IceCube sensitivity for low-energy neutrinos from nearby supernovae

  title={IceCube sensitivity for low-energy neutrinos from nearby supernovae},
  author={IceCube collaboration R. Abbasi and Youssao Abdou and Tareq Abu-Zayyad and Markus Ackermann and Jenni Adams and Juan Antonio Araiza Aguilar and Manfred Ahlers and Mary Marsha Allen and David Altmann and Karen Andeen and Jan Auffenberg and Xue Jin Bai and M. D. Baker and Steven W. Barwick and Volker Baum and Resurrection Bay and J. L. Bazo Alba and Keith Beattie and James J. Beatty and Sophie Bechet and Jill K. Becker and K. H. Becker and Mohamed Lotfi Benabderrahmane and Segev BenZvi and Jens Berdermann and Patrick Berghaus and David Berley and Elisa Bernardini and David C. Bertrand and David Zeke Besson and Daniel Bindig and Martin Bissok and Erik Blaufuss and Julia von Blumenthal and David J. Boersma and Christoph Bohm and Debanjan Bose and Sebastian Boser and Olga Botner and Andrew M.S. Brown and Stijn J. Buitink and Karen Salome Caballero-Mora and Michael Carson and Dmitry Chirkin and Berliance Christy and Fabian Clevermann and Shirit Cohen and Claudine Marie Marguerite Colnard and Doug F. Cowen and Angel H. Cruz Silva and Michelangelo Vincent D'Agostino and Matthias Danninger and Jacob Daughhetee and James C. Davis and Catherine De Clercq and Thomas Degner and L. Demirors and Françoise Descamps and Paolo Desiati and G. de Vries-Uiterweerd and Tyce DeYoung and J. C. Diaz-V'elez and Mark Dierckxsens and Jacqueline Dreyer and J. P. Dumm and Matthew Dunkman and Jonathan Eisch and Rachael Ellsworth and Olle Engdegaard and Sebastian Euler and Paul A. Evenson and Olaoluwa Fadiran and Ali R. Fazely and Anatoli Fedynitch and Jacob Feintzeig and Tom Feusels and Kirill Filimonov and Chad Finley and Tobias Fischer-Wasels and Benjamin D. Fox and Anna Franckowiak and Robert Franke and Thomas K. Gaisser and James Gallagher and Lisa Gerhardt and Laura Gladstone and Thorsten Glusenkamp and Alfonso Goldschmidt and Jordan A. Goodman and Dariusz G'ora and Darren Grant and Timo Griesel and Axel Gross and Sean Grullon and Martin Gurtner and Chen Ha and Alhassan H. Ismail and Allen Hallgren and Francis Halzen and Kyongchol Han and Kenneth O. . Hanson and Dirk Heinen and Klaus Helbing and Robert Eugene Hellauer and Stephanie Hickford and Gary C. Hill and Kara Dion Hoffman and Bernd Hoffmann and Andreas Homeier and Kotoyo Hoshina and Warren Huelsnitz and J. P. Hulss and Per Olof Hulth and Klas Hultqvist and S. Hussain and Asahi Ishihara and Eberhard Jakobi and John A. Jacobsen and George S. Japaridze and H. T. Johansson and K. H. Kampert and Andr'e Kappes and Timo Karg and Abrecht Karle and Philip Kenny and Joanna Kiryluk and Fabian Kislat and S. Klein and Henning Kohne and Georges Kohnen and Hermann Kolanoski and Luis Fernando Figueiredto Kopke and Sandro Kopper and Dj. Koskinen and Mateusz Kowalski and Thomas Kowarik and Mark Krasberg and G{\"o}sta Kroll and Nobuaki Kurahashi and Takao Kuwabara and Mathieu Labare and Karim Laihem and H Samuel Landsman and Michael James Larson and Robert D. Lauer and Jan Lunemann and Jens Elgaard Madsen and Angela Rose Marotta and Reina Maruyama and Kenichi Mase and Howard S. Matis and Kate Meagher and Martin Merck and Peter M'esz'aros and Thomas Meures and Sandra Miarecki and Eike Middell and Natalie Milke and Jonah M. Miller and Teresa Montaruli and R. V. Morse and Steven M. Movit and Rolf Nahnhauer and Jin Won Nam and Uwe Naumann and David Robert Nygren and Sirin Odrowski and A. Borda Olivas and Martino Olivo and Aongus O'Murchadha and Sebastian Panknin and L Zweng Paul and C de los Heros and Jovan R. Petrovi{\'c} and Alexander Pi{\'e}gsa and Damian Pieloth and Rodr{\'i}guez Porrata and J{\o}rn Posselt and Paul Buford Price and Gerald T. Przybylski and Katherine Rawlins and P{\'a}l Redl and Elisa Resconi and Wolfgang Rhode and Mathieu Ribordy and A Schmiedt Richard and Michael Richman and Jo{\~a}o Paulo Philippi Rodrigues and Fabian Rothmaier and Carsten Rott and Tim Ruhe and Douglas F. Rutledge and Bakhtiyar Ruzybayev and Dirk Ryckbosch and H. G. Sander and M Margareth Santander and Subir Kumar Sarkar and Kai Schatto and Torsten Schmidt and Alison Schonwald and Anne Schukraft and Lothar Schulte and Anselm Schultes and O. J. Schulz and Matthias Schunck and David Seckel and Benjamin Semburg and Sung Hyeok Seo and Yolanda Sestayo and Surujhdeo Seunarine and Anton Silvestri and Kelvin Singh and Alan Slipak and Glenn M. Spiczak and Ch. Spiering and Michael Stamatikos and Todor Stanev and Thorsten Stezelberger and Robert G. Stokstad and A. Stossl and Erik A. Strahler and Richard N. Strom and Michael Stuer and Gregory W. Sullivan and Quentin Swillens and Henric Taavola and Ignacio Taboada and Alessio Tamburro and A. Sezgin Tepe and Samvel Ter-Antonyan and Serap Tilav and Patrick A. Toale and Sperantsa Toscano and Davide Tosi and Nick van Eijndhoven and Jm. Vandenbroucke and Arne Van Overloop and Jakob van Santen and Markus Vehring and Markus Voge and Christian Walck and Tilo Waldenmaier and Marcel Wallraff and Michael Walter and Ch. Weaver and Christoph Wendt and Stephan Westerhoff and Nathan Whitehorn and Klaus Wiebe and Christopher Henrik Viktor Wiebusch and David R Williams and Reiner Wischnewski and Henrike Wissing and M. Wolf and T. Richard Wood and Kurt Woschnagg and Cheng-dong Xu and Dao Lin Xu and X. W. Xu and Juan Pablo Mart{\'i}nez Y{\'a}{\~n}ez and Gb Yodh and Sh. Yoshida and Pavel Zarzhitsky and Marcel Zoll},
This paper describes the response of the lceCube neutrino telescope located at the geographic South Pole to outbursts of MeV neutrinos from the core collapse of nearby massive stars. IceCube was completed in December 2010 forming a lattice of 5160 photomultiplier tubes that monitor a volume of I km3 in the deep Antarctic ice for particle induced photons. The telescope was designed to detect neutrinos with energies greater than 100 GeY. Owing to subfreezing ice temperatures, the photomultiplier… CONTINUE READING


Publications citing this paper.


Publications referenced by this paper.

A Study of the Sensitivity of the IceCube

A. S. Richard
  • 2008

IceCube Collaboration) 2011, in 32st

V Baum
  • 2011

Simulating the detection of muons and n

G. G. ffelt
  • 2010

IceCube Collaboration) 2009

S Tilav
  • 2009

upernova model data and for helpful discussions

R Abbasi
  • Nucl. Instrum. Meth. A601,
  • 2009

Echtzeit-Suche nach Neutrinoausbrüchen v

T. Feser
  • 2004

Similar Papers

Loading similar papers…