Suppression of hadrons with large transverse momentum in central Au+Au collisions at root square[s(NN)] = 130 GeV.

  title={Suppression of hadrons with large transverse momentum in central Au+Au collisions at root square[s(NN)] = 130 GeV.},
  author={K Adcox and Solomon S Adler and N. N. Ajitanand and Yasuyuki Akiba and James G. Alexander and L. Aphecetche and Yasuo Arai and S. H. Aronson and Ralf Averbeck and Terry C. Awes and Kenneth N Barish and Penelope D Barnes and Jean Barrette and B. Bassalleck and Stefan Bathe and V. V. Baublis and Alexander Bazilevsky and Stanislav Belikov and F G Bellaiche and Sergey Belyaev and Mark J Bennett and Yu S Berdnikov and Silvia Botelho and Michael L Brooks and David S. Brown and N. Bruner and Denis Bucher and H. Georg Buesching and V. Bumazhnov and G. Bunce and J. M. Burward-Hoy and S. V. Butsyk and Timothy A Carey and Prem Chand and J. Chang and W. C. Chang and Leslie L Chavez and S A Chernichenko and C. Y. Chi and J. Chiba and Mickey Chiu and Ratan K. Choudhury and Thomas E Christ and Tatsuya Chujo and Myung S. Chung and Peter Chee-Keung Chung and Vincent Cianciolo and Bethany Cole and David d'Enterria and Gyula D{\'a}vid and H. Delagrange and Alexei Denisov and Ashwini Deshpande and E. J. Desmond and O. Dietzsch and B V Dinesh and Axel Drees and A. A. Durum and Dipak Kumar Dutta and Katsuji Ebisu and Y Efremenko and K el Chenawi and H En'yo and Shinichi Esumi and Lars Ewell and Tahmina Ferdousi and D. E. Fields and S. L. Fokin and Z. Fraenkel and Achim Franz and A. D. Frawley and S Y Fung and S. Garpman and Tarun Kanti Ghosh and Arthur Glenn and Ana F L Godoi and Yoshiaki Goto and Shamola Greene and Maria T Grosse Perdekamp and Sudhir Kumar Gupta and Wlodek Guryn and H. A. Gustafsson and John S. Haggerty and Hideki Hamagaki and Arthur G. Hansen and Hideaki Hara and Edward P. Hartouni and Ryugo S. Hayano and Nobuhiko Hayashi and Xiuxiu He and Thomas K. Hemmick and Johann M. Heuser and Masahiro Hibino and J. Colin Hill and Dustin S Ho and Kensuke Homma and Boeui Hong and Amber Hoover and Takashi Ichihara and Kenichi Imai and M. S. Ippolitov and Masafumi Ishihara and Barbara Jacak and Won Jang and Jiangyong Jia and Bryan M. Johnson and Stephen C. Johnson and Koan Sik Joo and Shigeki Kametani and J. H. Kang and Marchetti Kann and Sonali Sahni Kapoor and Sean Uberoi Kelly and B. A. Khachaturov and A. V. Khanzadeev and Jun Kikuchi and Diana J. Kim and Hyunwoo J. Kim and Soo Young Kim and Y G Kim and W. W. Kinnison and Edward Kistenev and A. Kiyomichi and Christian Klein-B{\"o}sing and S A Klinksiek and Leonid Kochenda and Valeri Kochetkov and Denny K{\"o}hler and Takayuki Kohama and D. Kotchetkov and A. D. Kozlov and Pieter J Kroon and K. Kurita and M. J. Kweon and Youngjoon Kwon and Gregory Kyle and Roy Lacey and John G. Lajoie and Jorge Lauret and A. Lebedev and Dongwon Lee and Michael J. Leitch and Xinhai Li and Zhuxia Li and David J. Lim and Ming Xiong Liu and Xuerong Liu and Zhao Hong Liu and C. F. Maguire and J F Mahon and Y. I. Makdisi and Vladimir I. Manko and Ying-nan Mao and Simeon Mark and S Markacs and Gin{\'e}s Mart{\'i}nez and Matthew Marx and A. Masaike and Felix Matathias and Takeshi Matsumoto and P. L. McGaughey and Egor Melnikov and M. Merschmeyer and Fordyce Messer and Michael Messer and Yasushi Miake and Tyrus Miller and Alexander Milov and Saskia Mioduszewski and R. E. Mischke and Govinda C Mishra and Jerry T. Mitchell and Ajit Kumar Mohanty and Daniel Paul Morrison and James Moss and Frank Muehlbacher and MD. Muniruzzaman and Jiro Murata and S. Nagamiya and Yosuke Nagasaka and James L Nagle and Yoshikazu Nakada and B. K. Nandi and J E Newby and Lauri Nikkinen and Petter Nilsson and Shunji Nishimura and A. S. Nyanin and Joakim Nystrand and E O'brien and Craig A. Ogilvie and Hiroyuki Ohnishi and I. D. Ojha and Masaki Ono and Valeriy Onuchin and Agneta Oskarsson and L. A. Osterman and I. Otterlund and K. ‐ I. Oyama and Leo Paffrath and A. P. T. Palounek and V. S. Pantuev and Vassili Papavassiliou and Stephen F. Pate and Thomas Peitzmann and Athanasios N. Petridis and Christopher Pinkenburg and R. P. Pisani and P Pitukhin and Frantisek Plasil and Michael Pollack and Kyle Pope and M. L. Purschke and I. Ravinovich and K. F. Read and Klaus Reygers and V O Riabov and Yu Riabov and Mario Rosati and April A. N. Rose and Seong Shick Ryu and Naohito Saito and Arito Sakaguchi and Takao Sakaguchi and Hiroyuki Sako and Tetsuya Sakuma and Vladislav Samsonov and T C Sangster and Ryoko Santo and Hideomi Sato and Satoshi Sato and Shoji Sawada and B. R. Schlei and Y. Schutz and Vadim Semenov and Richard Seto and Terence K Shea and I. V. Shein and T A Shibata and K. Shigaki and Takahiro Shiina and Y. H. Shin and I G Sibiriak and D. Silvermyr and K. S. Sim and J. Simon-Gillo and Chandan Pal Singh and Vibhor Singh and Michael B Sivertz and Alexander Soldatov and Ron A. Soltz and Soren P. Sorensen and P. W. Stankus and Nicole S Starinsky and Peter Steinberg and E. Stenlund and Andr{\'a}s Ster and S. P. Stoll and Masami Sugioka and T. Sugitate and John P. Sullivan and Yasuhiko Sumi and Zhaoxuan Sun and Masatoshi Suzuki and E. M. Takagui and Atsushi Taketani and Masato Tamai and Koichiro Tanaka and Yu Tanaka and E. Taniguchi and Michael J. Tannenbaum and J. H. Thomas and Timothy L. Thomas and Wei Tian and Junji Tojo and Hitoshi Torii and Rusty Towell and Itzhak Tserruya and Hiroshi Tsuruoka and A. A. Tsvetkov and Sagun K Tuli and H. Tydesj{\"o} and Nikolay Tyurin and T. Ushiroda and H W van Hecke and Christos Velissaris and Julia Velkovska and Momchil Velkovsky and Artem Vinogradov and Maxim A. Volkov and Alexander Vorobyov and E. A. Vznuzdaev and Hui Wang and Y. S. Watanabe and Sebastian N. White and C. Witzig and F. K. Wohn and C. L. Woody and Wei Xie and Kent Yagi and Satoshi Yokkaichi and Glenn R. Young and I. E. Yushmanov and William A Zajc and Zhiyong Zhang and S. J. Zhou},
  journal={Physical review letters},
  volume={88 2},
Transverse momentum spectra for charged hadrons and for neutral pions in the range 1 GeV/c<p(T)<5 GeV/c have been measured by the PHENIX experiment at RHIC in Au+Au collisions at root square[s(NN)] = 130 GeV. At high p(T) the spectra from peripheral nuclear collisions are consistent with scaling the spectra from p+p collisions by the average number of binary nucleon-nucleon collisions. The spectra from central collisions are significantly suppressed when compared to the binary-scaled p+p… CONTINUE READING

From This Paper

Topics from this paper.