Paranasal Sinus Aspergillosis: A Case Report and Review of Literature


The fungal agents isolated from paranasal sinuses include Aspergillus, Mucor, Histoplasma, Coccidiodies, Candida, Acremonium, Curvularia, Fonsecaea and Penicillum (Marple and Mabry, 2002). Aspergillus species are the most common colonizers of the sinuses. There are four categories of paranasal sinus aspergillosis, classified based on the host s immune response to the fungus: chronic indolent sinusitis (invasive), fulminant sinusitis (invasive), fungal balls (noninvasive), and allergic sinusitis (noninvasive) (Ryan and Marple, 2010). In paranasal sinus the most common Aspergillus species that produce this illness are Aspergillus fumigatus, Aspergillus flavus and Aspergillus niger. In India, Aspergillus flavus is isolated in more than 80% of the cases of acute fungal rhinosinusitis (Chatterjee and Chakrabarti, 2009).

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Kamble2002ParanasalSA, title={Paranasal Sinus Aspergillosis: A Case Report and Review of Literature}, author={Rahul D. Kamble and Jaswandi Joshi and Supriya Pendurkar}, year={2002} }