Measurement of the Cross Section for High-p T Hadron Production in Scattering of 160 GeV / c Muons off Nucleons

  title={Measurement of the Cross Section for High-p T Hadron Production in Scattering of 160 GeV / c Muons off Nucleons},
  author={C. Adolph and M. G. Alekseev and V. Yu. Alexakhin and Yu. A. Alexandrov and G. D. Alexeev and Andreas Amoroso and V. Andrieux and Alexander Austregesilo and B. Badełek and Francis Balestra and Joachim Barth and Graham Baum and Y. Bedfer and Alejandro Berlin and Jonte Bernhard and Robert L. Bertini and K A Bicker and Jakob Bieling and R. Birsa and Jens Bisplinghoff and Michel Boer and P. Bordalo and Franco Bradamante and Craig R. Braun and Alessandro Bravar and A. Bressan and Michael Buechele and Etienne Burtin and Luigi Capozza and Michela Chiosso and S. U. Chung and Andres Cicuttin and Maria Liz Crespo and Safaa Dalla and Torre and Subhankar Dasgupta and Oleksandr Denisov and S. V. Donskov and Norihiro Doshita and Venicio Duic and Wolfgang D{\"u}nnweber and Michal Dziewiecki and Anatoly Efremov and Cinzia Elia and P. D. Eversheim and Wolfgang Eyrich and Martin Faessler and Andrea Ferrero and A. N. Filin and Michael N Finger and Hanno Fischer and Cano Franco and N. du Fresne von Hohenesche and Jon M. Friedrich and V. E. Frolov and R. Garfagnini and Fabrice Gautheron and O. P. Gavrichtchouk and S. G. Gerassimov and Ralf Geyer and Massimo Giorgi and I. Gnesi and Bojana Gobbo and St. Goertz and S. Grabm{\"u}ller and Alessandro Grasso and B. Grube and R. Gushterski and A. Guskov and T. Guth{\"o}rl and Florian Haas and D. von and Harrach and F. H. Heinsius and Frank Herrmann and Christian Hess and Friedrich Hinterberger and Ch. H{\"o}ppner and Naomi Horikawa and N. d’Hose and Sebastian Huber and Shigeru Ishimoto and Yu. Ivanshin and Takahiro Iwata and Ralf Jahn and V{\'i}tězslav Jar{\'y} and P. Jasinski and Reinoud Joosten and E. Kabuss and Di Kang and Bettina Ketzer and G. V. Khaustov and Yu. A. Khokhlov and Yu. Kisselev and Frank Klein and Kris Klimaszewski and J. H. Koivuniemi and V. N. Kolosov and Kazuo Kondo and K. K{\"o}nigsmann and I. Konorov and V. F. Konstantinov and A. M. Kotzinian and O. M. Kouznetsov and M. Kulesza Kr{\"a}mer and Z. V. Kroumchtein and Na'ama Kuchinski and F. Kunne and Krzysztof Kurek and Robert Kurjata and A. A. Lednev and Ashton Lehmann and Stefano Levorato and J. Lichtenstadt and A{\'i}da Della Maggiora and Audrey Magnon and Nour Makke and Gerhard Mallot and A. P. C. Mann and Claude Marchand and Adam Martin and Jolanta Marzec and Hiroshi Matsuda and Takeshi Matsuda and G. V. Meshcheryakov and Wilfried R Meyer and T. Michigami and Yu. V. Mikhailov and Yasuo Miyachi and Astrid Morreale and Alexander Nagaytsev and Thorsten Nagel and Frank Nerling and Susanne Neubert and Damien Neyret and V. I. Nikolaenko and C. Novakova and J. Novy and W. – D. Nowak and Alessandro S. Nunes and Alexander Olshevsky and Michael Ostrick and Robert Panknin and D. Panzieri and Bakur Parsamyan and Surajit Paul and Milo{\vs} Pe{\vs}ek and G. Piragino and S. Platchkov and Josef Pochodzalla and Jacques Polak and Valery Polyakov and J. Pretz and M{\'a}rio Quaresma and Carlos Quintans and Silvia Ramos and G. Reicherz and Elena Rocco and V. K. Rodionov and Ewa. Rondio and N. S. Rossiyskaya and D. I. Ryabchikov and V. D. Samoylenko and Andrzej Sandacz and Mikhail Sapozhnikov and Suman Sarkar and Ivan Savin and Giulio Sbrizzai and Paolo Schiavon and Christian Schill and Tina Schl{\"u}ter and Annemarie Schmidt and K. Schmidt and H. Schmı̈den and L. Schmitt and Karin Sch{\"o}nning and S. Schopferer and Matthias Schott and Luis Fernando Ferraz da Silva and Lalankumar Sinha and S. Sirtl and M. Slune{\vc}ka and S. Sosio and Federica Sozzi and A. Srnka and L. Christina Steiger and Maxwell Stolarski and Miloslav {\vS}ulc and Robert Sulej and Hiroto Suzuki and Paweł Sznajder and Shunji Takekawa and J. Ter Wolbeek and Stefano Tessaro and Federica Tessarotto and F. Thibaud and Stefan Uhl and Ismail Uman and Mieke Vandenbroucke and M. Virius and Jan Vondra and Lai-Sheng Wang and T. Weisrock and Michael Wilfert and Roland Windmolders and Wojciech Wislicki and H. Wollny and Krzysztof Zaremba and M. V. Zavertyaev and E. Zemlyanichkina and Nikolai Zhuravlev and M. Ziembicki},
The differential cross section for production of charged hadrons with high transverse momenta in scattering of 160 GeV/c muons off nucleons at low photon virtualities has been measured at the COMPASS experiment at CERN. The results, which cover transverse momenta from 1.1 GeV/c to 3.6 GeV/c, are compared to a perturbative Quantum Chromodynamics (pQCD… CONTINUE READING