Single electrons from heavy-flavor decays in collisions at.


The invariant differential cross section for inclusive electron production in p+p collisions at [FORMULA: SEE TEXT] has been measured by the PHENIX experiment at the BNL Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider over the transverse momentum range 0.4<or=pT<OR=5.0 GeV/c in the central rapidity region ([FORMULA: SEE TEXT]). The contribution to the inclusive electron spectrum from semileptonic decays of hadrons carrying heavy flavor, i.e., charm quarks or, at high , bottom quarks, is determined via three independent methods. The resulting electron spectrum from heavy-flavor decays is compared to recent leading and next-to-leading order perturbative QCD calculations. The total cross section of charm quark-antiquark pair production is determined to be [FORMULA: SEE TEXT].

Cite this paper

@article{Adler2006SingleEF, title={Single electrons from heavy-flavor decays in collisions at.}, author={Steven Adler and Sergey V Afanasiev and Christine Aidala and N . N . Ajitanand and Yukio Akiba and James Alexander and R . Amirikas and L . Aphecetche and S . H . Aronson and Ralf Averbeck and Terry C. Awes and R. Azmoun and V . V . Babintsev and Andrea Baldisseri and K . N . Barish and Patrick Barnes and B . Bassalleck and Stefan Bathe and S . Batsouli and V . Baublis and Alexander Bazilevsky and S . Belikov and Yury Berdnikov and Shreya Bhagavatula and J . G . J . Boissevain and Hector Borel and Stacey P. Borenstein and M . L . Brooks and David S. Brown and Nancy Bruner and Denis Bucher and H . Buesching and V . Bumazhnov and Gareth Bunce and J. M. Burward-Hoy and Sergey A . Butsyk and X . Camard and J. Chai and Pooran Chand and Wing Chung Chang and S . K . Chernichenko and Chehyuk Chi and Jun-ichi Chiba and Mickey Chiu and I . J . Choi and J Choi and Ratan K. Choudhury and Tatsuya Chujo and Vincent Cianciolo and Yann Cobigo and B . A . Cole and Pascal Constantin and David d'Enterria and G{\'a}bor D{\'a}vid and H . Delagrange and Alexander S Denisov and Abhay .A. Deshpande and Elizabeth Desmond and Anne Devismes and O . Dietzsch and Olivier Drapier and A. Drees and R du Rietz and A . A . Durum and Debosruti Dutta and Y Efremenko and K el Chenawi and A . Enokizono and H En'yo and Shinichi Esumi and L . A . Ewell and D . E . Fields and F . Fleuret and S . L . Fokin and Benjamin Daniel Fox and Z . Fraenkel and Justin Frantz and Annamaria Franz and A . D . Frawley and S . - Y . Fung and S . Garpman and Tapan Kumar Ghosh and Ariel Glenn and George Gogiberidze and Michel-Pierre Gonin and Jean Gosset and Yuko Goto and R. Granier de Cassagnac and N. Grau and Sheldon Greene and Matthias Grosse Perdekamp and Wlodek Guryn and H . - {\AA} . Gustafsson and Takahiko Hachiya and John S. Haggerty and Hitomi Hamagaki and Aleshia Hansen and Edward P. Hartouni and Matthew Harvey and R . S . Hayano and Norio Hayashi and X He and Michelle Heffner and Thomas K. Hemmick and Johann M. Heuser and Mitsuhiro Hibino and Jenna C . Hill and W. Holzmann and Kazutaka Homma and B Hong and A . S . Hoover and Toshio Ichihara and V . V . Ikonnikov and Kohzoh Imai and D . Isenhower and Masayuki Ishihara and Michael Issah and A . Yu . Isupov and Barbara Jacak and W . Y . Jang and Yoong Ki Jeong and Jing Jia and O . Jinnouchi and Bryan M . Johnson and Susan C. Johnson and Koan Sik Joo and D . Jouan and Shigeki Kametani and N . Kamihara and J. H. Kang and S . S . Kapoor and Kiyohito Katou and Steven Kelly and B . Khachaturov and A . V . Khanzadeev and Jun Kikuchi and D . H . Kim and Dong Joon Kim and D . W . Kim and E . - J . Kim and G . - B . Kim and H J Kim and E . Kistenev and A . Kiyomichi and Kouji Kiyoyama and Christian Klein-B{\"{o}sing and Hiroshi Kobayashi and L . M . Kochenda and V . I . Kochetkov and Denny K{\"{o}hler and Takayuki Kohama and Mikhail Kopytine and Dmitri Kotchetkov and Alexander Kozlov and Pieter J Kroon and C . H . Kuberg and Kenichi Kurita and Yoshio Kuroki and MeeRa Kweon and Youngjoon Kwon and Garreth Kyle and Roy Lacey and V . P . Ladygin and John G. Lajoie and A . I . Lebedev and Shannon Leckey and D . M . Lee and Seongsu Lee and Michael J. Leitch and X . H . Li and H . Lim and Alexander Litvinenko and Ming Xiong Liu and Y Liu and C . F . Maguire and Y . I . Makdisi and A . I . Malakhov and Vladimir I. Manko and Y. Mao and G{\'e}rard Martinez and Michael Marx and Hideyuki Masui and Felix Matathias and Takuma Matsumoto and P . L . McGaughey and Evgeny Melnikov and François Messer and Yasuo Miake and J. B. Milan and T . E . Miller and Alexander Milov and Saskia Mioduszewski and R . E . Mischke and Garima Mishra and J . T . Mitchell and Alok Kumar Mohanty and D . P . Morrison and Jason M Moss and Frank Muehlbacher and Debabrata Mukhopadhyay and M . Muniruzzaman and J Murata and S . Nagamiya and James L. Nagle and Tadashi Nakamura and B. K. Nandi and Makoto Nara and Jonathan Newby and Pelle Nilsson and A . S . Nyanin and Joakim Nystrand and Eoin O'Brien and Craig A. Ogilvie and Hiroyuki Ohnishi and I . D . Ojha and Kenji Okada and Mitsuaki Ono and V . A . Onuchin and Agneta Oskarsson and I . Otterlund and Kazuhiko Oyama and Keiya Ozawa and Dipali Pal and A . P . T . Palounek and V . S . Pantuev and Vasilis Papavassiliou and Jong-Ho Park and Anil Parmar and Stephen F. Pate and Thomas Peitzmann and J . - C . Peng and V . V . Peresedov and Christopher Pinkenburg and R . P . Pisani and Frantisek Plasil and Martin L. Purschke and A . K . Purwar and Jan Rak and I . Ravinovich and Kenneth F. Read and Martin Reuter and Klaus Reygers and Vladimir V. Riabov and Yu . Riabov and Guillaume de la Roche and A . Romana and Michela Rosati and Ph . Rosnet and Sungguen Ryu and M . E . Sadler and Nao Saito and Takanori Sakaguchi and Makoto Sakai and Seisho Sakai and V . Samsonov and L . Sanfratello and Ryoko Santo and Hiroki Sato and Shin Sato and Shigemasa Sawada and Yves Schutz and Vasyl Semenov and Rie Seto and Mark Shaw and Tanner K Shea and T . - A . Shibata and K. Shigaki and Takashi Shiina and Cl{\'a}udia L Silva and D . Silvermyr and Kyo Sik Sim and C. P. Singh and V. P. Singh and M . Sivertz and A . P . Soldatov and Ron Soltz and W . E . Sondheim and Soren P. Sorensen and I. Sourikova and Forrest Staley and P . W . Stankus and E . Stenlund and Misha Stepanov and Andr{\'a}s Ster and S . P . Stoll and T . Sugitate and James P Sullivan and E . M . Takagui and Atsushi Taketani and Makoto Tamai and Kiyokatsu Tanaka and Yukio Tanaka and Kazumi Tanida and Michael J. Tannenbaum and P . Tarj{\'a}n and Jessica Tepe and Tricia L Thomas and Jun Tojo and Hidemasa Torii and Richard Towell and Itzhak Tserruya and Hisano Tsuruoka and Suneet Tuli and H . Tydesj{\"{o} and Nikolay Tyurin and H W van Hecke and Julia Velkovska and Momchil Velkovsky and Viktor Veszpremi and Laurence Villatte and A . A . Vinogradov and Maxim A. Volkov and E . Vznuzdaev and X X Wang and Yasuhiro Watanabe and Shane White and F . K . Wohn and Craig L Woody and Wen Xie and Y. Yang and Amber Yanovich and Satoshi Yokkaichi and Gin-Shu Young and I . E . Yushmanov and William A. Zajc and Cheng Zhang and S Zhou and L . S . Zolin}, journal={Physical review letters}, year={2006}, volume={96 3}, pages={032001} }