Observation of large CP violation in the neutral B meson system.

  title={Observation of large CP violation in the neutral B meson system.},
  author={Koya Abe and Koya Abe and R. Abe and Ichiro Adachi and Byoung Sup Ahn and Hiroaki Aihara and Mitsuhiro Akatsu and Gianluca Alimonti and Kanae Asai and Makoto Asai and Y. Asano and Tsukasa Aso and Vladimir M. Aulchenko and T. A Kh Aushev and A. M. Bakich and Elzbieta Banas and Satyajit Behari and Prafulla Kumar Behera and D. Beiline and Alexander E. Bondar and Andrz{\'e}j Bozek and Thomas Browder and B. C. K. Casey and P Chang and Yuan Chao and K. F. Chen and Byung Gu Cheon and R. Chistov and S. K. Choi and Y. K. Choi and Libin Dong and J. Dragic and Alexey Drutskoy and Simon I. Eidelman and V. Eiges and Yuji Enari and Ryoji Enomoto and Craig Everton and Fang Fang and Hirofumi Fujii and C. Fukunaga and M Asaki Fukushima and N. I. Gabyshev and Alexey Garmash and Tim Gershon and Ascelin Gordon and Kazuo Gotow and Hulya Guler and R. S. Guo and Junji Haba and H. Hamasaki and Kazunori Hanagaki and Fumi Handa and Kazufumi Hara and T. Hara and Nicholas C. Hastings and Hisaki Hayashii and Masashi Hazumi and E. M. Heenan and Yorihiko Higasino and I. Higuchi and Toshiro Higuchi and T. Hirai and Hidetaka Hirano and T. Hojo and T. Hokuue and Yoichi Hoshi and Kotoyo Hoshina and S. Hou and Wei-Shu Hou and Shih-Chieh Hsu and H. C. Huang and Y. Igarashi and Toru Iijima and Hirokazu Ikeda and Kimimasa Ikeda and Kenji Inami and Akira Ishikawa and Hirokazu Ishino and Ryosuke Itoh and Go Iwai and H. Iwasaki and Yasumasa Iwasaki and David J. Jackson and Pawel Jalocha and H. K. Jang and M Jones and Roman Kagan and Hidekazu Kakuno and J. Kaneko and J. H. Kang and J. Kang and Peter Kapusta and Nobu Katayama and Hideyuki Kawai and Yusuke Kawakami and Naritoshi Kawamura and Toshisuke Kawasaki and Hiromichi Kichimi and D. W. Kim and H O Kim and H. J. Kim and S. K. Kim and T. H. Kim and K Kinoshita and S. Kobayashi and Satoshi Koishi and H. Konishi and Kirill Korotushenko and Pavel Krokovny and Ratnappuli L. Kulasiri and S. Kumar and T. Kuniya and Eiji Kurihara and Alexander Kuzmin and Y. -J. Kwon and J. S. Lange and Gerhard Leder and M. H. Lee and S. H. Lee and Christos Leonidopoulos and Y. S. Lin and D. Liventsev and R-S. Lu and Jane Macnaughton and Daniel R. Marlow and Takahiko Matsubara and S. Matsui and S. Matsumoto and T. Matsumoto and Yoshinari Mikami and Kenzo Misono and Kenkichi Miyabayashi and Hideki Miyake and Hitoshi Miyata and Leonard C. Moffitt and G. R. Moloney and Gareth F. Moorhead and Shigeki Mori and Taiki Mori and Akira Murakami and Takashi Nagamine and Y. Nagasaka and Yorikiyo Nagashima and Takeshi Nakadaira and T. Nakamura and Eiichi Nakano and Mikihiko Nakao and Hideyuki Nakazawa and Jung-Woo Nam and Zbigniew Natkaniec and Kazushi Neichi and Shin'ya Nishida and Osamu Nitoh and Seishi Noguchi and Takayuki Nozaki and Satoru Ogawa and Takayoshi Ohshima and Yasuhiro Ohshima and Toshiki Okabe and Toshio Okazaki and Senji Okuno and Stephen Lars Olsen and H. Ozaki and P. Pakhlov and Henryk Palka and C. S. Park and C. W. Park and H. K. Park and L. S. Peak and Marco Peters and Leo Piilonen and Eric Jon Prebys and J. L. Rodriguez and N. I. Root and Maria Barbara R{\'o}żańska and Krzysztof A. Rybicki and J. Ryuko and Hiroyuki Sagawa and Yoshihide Sakai and H. Sakamoto and Monalisha Satapathy and Asish Satpathy and S. Schrenk and Sergey Semenov and Katsumi Senyo and Y. Settai and M. E. Sevior and Hiroshi Shibuya and Boris A. Shwartz and A V Sidorov and Samo Stani{\vc} and A. Sugi and Akira Sugiyama and Kazutaka Sumisawa and Takayuki Sumiyoshi and Jun-ichi Suzuki and K. Suzuki and S. Suzuki and S. Suzuki and S. k. Swain and Hiroyuki Tajima and T. N. Takahashi and Fumihiko Takasaki and Masatoshi Takita and Kenzo Tamai and Norio Tamura and Junichi Tanaka and M. Tanaka and G. N. Taylor and Y. Teramoto and Makoto Tomoto and Tomonobu Tomura and S. N. Tovey and Karim Trabelsi and Tohru Tsuboyama and Toshifumi Tsukamoto and Shozo Uehara and Kazuma Ueno and Yoshinobu Unno and Shoji Uno and Yutaka Ushiroda and Sven E. Vahsen and Kevin Varvell and C. C. Wang and C. Wang and J. G. Wang and M. Wang and Y. X. Watanabe and Eunil Won and Bruce Yabsley and Y. Yamada and Mika Yamaga and Akira Yamaguchi and H. Yamamoto and Toshio Yamanaka and Yusuke Yamashita and Masanori Yamauchi and S. Yanaka and Jun Yashima and M. Yokoyama and K. Yoshida and Yosuke Yusa and Haruo Yuta and C C Zhang and J. J. Zhang and H. Zhao and Y. Zheng and V. N. Zhilich and Dejan Žontar},
  journal={Physical review letters},
  volume={87 9},
We present a measurement of the standard model CP violation parameter sin2 phi(1) based on a 29.1 fb(-1) data sample collected at the Upsilon(4S) resonance with the Belle detector at the KEKB asymmetric-energy e(+)e(-) collider. One neutral B meson is fully reconstructed as a J/psi K(S), psi(2S)K(S), chi(c1)K(S), eta(c)K(S), J/psi K(L), or J/psi K(*0) decay and the flavor of the accompanying B meson is identified from its decay products. From the asymmetry in the distribution of the time… 

Figures and Tables from this paper

Measurement of the CP asymmetry amplitude sin2beta with B0 mesons.

Results on time-dependent CP asymmetries in neutral B decays to several CP eigenstates are presented and the magnitude of lambda is consistent with unity, in agreement with the standard model expectation of no direct CP violation in these modes.

First observation of CP violation in the decays of B(s)0 mesons.

Using pp collision data corresponding to an integrated luminosity of 1.0 fb(-1) and collected by LHCb in 2011 at a center-of-mass energy of 7 TeV, the measurement of direct CP violation in B(s)(0)→K(-)π(+) decays is reported, with significance exceeding 5 standard deviations.

Measurement of CP Violation in B0→J/ψK{S}^{0} Decays.

Measurements are presented of the CP violation observables S and C in the decays of B(0) and Bover ¯]0 mesons to the J/ψK(S)(0) final state, consistent with the current world averages and with the standard model expectations.

Precision measurement of the CKM parameter sin() with the LHCb experiment

This thesis presents a decay-time dependent measurement of CP violation in the decay of B0 and B0 mesons into their common J/ψK0 S final state. The CP observables Su�/u�u�0S and Cu�/u�u�0S allow

Measurement of CP violation in B 0 → J/ψK 0 S decays

: Measurements are presented of the CP violation observables S and C in the decays of B 0 and B 0 mesons to the J/ψK 0 S final state. The data sample corresponds to an integrated luminosity of 3 . 0

First evidence of direct CP violation in charmless two-body decays of Bs0 mesons.

Using a data sample corresponding to an integrated luminosity of 0.35  fb-1 collected by LHCb in 2011, we report the first evidence of CP violation in the decays of Bs0} mesons to K±π∓ pairs,



DELPHI Collaboration

Inclusive production of two (K ¯ Kπ) 0 states in the mass region 1.22–1.56 GeV in Z decay at LEP I has been observed by the DELPHI Collaboration. The measured masses and widths are 1274±4 and 29±12

Search for lepton-flavor-violating tau-lepton decays to ‘γ at Belle The BELLE collaboration

: Charged lepton flavor violation is forbidden in the Standard Model but pos-sible in several new physics scenarios. In many of these models, the radiative decays τ ± → ‘ ± γ ( ‘ = e, µ ) are

The Belle detector

Phys. Jour. C15

  • Phys. Jour. C15
  • 2000

Phys. Rev. Lett

  • Phys. Rev. Lett
  • 2001

Phys. Jour. C5

  • Phys. Jour. C5
  • 1998


  • Theor. Phys. 49, 652
  • 1973

The measured B lifetimes are t B 0 ෇ 1.547 6 0.021 ps and t B 1 ෇ 1.641 6 0.033 ps (statistical errors only)

  • The measured B lifetimes are t B 0 ෇ 1.547 6 0.021 ps and t B 1 ෇ 1.641 6 0.033 ps (statistical errors only)


  • Rev. D23, 1567 (1981); I.I. Bigi and A.I. Sanda, Nucl. Phys. B193, 85
  • 1981