pr ope ties of a few TRT operating gas mixtures are described. Particular attention is paid to str aw tube performance in high radiation conditions and to its operational stability. 

Similar Papers


Publications citing this paper.

Search for beyond Standard Model physics with high-pt leptons



Publications referenced by this paper.

Doctoral Dissertation, University of He lsinki (Finland)

P. Cwetanski
  • Report Series in Physics HU-P-D133,
  • 2006

and implementation of the ATLAS TRT front end electro ni

M. Newcomer, Design
  • s, Nucl. Instrum. Meth.A
  • 2006

Recent aging studies for the ATLAS transition radiation tracker


Transition Radiation Tracker (TRT) for t he ATLAS experiment at LHC, Workshop Proceedings “TRDs for the 3 rd Millennium

A. Romaniouk, Development
  • Bari (Italy),
  • 2001