Measurement of the intrinsic electron neutrino component in the T2K neutrino beam with the ND280 detector

  title={Measurement of the intrinsic electron neutrino component in the T2K neutrino beam with the ND280 detector},
  author={T2K collaboration K. Abe and J. Adam and Hidehiko Aihara and Tarek Akiri and Costas Andreopoulos and Seita Aoki and A Ariga and Tomoko Ariga and Shamil Assylbekov and Dario Autiero and Mauricio Barbi and G. J. Barker and Giles Barr and M. Bass and Marcela Batkiewicz and Fan Bay and S. W. Bentham and Vincenzo Berardi and B. E. Berger and S. Berkman and Iain Bertram and Sukalyan Bhadra and F. d. M. Blaszczyk and Alain Blondel and Casey Bojechko and Stefano Bordoni and S. B. Boyd and D. Brailsford and Alessandro Bravar and Christopher Bronner and N. J. Buchanan and R. G. Calland and J. Caravaca Rodr'iguez and S. L. Cartwright and Roberto Juli{\'a}n Del Castillo and M. G. Catanesi and A. Cervera and D. Cherdack and Georgios Christodoulou and Andrew Clifton and James S. Coleman and S. J. Coleman and Gianmaria Collazuol and K. Connolly and L. Cremonesi and Anna Dąbrowska and Ivan Danko and Rituparna Das and Stephen. Davis and P. de Perio and G. De Rosa and T. Dealtry and S. R. Dennis and C. Densham and Francesca Di Lodovico and S. Di Luise and Olivier Drapier and T. Duboyski and K. E. Duffy and Fr{\'e}d{\'e}ric Dufour and Jacques Dumarchez and S. A. Dytman and Michal Dziewiecki and Sandrine Emery and Antonio Ereditato and L. Escudero and A. J. Finch and L. Floetotto and M. Friend and Yasuhiko Fujii and Yohta Fukuda and A. P. Furmanski and V. Galymov and S. G. Giffin and Claudio Giganti and Karin Gilje and D. Goeldi and Tomasz Golan and J. J. G'omez-Cadenas and Michel Gonin and N. Grant and D. Gudin and D. R. Hadley and A. Haesler and M. D. Haigh and Paul Hamilton and D. Hansen and Tatsuyuki Hara and Matthew Hartz and T. Hasegawa and N. C. Hastings and Y. Hayato and Christopher Hearty and R. L. Helmer and M. Hierholzer and Joshua Hignight and A. Hillairet and A. Himmel and Takahiro Hiraki and Seiko Hirota and Jacek Holeczek and S. Horikawa and K. Huang and A. K. Ichikawa and Kazuo Ieki and M. Ieva and Motoyoshi Ikeda and Jonathan Imber and Jonathan Insler and T. J. Irvine and Takao Ishida and Takehiko Ishii and S. J. Ives and E. Iwai and K. Iyogi and A. Izmaylov and Aur{\'e}lie Jacob and B. Jamieson and R. A. Johnson and J. H. Jo and Patrick Jonsson and Chang Kee Jung and Monireh Kabirnezhad and A. C. Kaboth and T. Kajita and Hidekazu Kakuno and Jun Kameda and Yasunori Kanazawa and Douglas Karlen and I. Karpikov and Ed Kearns and Marat Khabibullin and Alexey N. Khotjantsev and Danuta Kiełczewska and Tatsuya Kikawa and A. Kilinski and J. Y. Kim and J. Kisiel and Peter Kitching and Takashi Kobayashi and L.Koch and A. Kolaceke and Akira Konaka and L. L. Kormos and Alexander Korzenev and Kazuki Koseki and Yusuke Koshio and I. Kreslo and W. R. Kropp and Hirotaka Kubo and Yu. G. Kudenko and S. Kumaratunga and Robert Kurjata and T. Kutter and Justyna Lagoda and Karim Laihem and Il Lamont and Marco Laveder and Matthew Lawe and Minerva Lazos and K. P. Lee and Th. Lindner and Callum Lister and R. P. Litchfield and A. Longhin and Lucio Ludovici and M. Macaire and L. Magaletti and K. B. M. Mahn and Marianna Małek and Steven Manly and A. D. Marino and Julien Marteau and J. F. Martin and Takahiro Maruyama and Jolanta Marzec and E. L. Mathie and Viktor Matveev and Konstantinos Mavrokoridis and E. Mazzucato and Mark Mccarthy and N. McCauley and K. S. Mcfarland and Cheryl McGrew and C. J. Metelko and Mauro Mezzetto and Piotr Mijakowski and C. A. Miller and Akihiro Minamino and O. V. Mineev and S. Mine and Andrew D. Missert and Mitiko Miura and Laura Monfregola and Shigetaka Moriyama and Th.A. Mueller and Akira Murakami and M. Murdoch and Simon Murphy and J. Myslik and T. Nagasaki and Takeshi Nakadaira and Masayuki Nakahata and Teruo Nakai and K. G. Nakamura and Shojun Nakayama and T. Nakaya and K. Nakayoshi and Donna Lynne Naples and C. Nielsen and M. Nirkko and K. Nishikawa and Yuri Nishimura and H. M. O’Keeffe and Ryuichi Ohta and Ken-ichi Okumura and Toru Okusawa and W. Oryszczak and S. M. Oser and R. A. Owen and Yoshiki Oyama and V Palladino and Vincent Paolone and D. J. Payne and Oleg Perevozchikov and J. D. Perkin and Y. Petrov and L. Pickard and E. S. Pinzon Guerra and C Pistillo and Piotr Płoński and Elżbieta Popławska and B. A. Popov and M. Posiadała and J-M. Poutissou and R. Larose Poutissou and Paweł Przewłocki and Benjamin Quilain and Emilio Radicioni and P. N. Ratoff and Melody Ravonel and M. A. M. Rayner and Asmita Redij and Maurice Reeves and Erez Reinherz-Aronis and Fabrice Reti{\`e}re and Arnaud Robert and P. A. Rodrigues and P{\'a}ez Rojas and Ewa Rondio and S. Roth and Andr{\'e} Rubbia and D. Ruterbories and Riccardo Sacco and K. Sakashita and Fabio Sanchez and Futami Sato and Enrico Scantamburlo and Kate Scholberg and Stefan Schoppmann and Jackie Schwehr and Mark Scott and Y. Seiya and Takuya Sekiguchi and Hiroyuki Sekiya and Davide Sgalaberna and Masahiro Shiozawa and Simine Short and Y. A. Shustrov and Parvin Sinclair and Brent M. Smith and R. J. E. Smith and M. B. Smy and Jan T. Sobczyk and Henry W. Sobel and Michel Sorel and Luke Southwell and Petros Stamoulis and J. Steinmann and Bastian Still and Yusuke Suda and A. T. Suzuki and Keisuke Suzuki and S. Y. Suzuki and Yu Suzuki and T. Szeglowski and Roman Tacik and Masahiro Tada and Sentaro Takahashi and Atsushi Takeda and Yasuaki Takeuchi and H. K. Tanaka and Hisa Aki Tanaka and M. M. Tanaka and Dennis Terhorst and R. Terri and L. F. Thompson and A. Thorley and Shigeru Tobayama and W. Toki and T. Tomura and Y. Totsuka and C. Touramanis and T. Tsukamoto and M. Tzanov and Yusui Uchida and Kensho Ueno and Antonin Vacheret and M. R. Vagins and Gabriel Vasseur and T. Wachala and A. V. Waldron and C. W. Walter and David Lee Wark and M. O. Wascko and Alfons Weber and Roger Wendell and R. J. Wilkes and M. J. Wilking and Cc Wilkinson and Z. Williamson and J. R. Wilson and R. J. Wilson and T. Wongjirad and Yasusada Yamada and Kazuhiro Yamamoto and Chisato Yanagisawa and S. Yen and Nikolay Yershov and M. Yokoyama and Tianzhong Yuan and Mingjian Yu and Ania Zalewska and J. Zalipska and Luca Zambelli and Krzysztof Zaremba and M. Ziembicki and E. D. Zimmerman and Marco Zito and Jakub Żmuda},
  journal={Physical Review D},
  • T2K collaboration K. Abe, J. Adam, +337 authors Jakub Żmuda
  • Published 2014
  • Physics
  • Physical Review D
  • The T2K experiment has reported the first observation of the appearance of electron neutrinos in a muon neutrino beam. The main and irreducible background to the appearance signal comes from the presence in the neutrino beam of a small intrinsic component of electron neutrinos originating from muon and kaon decays. In T2K, this component is expected to represent 1.2% of the total neutrino flux. A measurement of this component using the near detector (ND280), located 280 m from the target, is… CONTINUE READING


    Publications citing this paper.