Increased Transcription of IL-8 in Endothelial Cells Is Differentially Regulated by TNF-a and Oxidized Phospholipids


Oxidized 1-palmitoyl-2-arachidonoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphorylcholine (Ox-PAPC) upregulates a spectrum of inflammatory cytokines and adhesion molecules different from those induced by classic inflammatory mediators such as tumor necrosis factor-a (TNF-a) or lipopolysaccharide. Interestingly, Ox-PAPC also induces the expression of a set of proteins similar to those induced by TNF-a or lipopolysaccharide, which include the chemokines monocyte chemotactic protein-1 (MCP-1) and interleukin (IL)-8. To elucidate the molecular mechanisms of Ox-PAPC–induced gene expression and to determine whether Ox-PAPC and other inflammatory mediators such as TNF-a utilize common signaling pathways, we examined the transcriptional regulation of IL-8 by Ox-PAPC and TNF-a in human aortic endothelial cells. Both Ox-PAPC and TNF-a induced the expression of IL-8 mRNA in a dose-dependent fashion; however, the kinetics of IL-8 mRNA accumulation between the 2 ligands differed. Ox-PAPC–induced IL-8 mRNA was seen as early as 30 minutes, peaked between 4 and 8 hours, and decreased substantially by 24 hours. In contrast, TNF-a–induced IL-8 mRNA synthesis was elevated at 30 minutes, peaked at 2 hours, and reached basal/undetectable levels by 6 hours. Actinomycin D experiments suggested that both Ox-PAPC and TNF-a regulate the expression of IL-8 at the transcriptional level. Furthermore, the half-life of IL-8 mRNA for both ligands was similar (,30 minutes), suggesting that mRNA stability was not responsible for the differences in the kinetics of IL-8 accumulation between the 2 ligands. Transient transfection studies with reporter constructs containing 1.48 kb of the IL-8 promoter identified an Ox-PAPC–specific response region between 2133 and 21481 bp of the IL-8 promoter. In contrast, TNF-a activation of the IL-8 promoter was mediated almost entirely through the nuclear factor-kB and activation protein-1 response elements present between 270 and 2133 bp of the IL-8 promoter. Thus, although Ox-PAPC and TNF-a both induced IL-8 synthesis, our data suggest that the 2 ligands utilize different mechanisms in the regulation of IL-8 transcription. (Arterioscler Thromb Vasc Biol. 2001;21:1585-1591.) We have previously shown that oxidized 1-palmitoyl-2arachidonoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphorylcholine (OxPAPC), a major bioactive component of minimally modified LDL (MM-LDL), is present in atherosclerotic lesions and other sites of chronic inflammation.1,2 Similar to other inflammatory cytokines such as tumor necrosis factor-a (TNFa), Ox-PAPC activates endothelial cells to enhance monocyte-endothelial interactions partly through the induction of chemokines such as monocyte chemotactic protein-1 (MCP-1) and interleukin (IL)-8.3,4 Interestingly, Ox-PAPC (or MM-LDL) but not TNF-a enhances monocyte-endothelial binding by mediating the activation of b1-integrins, resulting in deposition of the connecting segment-1 domain of fibronectin on the apical surface of endothelial cells.5 On the other hand, TNF-a enhances endothelial-monocyte interactions through the induction of E-selectin and vascular cell adhesion molecule-1, which are not affected by Ox-PAPC.6 Thus, Ox-PAPC and TNF-a utilize both similar and distinct induction patterns of gene expression to initiate endothelialmonocyte interactions. Although the molecular mechanisms of gene induction by TNF-a are well understood, the target receptors, signaling pathways, and molecular mechanisms by which Ox-PAPC (1) initiates functional changes in endothelial cells and (2) enhances endothelial-monocyte interactions

Extracted Key Phrases

6 Figures and Tables


Citations per Year

205 Citations

Semantic Scholar estimates that this publication has 205 citations based on the available data.

See our FAQ for additional information.

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Vora2001IncreasedTO, title={Increased Transcription of IL-8 in Endothelial Cells Is Differentially Regulated by TNF-a and Oxidized Phospholipids}, author={Devendra K. Vora and Judith A. Berliner and Srinivasa T . Reddy and Michael Yeh and Norbert Leitinger and Rainer de Martin and Nobuyuki Onai and Kouji Matsushima}, year={2001} }