MATHEMATICS IN FICTION: AN INTERDISCIPLINARY COURSE

@article{Kasman2003MATHEMATICSIF,
  title={MATHEMATICS IN FICTION: AN INTERDISCIPLINARY COURSE},
  author={Alex M Kasman},
  journal={PRIMUS},
  year={2003},
  volume={13},
  pages={1 - 16}
}
ABSTRACT This article describes my experience in creating and teaching a course on mathematics using works of fiction as the primary texts. The goal of the course was to give the students an appreciation for the beauty, power and significance of mathematics. The methods of the course are both summarized and critiqued. 

Mathematics in Literature and Cinema: An Interdisciplinary Course

Abstract We describe our team-taught, interdisciplinary course Numb3rs in Lett3rs & Fi1ms: Mathematics in Literature and Cinema, which explores mathematics in the context of modern literature and

Using Young Adult Literature to Enhance Empathy Skills: Preliminary Findings in BSW Education

This article explores the use of young adult literature as a pedagogical tool for enhancing empathy skills for competent practice in BSW education. Students from two sections of an introductory

Making Human Behavior Theory Real Through the Unreal: Fiction in the HBSE Classroom

This article examines the use of fictional literature as a method for helping students apply human behavior theory in competent practice. When students and educators read a poem, short essay, or

References

SHOWING 1-10 OF 32 REFERENCES

The Gnome and the Pearl of Wisdom: A Fable

(1977). The Gnome and the Pearl of Wisdom: A Fable. Mathematics Magazine: Vol. 50, No. 3, pp. 141-143.

Imaginary numbers : an anthology of marvelous mathematical stories, diversions, poems, and musings

Italo Calvino: The Form of Space. Rudy Rucker: A New Golden Age. Lewis Carroll: A Serpent with Corners (from A Tangled Tale). J. A. Lindon: A Positive Reminder. Raymond Smullyan: How Kazir Won His

A Treatise on Electricity and Magnetism

IN his deservedly celebrated treatise on “Sound,” the late Sir John Herschel felt himself justified in saying, “It is vain to conceal the melancholy truth. We are fast dropping behind. In Mathematics

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture

In the tradition of "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "Einstein's Dreams," a novel about mathematical obsession.Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest

Letter to the Editor

TLDR
In nearly 12 years spent in the Spinal Cord Injury Service of the Veterans Administration in Boston out of a population of about 850 spinal cord injuries, one single similar case in a tetraplegic patient whose self-biting resulted in 'amputation' of the two distal phalanges of all fingers in both hands points at the very low incidence of this particular pathology.

The Mathematical Fiction Homepage at http: //math.cofc.edu/kasman/MATHFICT/default.html

  • 2002

HILBERT'S HOTEL

Division by Zero.

The Sand Reckoner