Search for single top quark production in pp̄ collisions at √ s = 1 . 96 TeV

  title={Search for single top quark production in pp̄ collisions at √ s = 1 . 96 TeV},
  author={V. M. Abazov and B. Abbott and Maris Abolins and Bobby Samir Acharya and Michael Q. Adams and Tim S Adams and Mathieu Agelou and J. -L. Agram and Seok Hoon Ahn and Muneeb Ahsan and G. D. Alexeev and G. D. Alkhazov and Andrew Alton and Gail A. Alverson and Giordano Alves and M. Anastasoaie and Timothy R. Andeen and Sam Anderson and Bastien Andrieu and Y. Arnoud and A. J. Askew and B. {\AA}sman and Ana Carolina Assis Jesus and Oleksiy Atramentov and Christian Autermann and Cassio Avila and F. Badaud and Alex Baden and Boris Baldin and P. W. Balm and Sw. Banerjee and Emanuela Barberis and P. Bargassa and P. Baringer and Carolyn Barnes and Jorge Barreto and Joel F. Bartlett and Ursula Bassler and Dieter Bauer and Andrew Bean and S. Beauceron and M{\'a}rcia Begalli and Michael Begel and Andre Bellavance and Snjezana Beri and Gianni Bernardi and Romina Bernhard and Iain Bertram and Marc Besançon and R. Beuselinck and VA. Bezzubov and Pushpalatha C. Bhat and Virender. Bhatnagar and Mareike Binder and Catherine Biscarat and Katharine Black and I. Blackler and Gerald C. Blazey and F. Blekman and Stephen Blessing and Daniel Bloch and Ulla Blumenschein and Amber Boehnlein and O. E. Vickey Boeriu and Tonya A. Bolton and Frauke Borcherding and Guennadi Borissov and Koen Bos and Edward E. Boos and T. Bose and Al{\'e}x F. Brandt and Richard Brock and Gustaaf Brooijmans and Alan Bross and Nathan Buchanan and Dirk Buchholz and Martin Buehler and Volker Buescher and Viacheslav E. Bunichev and Steve Burdin and S. Burke and Toby Burnett and Emmanuel Busato and Claus Peter Buszello and Jennifer M Butler and Jochen Cammin and S. Caron and Wendy Carvalho and Brian K. Casey and N. M. Cason and H. Castilla-Valdez and Shreya Chakrabarti and Dhiman Chakraborty and Ka Chan and A. Suman Chandra and Douglas M Chapin and F. Charles and Eng-Yeow Cheu and D. K. Cho and S. Choi and Babita Choudhary and T. Christiansen and L. Christofek and Derek Claes and Bev Clement and Colin Clement and Yann Coadou and Mark Stephen Cooke and William E. Cooper and David Coppage and Michael Corcoran and A. Cothenet and M.-C. Cousinou and Belinda Cox and S. Cr{\'e}p{\'e}-Renaudin and Dave Cutts and Helena Motta and Mitali Das and Brian Davies and Gareth Davies and Gary A. Davis and Krishnendu De and Paul C. de Jong and Steven de Jong and E. De La Cruz-Burelo and Clarice Oliveira Martins and Shawna Dean and James D. Degenhardt and Fr{\'e}d{\'e}ric D{\'e}liot and Marianne Demarteau and Regina Demina and P. Demine and Denis Denisov and Stepan Denisov and Shantanu Desai and H. Thomas Diehl and M. Diesburg and Mary Doidge and H. Dong and S. Doulas and L. Dudko and Shashikant Dugad and Arnaud Duperrin and Joanne Dyer and A. S. Dyshkant and Michael Eads and David A. Edmunds and Trent Edwards and John Ellison and J. Elmsheuser and V. Daniel Elvira and Sarah Eno and P. F. Ermolov and O. V. Eroshin and Juan Estrada and Helen F. Evans and Artem Evdokimov and VN. Evdokimov and Jakub Fast and Sarosh N Fatakia and L. Feligioni and Alexey V. Ferapontov and T. Ferbel and Frank Fiedler and Frank Filthaut and W C Fisher and H. Eugene Fisk and Ivor Fleck and Melanie L Fortner and H. Fox and Shenhe Fu and Stefan F{\"u}ss and Thomas Gadfort and Cristina F. Galea and Elizabeth Gallas and Eugene Galyaev and C. Garc{\'i}a and Ar{\'a}n Garc{\'i}a-Bellido and Julian Gardner and V. I. Gavrilov and Annietta Gay and Paolo Gay and D. Gel{\'e} and R. Gelhaus and Krzysztof Genser and Cecilia E. Gerber and Yuri Gershtein and Dr. P. -G. Gillberg and Gina Ginther and Tobias Golling and N. P. Gollub and Barbara G{\'o}mez and Krishnaswamy Gounder and A. G. Goussiou and Paul D. Grannis and S{\'e}bastien Greder and Hali Greenlee and Zeno Dixon Greenwood and E. Gregores and Ph. Gris and J.-F. Grivaz and L. S. Groer and Stefan Gr{\"u}nendahl and M. W. Gr{\"u}newald and S. N. Gurzhiev and Gustavo Guti{\'e}rrez and Phillip Gutierrez and Andrews Haas and N. J. Hadley and Sharon Hagopian and I. D. Hall and Robert E. Hall and C. Han and L-X. Han and K. Hanagaki and Kristina Harder and Amnon Harel and R. Harrington and J. M. Hauptman and Rosmarie Hauser and James Hays and Thomas Hebbeker and David Hedin and Jamie Heinmiller and A. P. Heinson and Ulrich Heintz and C. Hensel and Gavin Hesketh and Robert Hirosky and J. David Hobbs and Bruce Hoeneisen and Marc Hohlfeld and Soon Joon Hong and Roz Hooper and Philipp Houben and Yaowu Hu and Jiasheng Huang and Vladimir Hynek and Ia Iashvili and Robert Illingworth and Amando Siuiti Ito and S. D. Jabeen and Sonia Fahmy Raj Jain and Vivek Jain and Karl Jakobs and A. Jenkins and R. Jesik and Kathy Johns and Mack H. Johnson and Anne-Charlotte Jonckheere and P. Jonsson and Aurelio Juste and Daniel K{\"a}fer and Stephen Kahn and Eric Kajfasz and A. M. Kalinin and J. R. Kalk and D. E. Karmanov and Johanna Kasper and Daekwang Kau and Ramandeep Kaur and Raymond Kehoe and Salah Kermiche and S. Kesisoglou and A I Khanov and Avto Kharchilava and Yu. Kharzheev and Hwankoo Kim and T. J. Kim and Boaz Klima and J. M. Kohli and J. P. Konrath and Martin Kop{\'a}l and VM. Korablev and Joanna R Kotcher and Bhavin Kothari and A. Koubarovsky and A. V. Kozelov and J. Kozminski and A. Kryemadhi and Stanislaw Krzywdzinski and Yakov Kulik and Amit Kumar and S. Kunori and Alexander Kup{\vc}o and Tibor Kurca and Jǐŕı Kvita and Susanne Lager and Nadia Lahrichi and Gr. Landsberg and A. -C. Le Bihan and Paul L. G. Lebrun and Frank Lehner and Christos Leonidopoulos and J. Leveque and Pericles Lewis and Dino Lincoln and S. L. Linn and Julia Linnemann and Vladimir Vasil'evich Lipaev and Robert Lipton and Lloyd Lobo and A. A. Lobodenko and M. Lokaj{\'i}cek and Abdenour Lounis and Peter Love and H. J. Lubatti and Lee Lueking and Monika Lynker and Adam L. Lyon and Alu{\'i}sio Antunes Maciel and Ronald J. Madaras and P. Maettig and Carsten Magass and Alan Magerkurth and A.-M. Magnan and N. Makovec and Pooran Mal and H. B. Malbouisson and Suleman Malik and V. L. Malyshev and H-K. Mao and Yurii Y. Maravin and M. Martens and Sean E. K. Mattingly and A. A. Mayorov and Richard. mccarthy and Robert D McCroskey and Dirk Meder and Alex Melnitchouk and Andreia Mendes and Miriam Merkin and Kennedy W Merritt and Axel Meyer and Mathieu Michaut and Heli Miettinen and Jovan Mitrevski and J. Molina and N. K. Mondal and Richard W. Moore and T. Moulik and G. S. Muanza and Martijn Mulders and Leandro Resende Mundim and Yildirim D. Mutaf and Elem{\'e}r K. Nagy and Mansi Narain and N. A. Naumann and Homer A. Neal and J. P. Negret and Susan Giver Nelson and P. V. Neustroev and Christian Noeding and Andrei Nomerotski and S. Novaes and Thomas. Nunnemann and V. O’Dell and Dorothy O’Neil and Vitor Oguri and Naiana Oliveira},
We present a search for electroweak production of single top quarks in the s-c annel andt-channel using neural network for signal–background separation. We have analyzed 230 pb −1 of data collected with the DØ detector at the Fermilab Teva Collider at a center-of-mass energy of 1.96 TeV and find no evidence for a single top quark signal. The resulting 95% co level upper limits on the single top quark production cross sections are 6.4 pb in the s-channel and 5.0 pb in the t-channel.  2005… CONTINUE READING