Study of Various Photomultiplier Tubes with Muon Beams And Cerenkov Light Produced in Electron Showers

  title={Study of Various Photomultiplier Tubes with Muon Beams And Cerenkov Light Produced in Electron Showers},
  author={Serguei Chatrchyan and Vardan Khachatryan and Albert M Sirunyan and Vladimir Mossolov and Nikolai Shumeiko and Eddi A. De Wolf and S. Ochesanu and Benoit Roland and H. Van Haevermaet and Pierre Van Mechelen and Stijn Blyweert and Jordan V. Damgov and Lubomir Dimitrov and Vladimir Genchev and Stefan Piperov and Ivan Vankov and V. Roinishvili and Kerstin Borras and Alasdair J Campbell and H. Jung and I. Katkov and Albert Knutsson and Niladri Sen and Krokidas Panagiotis and A. Panagiotou and Mouratidis Theodoros and Attila Aranyi and Gy.L. Bencze and Laszlo Boldizsar and D. Horvath and Gyorgy Vesztergombi and Sunil Bansal and Suman Bala Beri and M. Jindal and Manpuneet Kaur and J. M. Kohli and Manuk Zubin Mehta and Nishu Nishu and Lovedeep Kaur Saini and Abhinav Pratap Singh and Jung B. Singh and Tariq Aziz and Atul Gurtu and Manas Maity and D. Majumder and Gobinda Majumder and Kaushik Mazumdar and Anirban Saha and Katta Sudhakar and Soumitro Banerjee and Shashikant Dugad and Naba Kumar Mondal and Hessamaddin Arfaei and Hamed Bakhshiansohi and Mojtaba Mohammadi Najafabadi and S. Paktinat Mehdiabadi and Aldo Penzo and Pavel Bunin and Mir. Finger and Igor Golutvin and V. P. Smirnov and A. Vishnevskiy and A. G. Volod'ko and Anatoli Zarubin and Yu. Andreev and Mikhail Kirsanov and Anatoli Pashenkov and Alexander Toropin and Sergey Troitsky and Vladimir Epshteyn and V{\'e}ronica Gavrilov and Natalia Ilina and V. S. Kaftanov and Mikhail Kossov and Andrey Krokhotin and Sergey Kuleshov and A. Oulianov and Grigory Safronov and S. Semenov and I. Shreyber and Viatcheslav Stolin and Evgueni Vlasov and A. Zhokin and Alexander Yurievich Demianov and Alexander I. Ershov and Andrey Gribushin and Vyacheslav I. Klyukhin and Olga Kodolova and I. P. Lokhtin and Stepan Obraztsov and Sergey Petrushanko and A. S. Proskuryakov and Lyudmila I. Sarycheva and Viktor Savrin and Irina Samvelovna Vardanyan and I. S. Dremin and Martin Kirakosyan and Nina Konovalova and A. Vinogradov and Victor Krychkine and V. Petrov and R. Ryutin and S. Slabospitsky and A. Sobol and A. Sytine and Leonid Tourtchanovitch and Alexander A. Volkov and Aytul Adiguzel and M. N. Bakirci and Salim Cerci and Isa Dumanoglu and E et al Eskut and Semiray Girgis and Emine Gurpinar and T{\"u}rker Karaman and Aysel Kayis Topaksu and Polat Kurt and Gulsen Onengut and Kadri Ozdemir and Sertac Ozturk and Ayse Polatoz and Kenan Sogut and Bayram Tali and Huseyin Topakli and Dilber Uzun and Takhmasib Mamed Aliev and Muhammed Deniz and Ali Murat Guler and Kadir Ocalan and Meltem Serin and Ramazan Sever and Ertug Yildirim and Mehmet Zeyrek and Mehmet Deliomeroglu and Erhan G{\"u}lmez and Arda Halu and Bora Işıldak and Mithat Kaya and Ozlem Kaya and Melih {\"O}zbek and Nasuf Sonmez and Leonid Levchuk and Pavel Sorokin and Amber S Clough and Edward Hazen and A. H. Heering and Anton Heister and J. St. John and Paul Lawson and Dragoslav Lazic and James Rohlf and Lawrence Sulak and Shan-wei Wu and Aram Avetisyan and John Paul Chou and S. Esen and Gennadiy Kukartsev and Greg Landsberg and M. Narain and N. Nguyen and Ka Vang Tsang and J. W. Gary and Fang-Wei Liu and Harold Nguyen and Jared Sturdy and D. Winn and Pushpalatha C. Bhat and Marian Binkley and Frank Chlebana and I. Churin and Selcuk Cihangir and Mike J Crawford and William Dagenhart and Marcel Demarteau and Greg Derylo and Dp Dykstra and David P. Eartly and John Elmer Elias and V{\'i}ctor Daniel Elvira and Jon C. Freeman and Dan Green and Aribert Hahn and Jim Hanlon and R. M. Harris and Konstantinos Kousouris and Shuichi Kunori and P. Limon and Catherine Newman-Holmes and Sangeeta Sharma and William J. Spalding and Richard Vidal and Juliana Whitmore and Wenwang Wu and C. Cer{\'o}n and Vanessa Gaultney and Luis Miguel Lebolo and Stephan L. Linn and Pete Markowitz and G. Mart'inez and Marco Bertoldi and S. V. Gleyzer and Jeff Haas and Sharon Hagopian and Vasken Hagopian and Merrill Jenkins and Sezen Sekmen and Marc M. Baarmand and Hamit Mermerkaya and R. Ralich and I. B. Vodopiyanov and Edmundo Javier Garcia-solis and Ugur Akgun and Elif Asli Albayrak and Burak Bilki and Kerem Cankocak and Warren Clarida and Firdevs Duru and E. McCliment and J. P. Merlo and Alexi Mestvirishvili and Anthony Moeller and Jane Nachtman and E. Norbeck and Yasar Onel and Ferhat Ozok and I. Schmidt and Subhajit Sen and Taylan Yetkin and Kai Yi and Oleg A. Grachov and Morgan J. Murray and James C. S. Wood and Drew Baden and Madjid Boutemeur and Sarah Catherine Eno and Dinko Feren{\vc}ek and Nicholas John Hadley and Richard G Kellogg and Malina Kirn and K. Rossato and P Rumerio and Francesco Santanastasio and Andris Skuja and J. Temple and M. B. Tonjes and Suresh C Tonwar and Elizabeth Twedt and P Cole and P. Cushman and Phillip Russell Dudero and Kevin Klapoetke and Jeremy Mans and Lucien Marcus Cremaldi and Romulus Godang and R. Kroeger and Rahmat Rahmat and D. A. Sanders and Anton Anastassov and Radoslaw Adrian Ofierzynski and Andrey Pozdnyakov and M. Velasco and Steven Won and Daniel John Karmgard and Randy Ruchti and J. Warchoł and Johann Ziegler and N. E. Adam and Edmund Berry and Davide Gerbaudo and V. Halyo and Adam Hunt and J. Jones and Edward Laird and David Lopes Pegna and Daniel Marlow and Tatiana Medvedeva and M. Mooney and James Olsen and Christopher Tully and John S. Werner and Andrzej Zuranski and Virgil E Barnes and Alvin T Laasanen and A. Sedov and Arie Bodek and Ys Chung and Pawel Jan de Barbaro and Aran Garcia-Bellido and Jai Yong Han and Amnon Harel and Daniel Miner and Dmitry Vishnevskiy and Marek Zieliński and A. Bhatti and Konstantin Goulianos and Minxiong Yan and Alfredo Gurrola and Teruki Kamon and S. Sengupta and David Toback and M. J. Weinberger and Nural Akchurin and Chiyoung Jeong and Sung Won Lee and Sorina Popescu and Youn Roh and A. E. Sill and Igor Volobouev and Richard Wigmans and Erdem Yazgan},
The PMTs of the CMS Hadron Forward calorimeter were found to generate a large size signal when their windows were traversed by energetic charged particles. This signal, which is due to. Cerenkov light production at the PMT window, could interfere with the calorimeter signal and mislead the measurements. In order to find a viable solution to this problem, the response of four different types of PMTs to muons traversing their windows at different orientations is measured at the H2 beam-line at… CONTINUE READING


Publications referenced by this paper.

Adolphi et al., The CMS experiment at the CERN LHC

R. CMS collaboration
  • 2008

Hamamatsu R7525HA phototubes for the CMS-HF forward calorimeter

U. Akgun
  • Nucl. Instrum. Meth. A
  • 2000

A second generation charge integrator and encoder ASIC

  • 1995 IEEE Nuclear Science Symposium and Medical Imaging Conference Record
  • 1995