Planck intermediate results XXXII. The relative orientation between the magnetic field and structures traced by interstellar dust

  title={Planck intermediate results XXXII. The relative orientation between the magnetic field and structures traced by interstellar dust},
  author={Planck Collaboration R. Adam and P. A. R. Ade and Nabila Aghanim and Marta I. R. Alves and Monique Arnaud and Doris Arzoumanian and M. Ashdown and Jonathan Aumont and Carlo Baccigalupi and Anthony J. Banday and R. B. Barreiro and Nicola Bartolo and Eduardo Battaner and Karim Benabed and A. Benoit-levy and J. -P. Bernard and M. Bersanelli and Pawel Bielewicz and Anna Bonaldi and Laura Bonavera and John Richard Bond and Julian Borrill and François R. Bouchet and Françcois Boulanger and Annalisa Bracco and C. Burigana and Rush C. Butler and Erminia Chiara Calabrese and J. F. Cardoso and Andrea Catalano and A. Chamballu and Huan-ching Chiang and Philip Christensen and St{\'e}phane Colombi and Loris P. L. Colombo and C'eline Combet and François Couchot and Brendan P. Crill and A. Curto and F. Cuttaia and Luigi Danese and Rodney D. Davies and Richard J. Davis and Paolo de Bernardis and Alessandra de F{\'a}tima Galv{\~a}o Rosa and Gianfranco de Zotti and Jacques Delabrouille and Clive Dickinson and Jos{\'e} Mar{\'i}a Diego and H. Dole and Simona Donzelli and Olivier Dor'e and Marian Douspis and Anne Ducout and Xavier Dupac and George Efstathiou and Franz Elsner and Torsten A. Ensslin and Hans Kristian Eriksen and Edith Falgarone and K. Ferri{\`e}re and Fabio Finelli and Olivier Forni and Marco Frailis and Aurelien A. Fraisse and Enrico Franceschi and Anne Mette Frejsel and S. Galeotta and Silvia Galli and Ken Ganga and Tuhin Ghosh and Martin Giard and E. Gjerl{\o}w and Joaqu{\'i}n Gonz{\'a}lez-Nuevo and Krzysztof G{\'o}rski and Anna Gregorio and Alessandro Gruppuso and Vincent Guillet and Frode K. Hansen and Duncan Hanson and Diana Harrison and Sophie Henrot-Versill'e and Carlos Hernandez-Monteagudo and Diego Herranz and Sergi R. Hildebrandt and Eric F. Hivon and Warren Albert Holmes and Wolfgang Hovest and Kevin M. Huffenberger and Guillaume Hurier and Andrew H. Jaffe and Tess R. Jaffe and Walter Clifford Jones and Elina Keihanen and Reijo Keskitalo and T. S. Kisner and Ruediger Kneissl and J{\"o}rg Knoche and M. Nincheri Kunz and Hannu Kurki-Suonio and Guilaine Lagache and J. -M. Lamarre and Anthony Lasenby and Massimiliano Lattanzi and Charles Lawrence and Renzo Leonardi and François Levrier and Michele Liguori and Per B. Lilje and M.J.D. Linden-Vornle and Marcos L{\'o}pez-Caniego and Philip M. Lubin and J. F. Mac'ias-P'erez and Bruno Maffei and Davide Maino and N. Mandolesi and M. Maris and Douglas J. Marshall and Peter George Martin and Enrique Martinez-Gonzalez and Silvia Masi and S. Matarrese and Pasquale Mazzotta and Alessandro Melchiorri and Luis Mendes and Aniello Mennella and Maurizio Migliaccio and M. -A. Miville-Deschenes and Andrea Moneti and Laurent Montier and Gianluca Morgante and Daniel J. Mortlock and Dipak Munshi and J. Anthony Murphy and Pavel D. Naselsky and Paolo Natoli and Hans Ulrik N{\o}rgaard-Nielsen and Fabio Noviello and Dmitrii Novikov and I. Novikov and Niels Oppermann and Carol Anne Oxborrow and Luca Pagano and François Pajot and Daniela L. Paoletti and Fabio Pasian and Olivier Perdereau and Laurence Perotto and Francesca Perrotta and Valeria Pettorino and Francesco Piacentini and M. l'Abbe C. Piat and St{\'e}phane Plaszczynski and Etienne Pointecouteau and Gianluca Polenta and Nicolas Ponthieu and Lorena Diana Popa and Gabriel W. Pratt and Simon Prunet and J.-L. Puget and Jorg P. Rachen and William T. Reach and Martin Reinecke and Mathieu Remazeilles and Cyril Renault and Isabelle Ristorcelli and Graça Rocha and Gael M. Roudier and Jos{\'e} Alberto Rubi{\~n}o-Mart{\'i}n and Ben A. Rusholme and Matteo Sandri and Dheiver Santos and Giorgio Savini and Douglas Scott and Juan Soler and Locke D. Spencer and Vladislav Stolyarov and Rashmikant V. Sudiwala and Rashid Alievich Sunyaev and David O. Sutton and A.-S. Suur-Uski and J. -F. Sygnet and Joshua A. Tauber and Laura Terenzi and L. Toffolatti and Maurizio Tomasi and Matthieu Tristram and Marco Tucci and Grazia Umana and Luca Valenziano and Jussi Valiviita and Bartjan van Tent and Patricio Vielva and Fabrizio Villa and Lawrence A. Wade and Benjamin D. Wandelt and Ingunn Kathrine Wehus and Helmut Wiesemeyer and D. Yvon and Andrea Zacchei and Alberto Zonca},
  journal={Astronomy and Astrophysics},
  • Planck Collaboration R. Adam, P. A. R. Ade, +198 authors Alberto Zonca
  • Published 2015
  • Physics
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • The role of the magnetic field in the formation of the filamentary structures observed in the interstellar medium (ISM) is a debated topic owing to the paucity of relevant observations needed to test existing models. The Planck all-sky maps of linearly polarized emission from dust at 353 GHz provide the required combination of imaging and statistics to study the correlation between the structures of the Galactic magnetic field and of interstellar matter over the whole sky, both in the diffuse… CONTINUE READING


    Publications citing this paper.




    Publications referenced by this paper.