Nystagmus in infancy

  • Harris Shawkat Taylor 4 Casteels


Spontaneous nystagmus in infants may be present at birth but more frequently appears in the first 6 months.' We present a classification in which nystagmus with an onset before 6 months is called early onset nystagmus (EON) and is divided into three categories: sensory defect nystagmus (SDN) in which there is a proven sensory impairment, congenital idiopathic nystagmus (CIN) (sometimes called 'motor nystagmus'2) in which no visual or neurological impairment can be found, and neurological nystagmus (NN) which is associated with neurological disease. Though the distinction between SDN and CIN is made by many authors,36 they are sometimes collectively called congenital nystagmus. The presentation of all types ofnystagmus can be similar, but in infants it is important to differentiate between SDN and CIN because of the different underlying defects, investigation, management, and genetic counselling (Fig 1).


Citations per Year

116 Citations

Semantic Scholar estimates that this publication has 116 citations based on the available data.

See our FAQ for additional information.

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{CasteelsNystagmusII, title={Nystagmus in infancy}, author={Harris Shawkat Taylor 4 Casteels} }