Limits from the Hubble Space Telescope on a Point Source in SN 1987A


We observed supernova 1987A (SN 1987A) with the Space Telescope Imaging Spectrograph (STIS) on the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) in 1999 September, Department of Astronomy, UCO/Lick Observatory, University of California, Santa Cruz, CA 95064 ( Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, 60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138 Department of Astronomy, University of Virginia, P.O. Box 3818, Charlottesville, VA 22903 Institute for Strings, Cosmology, and Astroparticle Physics, Columbia Astrophysics Laboratory, 550 West 120th Street, Mail Code 5247, New York, NY 10027 Department of Astronomy, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720 Stockholm Observatory, AlbaNova, Department of Astronomy, SE-106 91, Stockholm, Sweden Department of Physics and Astronomy, 225 Nieuwland Science Hall, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556 JILA, University of Colorado, Campus Box 440, Boulder, CO 80309 Space Telescope Science Institute, 3700 San Martin Drive, Baltimore, MD 21218 Carnegie Institution of Washington, Las Campanas Observatory, Casilla 601, Chile Laboratory for Astronomy and Space Physics, Code 681, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD 20771 Current address: Department of Physics, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong Mount Stromlo and Siding Spring Observatories, Private Bag, Weston Creek P.O., ACT 2611, Australia Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory, Casilla 603, La Serena, Chile Institute for Nuclear and Particle Astrophysics, E. O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA 94720 Department of Astronomy, University of Texas, Austin, TX 78712

9 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Graves2005LimitsFT, title={Limits from the Hubble Space Telescope on a Point Source in SN 1987A}, author={Genevieve J. M. Graves and Peter M. Challis and Roger Chevalier and Arlin P . S . Crotts and Alexei V . Filippenko and Claes Fransson and Peter M. Garnavich and Robert P. Kirshner and Weidong Li and Peter Lundqvist and Richard McCray and Nino Panagia and Mark M. Phillips and Chun Shing Jason Pun and Brian P Schmidt and George Sonneborn and Nicholas B . Suntzeff and Lifan Wang}, year={2005} }