GRS-S Awards Presented at IGARSS'02


THE 2002 IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society’s Awards were presented at two separate forums. The Transactions Prize Paper Award, Symposium Prize Paper Award, and the Interactive Session Prize Paper Award were presented on Sunday, June 23, at the IGARSS reception. The Awards Chairman, Professor Kamal Sarabandi, and the GRS-S Executive Vice President, Charles A. Luther, made the presentations. The conference banquet was held on Thursday, June 28. On this occasion, again with the assistance of GRS-S President, Charles A. Luther, Professor Sarabandi presented the Distinguished Achievement Award, Outstanding Service Award, Education Award, and Student Prize Paper Award. Presentations of the Fellow Award were also made at this event. Professor Sarabandi made these presentations with the assistance of the IEEE 2002 President, Raymond D. Findlay. To promote excellence in research and service, each year, the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society recognizes individuals among its members by bestowing the following IEEE certificates and awards: 1) Distinguished Achievement Award; 2) Outstanding Service Award; 3) Transactions Prize Paper Award; 4) Symposium Prize Paper Award; 5) Interactive Session Prize Paper Award; 6) Education Award; 7) Student Prize Paper Award; 8) Fellow Award; 9) Judith A. Resnik Award. The call for nomination for the Distinguished Achievement Award is published in the GRS-S Newsletter. Nominations can be made by any member to recognize deserving individuals. Usually, the list of candidates comprises five to seven names. The selection is made by GRS-S AdCom members and former recipients of the award. The nominations for the Outstanding Service Award are made by the Awards Committee and by GRS-S AdCom, but suggestions from any member are welcome. The selection for this award is made by GRS-S AdCom members. The starting list for the Transactions Prize Paper Award is compiled by the GRS-S Transactions Editor, based on the recommendations of the associate editors and reviewers. The selection is made by the GRS-S Awards Committee. The two IGARSS prizes, the Symposium Prize Paper Award and the Interactive Session Prize Paper Award, result from the evaluation of the conference session chairpersons. The final selection is made by the GRS-S Awards Committee. The solicitation for the Student Prize Paper Award appears in the

DOI: 10.1109/TGRS.2003.815386

Extracted Key Phrases

Cite this paper

@article{Sarabandi2001GRSSAP, title={GRS-S Awards Presented at IGARSS'02}, author={Kamal Sarabandi and Werner Wiesbeck and R. Keith Raney and Kiyo Tomiyasu and James A. Smith}, journal={IEEE Trans. Geoscience and Remote Sensing}, year={2001}, volume={39}, pages={2326-2331} }