Observation of B{0}-->ppK*0 with a large K*0 polarization.


Using a 492 fb{-1} data sample collected near the Upsilon(4S) resonance with the Belle detector at the KEKB asymmetric-energy e{+}e{-} collider, we observe the decay B{0}-->ppK*0 with a branching fraction of (1.18{-0.25}{+0.29}(stat)+/-0.11(syst))x10{-6}. We study the decay dynamics of B{0}-->ppK*0 and compare with B{+}-->ppK*+. The K*0 meson is found to be almost 100% polarized (with a fraction of (101+/-13+/-3)% in the helicity zero state), while the K*+ meson has a (32+/-17+/-9)% fraction in the helicity zero state. The direct CP asymmetries for B{0}-->ppK*0 and B{+}-->ppK*+ are measured to be -0.08+/-0.20+/-0.02 and -0.01+/-0.19+/-0.02, respectively. In addition, we report improved measurements of the branching fractions B(B{+}-->ppK*+)=(3.38{-0.60}{+0.73}+/-0.39)x10{-6} and B(B{0}-->ppK{0})=(2.51{-0.29}{+0.35}+/-0.21)x10{-6}, which supersede our previous measurements.

Cite this paper

@article{Chen2008ObservationOB, title={Observation of B\{0\}-->ppK*0 with a large K*0 polarization.}, author={J. Bradely Chen and M Z Wang and Isao Adachi and Hideki Aihara and K. E. Arinstein and Vladimir Aulchenko and Tagir Aushev and A . M . Bakich and Vladislav Balagura and Elisabetta Barberio and Auke Bay and I . V . Bedny and K . S . Belous and Urban Bitenc and A . E . Bondar and Anna Bożek and M. Bracko and Thomas Browder and Mu-Chieh Chang and Yen Cheng Chao and Ahmed . Chen and K F Chen and Wei Ting Chen and Byeong-Geun Cheon and R . Chistov and I H Cho and S . K . Choi and Young Keun Choi and J . Dalseno and Manmohan Dash and A . Drutskoy and Simon I. Eidelman and Bo{\vs}tjan Golob and Hae Chan Ha and Jos{\'e} Haba and Takeshi Hara and Kiyoshi Hayasaka and Hisaki Hayashii and Masashi Hazumi and Dorothy D Heffernan and Yoko Hoshi and W S Hou and Yuwen Hsiung and Hyo Jin Hyun and Katsuaki Inami and Akira Ishikawa and H . Ishino and Ryosuke Itoh and Motoki Iwasaki and Nikhil J. Joshi and Damien Kah and Hiroshi Kaji and Peter Kapusta and Norihiro Katayama and Terukazu Kawasaki and H . Kichimi and H J Kim and S K Kim and Y J Kim and Koji Kinoshita and P . P . Krokovny and Rakesh Kumar and C.-C. Jay Kuo and Y -J Kwon and Jin S. Lee and Ming-Yuan Lee and Seung-Hun Lee and Tadeusz Lesiak and Ji-cheng Li and A . Limosani and Cheng Chih Liu and D. Liventsev and Felix Mandl and A . Matyja and S. McOnie and T. M. Medvedeva and W . A . Mitaroff and Hideaki Miyake and Hiroshi Miyata and Yoichi Miyazaki and Roman Mizuk and Eri Nakano and Minoru Nakao and Hiroyuki Nakazawa and Zbigniew Natkaniec and Shigeki Nishida and Osamu Nitoh and Satoshi Ogawa and Tomoko Ohshima and Shiro Okuno and Sharon L. Olsen and Hiroshi Ozaki and P . Pakhlov and Galina Pakhlova and Henryk Palka and Cheol Whee Park and Hyun Kyu Park and L . S . Peak and R . Pestotnik and L . E . Piilonen and Małgorzata R{\'o}żańska and Haimaprada Sahoo and Yasuyuki Sakai and Olivier Schneider and Katsumi Senyo and Martin E. Sevior and M . M . Shapkin and C. P. Shen and Hitoshi Shibuya and J-G Shiu and Jung Bhadur Singh and Alexandre Somov and Samo Stanic and M. Stari{\vc} and Tomoko Sumiyoshi and Fumiyuki Takasaki and Masashi Tanaka and Glenn N Taylor and Yoshiyuki Teramoto and I. I. Tikhomirov and Kods Trabelsi and Shin-ichi Uehara and Kazumi Ueno and T. Uglov and Yasuhiro Unno and Shigeru Uno and P. Urquijo and Yu . A . Usov and Gary S. Varner and Kim Vervink and Samantha Villa and Alexandra V. Vinokurova and C . C . Wang and C . H . Wang and Philip L Wang and X Wang and Yasuhiro Watanabe and R. Wedd and E. Won and Hiroshi Yamamoto and Y. Yamashita and Cheng Zhang and Zhenjun Zhang and Vladimir Zhulanov and A. Zupanc}, journal={Physical review letters}, year={2008}, volume={100 25}, pages={251801} }