IceTop: The surface component of IceCube

  title={IceTop: The surface component of IceCube},
  author={IceCube collaboration R. Abbasi and Youssao Abdou and Markus Ackermann and Jenni Adams and Juan Antonio Araiza Aguilar and Manfred Ahlers and David Altmann and Karen Andeen and Jan Auffenberg and Xue Jin Bai and M. D. Baker and Steven W. Barwick and Volker Baum and Resurrection Bay and Keith Beattie and James J. Beatty and Sophie Bechet and Julia Becker Tjus and K. H. Becker and Montgomerie Bell and Mohamed Lotfi Benabderrahmane and Segev BenZvi and Jens Berdermann and Patrick Berghaus and David Berley and Elisa Bernardini and David C. Bertrand and David Zeke Besson and Daniel Bindig and Martin Bissok and Erik Blaufuss and Julia von Blumenthal and David J. Boersma and Christoph Bohm and Debanjan Bose and Sebastian Boser and Olga Botner and Lionel Brayeur and Andrew M.S. Brown and Ronald Bruijn and J. David Brunner and Stijn J. Buitink and Karen Salome Caballero-Mora and Michael Carson and Jacqueline F Casey and Martin Casier and Dmitry Chirkin and Berliance Christy and Fabian Clevermann and Shirit Cohen and Doug F. Cowen and Angel H. Cruz Silva and Matthias Danninger and Jacob Daughhetee and James Calvin Davis and Catherine De Clercq and Françoise Descamps and Paolo Desiati and G. de Vries-Uiterweerd and Tyce DeYoung and Juan Carlos D'iaz-V'elez and Jacqueline Dreyer and J. P. Dumm and Matthew Dunkman and Ryan Eagan and Jonathan Eisch and Chelsea Elliott and Rachael Ellsworth and Olle Engdegaard and Sebastian Euler and Paul A. Evenson and Olaoluwa Fadiran and Ali R. Fazely and Anatoli Fedynitch and Jacob Feintzeig and Tom Feusels and Kirill Filimonov and Chad Finley and Tobias Fischer-Wasels and Samuel Flis and Anna Franckowiak and Robert Franke and Kristina Frantzen and Tyler Fuchs and Thomas K. Gaisser and James Gallagher and Lisa Gerhardt and Laura Gladstone and Thorsten Glusenkamp and Alfonso Goldschmidt and Jordan A. Goodman and Dariusz G'ora and Darren Grant and Axel Gross and Sean Grullon and Martin Gurtner and Chen Ha and Alhassan H. Ismail and Allen Hallgren and Francis Halzen and Kenneth O. . Hanson and David Heereman and Philipp Heimann and Dirk Heinen and Klaus Helbing and Robert Eugene Hellauer and Stephanie Hickford and Gary C. Hill and Kara Dion Hoffman and Roland Hoffmann and Andreas Homeier and Kotoyo Hoshina and Warren Huelsnitz and Per Olof Hulth and Klas Hultqvist and S. Hussain and Asahi Ishihara and Emanuel Jacobi and John A. Jacobsen and George S. Japaridze and Ola Jlelati and H. T. Johansson and Andr'e Kappes and Timo Karg and Abrecht Karle and Joanna Kiryluk and Fabian Kislat and Jonsson Klas and S. Klein and Stefan Klepser and J. H. Kohne and Georges Kohnen and Hermann Kolanoski and Luis Fernando Figueiredto Kopke and Christopher Kopper and Sandro Kopper and Dj. Koskinen and Mateusz Kowalski and Mark Krasberg and G{\"o}sta Kroll and Jan Kunnen and Nobuaki Kurahashi and Takao Kuwabara and Mathieu Labare and Karim Laihem and H Samuel Landsman and Michael James Larson and Robert D. Lauer and Mariola Lesiak-Bzdak and Jan Lunemann and Jens Elgaard Madsen and Reina Maruyama and Kenichi Mase and Howard S. Matis and A. E. McDermott and Frank McNally and Kate Meagher and Martin Merck and Peter M'esz'aros and Thomas Meures and Sandra Miarecki and Eike Middell and Natalie Milke and Jonah M. Miller and Lars Mohrmann and Teresa Montaruli and R. V. Morse and Steven M. Movit and Rolf Nahnhauer and Uwe Naumann and Peter Niessen and Sarah C. Nowicki and David Robert Nygren and Anna Obertacke and Sirin Odrowski and A. Borda Olivas and Martino Olivo and Aongus O'Murchadha and Sebastian Panknin and L Zweng Paul and Joshua A. Pepper and C de los Heros and Damian Pieloth and Norbert Pirk and J{\o}rn Posselt and Paul Buford Price and Gerald T. Przybylski and Leif Radel and Katherine Rawlins and P{\'a}l Redl and Elisa Resconi and Wolfgang Rhode and Mathieu Ribordy and Michael Richman and Benedikt Riedel and Jo{\~a}o Paulo Philippi Rodrigues and J. F. W. Roth and Fabian Rothmaier and Carsten Rott and C{\'e}cile Roucelle and Tim Ruhe and Douglas F. Rutledge and Bakhtiyar Ruzybayev and Dirk Ryckbosch and Sabine M. Saba and Tamara Salameh and H. G. Sander and M Margareth Santander and Subir Kumar Sarkar and Kai Schatto and M Scheel and Florian Scheriau and Torsten Schmidt and Marion Schmitz and Sebastian Schoenen and Sebastian Schoneberg and Lea Schonherr and Alison Schonwald and Anne Schukraft and Lothar Schulte and O. J. Schulz and David Seckel and Sung Hyeok Seo and Yolanda Sestayo and Surujhdeo Seunarine and Lester Shulman and Miles Walter Eldon Smith and Michael Soiron and Dennis Soldin and Glenn M. Spiczak and Ch. Spiering and Michael Stamatikos and Todor Stanev and Alexander Stasik and Thorsten Stezelberger and Robert G. Stokstad and A. Stossl and St. Stoyanov and Erik A. Strahler and Richard N. Strom and K-H. Sulanke and Gregory W. Sullivan and Henric Taavola and Ignacio Taboada and Alessio Tamburro and Samvel Ter-Antonyan and Serap Tilav and Patrick A. Toale and Sperantsa Toscano and Marcel Usner and Don van der Drift and Nick van Eijndhoven and Arne Van Overloop and Jakob van Santen and Markus Vehring and Markus Voge and Christian Walck and Tilo Waldenmaier and Marcel Wallraff and Michael Walter and Ryan J. Wasserman and Ch. Weaver and Christoph Wendt and Stephan Westerhoff and Nathan Whitehorn and Klaus Wiebe and Christopher Henrik Viktor Wiebusch and David R Williams and Henrike Wissing and M. Wolf and T. Richard Wood and Kurt Woschnagg and Cheng-dong Xu and Dao Lin Xu and X. W. Xu and Juan Pablo Mart{\'i}nez Y{\'a}{\~n}ez and Gb Yodh and Sho Yoshida and Pavel Zarzhitsky and joerg. ziemann and Andreas Zilles and Marcel Zoll},
IceTop, the surface component of the IceCube Neutrino Observatory at the South Pole, is an air shower array with an area of 1 km2. The detector allows a detailed exploration of the mass composition of primary cosmic rays in the energy range from about 100 TeV to 1 EeV by exploiting the correlation between the shower energy measured in IceTop and the energy deposited by muons in the deep ice. In this paper we report on the technical design, construction and installation, the trigger and data… CONTINUE READING

Similar Papers


Publications citing this paper.

Cryo-Ultrasonic NDE: Ice–Cold Ultrasonic Waves for the Detection of Damage in Complex-Shaped Engineering Components

  • IEEE Transactions on Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control
  • 2018


Publications referenced by this paper.

SPASE calibration paper submitted to NIM

X Bai
  • 2003

GAP note 2002-046

A Tripathi
  • 2002