Scheduling threads for constructive cache sharing on CMPs


In chip multiprocessors (CMPs), limiting the number of offchip cache misses is crucial for good performance. Many multithreaded programs provide opportunities for <i>constructive</i> cache sharing, in which concurrently scheduled threads share a largely overlapping working set. In this paper, we compare the performance of two state-of-the-art schedulers proposed for fine-grained multithreaded programs: Parallel Depth First (PDF), which is specifically designed for constructive cache sharing, and Work Stealing (WS), which is a more traditional design. Our experimental results indicate that PDF scheduling yields a 1.3--1.6X performance improvement relative to WS for several fine-grain parallel benchmarks on projected future CMP configurations; we also report several issues that may limit the advantage of PDF in certain applications. These results also indicate that PDF more effectively utilizes off-chip bandwidth, making it possible to trade-off on-chip cache for a larger number of cores. Moreover, we find that task granularity plays a key role in cache performance. Therefore, we present an automatic approach for selecting effective grain sizes, based on a new working set profiling algorithm that is an order of magnitude faster than previous approaches. This is the first paper demonstrating the effectiveness of PDF on real benchmarks, providing a direct comparison between PDF and WS, revealing the limiting factors for PDF in practice, and presenting an approach for overcoming these factors.

DOI: 10.1145/1248377.1248396

Extracted Key Phrases

9 Figures and Tables

Citations per Year

149 Citations

Semantic Scholar estimates that this publication has 149 citations based on the available data.

See our FAQ for additional information.

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Chen2007SchedulingTF, title={Scheduling threads for constructive cache sharing on CMPs}, author={Shimin Chen and Phillip B. Gibbons and Michael A. Kozuch and Vasileios Liaskovitis and Anastasia Ailamaki and Guy E. Blelloch and Babak Falsafi and Limor Fix and Nikolaos Hardavellas and Todd C. Mowry and Chris Wilkerson}, booktitle={SPAA}, year={2007} }