Linguistic segregation in urban South Africa, 1996

  title={Linguistic segregation in urban South Africa, 1996},
  author={Anthony John Christopher},
Abstract South Africa is a multi-lingual country with 11 official languages and a recent history where language was frequently used as a political instrument, notably in the urban areas. Although the cities were initially colonial foundations, as a consequence of rural–urban migration, the speakers of the various national languages have come into close contact with one another. However, as a result of the inheritance of apartheid town planning and its emphasis on racial zoning, residential… CONTINUE READING


Publications citing this paper.