Improving e-Science with Interoperability of the e-Infrastructures EGEE and DEISA


In the last couple of years, many e-Science infrastructures have begun to offer production services to eScientists with an increasing number of applications that require access to different kinds of computational resources. Within Europe two rather different multi-national e-Science infrastructures evolved over time namely Distributed European Infrastructure for Supercomputing Applications (DEISA) and Enabling Grids for E-SciencE (EGEE). DEISA provides access to massively parallel systems such as supercomputers that are well suited for scientific applications that require many interactions between their typically high numbers of CPUs. EGEE on the other hand provides access to a world-wide Grid of university clusters and PC pools that are well suited for farming applications that require less or even no interactions between the distributed CPUs. While DEISA uses the HPC-driven Grid technology UNICORE, EGEE is based on the gLite Grid middleware optimized for farming jobs. Both have less adoption of open standards and therefore both systems are technically non-interoperable, which means that no e-Scientist can easily leverage the DEISA and EGEE infrastructure with one suitable client environment for scientific applications. This paper argues that future interoperability of such large e-Science infrastructures is required to improve e-Science in general and to increase the real scientific impact of world-wide Grids in particular. We discuss the interoperability achieved by the OMII-Europe project that fundamentally improved the interoperability between UNICORE and gLite by using open standards. We also outline one specific scientific scenario of the WISDOM initiative that actually benefits from the recently established interoperability.

Extracted Key Phrases

2 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Riedel2008ImprovingEW, title={Improving e-Science with Interoperability of the e-Infrastructures EGEE and DEISA}, author={Morris Riedel and Ahmed Shiraz Memon and M. Shahbaz Memon and Daniel Mallmann and Achim Streit and Felix Wolf and Thomas Lippert and Valerio Venturi and Paolo Andreetto and Moreno Marzolla and Andrea Ferraro and Antonia Ghiselli and Fredrik Hedman and Zeeshan Ali Shah and Jean Salzemann and Ana Oliveira da Costa and Vincent Bloch and Vincent Breton and Vinod Kasam and Martin Hofmann-Apitius and David F. Snelling and Sven van de Berghe and Vivian Li and Steve Brewer and Alistair N. Dunlop and Nishadi De Silva}, year={2008} }