Functional units of the cerebellum - sagittal zones and microzones

  title={Functional units of the cerebellum - sagittal zones and microzones},
  author={O. Oscarsson},
  journal={Trends in Neurosciences},
  • O. Oscarsson
  • Published 1979
  • Psychology
  • Trends in Neurosciences
  • Abstract The functional units of the cerebellar cortex have been identified as sagittal zones with a width of about 1 mm and a length of up to more than 100 mm. These zones can be divided into sagittal microzones with a width of 200 μm or less. The microzones and their efferent relay neurones in the cerebellar nuclei might form the operational units of the cerebellum, corresponding in a sense with the classical cell columns of the cerebral cortex. 
    322 Citations
    Cerebellum: Anatomy and Physiology
    Cerebellar cortical organization: a one-map hypothesis
    • 356
    Lodewijk Bolk and the comparative anatomy of the cerebellum
    • 36