First Observation of the Decays B


We report the first observation of exclusive decays of the type B → DNN̄X, where N is a nucleon. Using a sample of 9.7 × 10 BB̄ pairs collected with the CLEO detector operating at the Cornell Electron Storage Ring, we measure the branching fractions B (B→ D p p̄ π) = (6.5 −1.2 ± 1.0) × 10 −4 and B( B→ D p n̄ ) = (14.5 −3.0 ± 2.7) × 10 . Antineutrons are identified by their annihilation in the CsI electromagnetic calorimeter.

4 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Anderson2000FirstOO, title={First Observation of the Decays B}, author={Susan G Anderson and V. Frolov and Yoji Kubota and S. J. Lee and Rajat Mahapatra and John J. O’Neill and Ron Poling and Tiffany J. Riehle and A. Smith and Christopher J Stepaniak and Jon Urheim and Sheraz Ahmed and M Sayeed Alam and Sania Athar and Lixin Jian and Liming Ling and Mohammad Saleem and S . Timm and Frank Wappler and Anton Anastassov and Jean E. Duboscq and E . A . Eckhart and K . K . Gan and Chul Gwon and Tory Hart and Klaus Honscheid and Dominik Hufnagel and H . P . Kagan and Ron Kass and Todd K. Pedlar and H . Schwarthoff and James Bradley Thayer and E. von Toerne and M . M . Zoeller and S. J. Richichi and Horst Severini and P. Skubic and A . E . Undrus and S. Chen and James E. Fast and J . W . Hinson and J. Lee and D. H. Miller and Edward I. Shibata and I . P . J . Shipsey and Victor Pavlunin and Dan Cronin-Hennessy and Adam L. Lyon and Edward H Thorndike and C . P . Jessop and Helmut Marsiske and Martin L. Perl and Vladimir M Savinov and X. Zhou and Thomas E. Coan and Vitaliy Fadeyev and Yurii Maravin and Lokukaluge P. Perera and Gui Jiang Zhou and Elliot Lipeles and Stephen P. Pappas and Werner M. Sun and Aaron Jacob Weinstein and Frank W{\"{u}rthwein and David E. Jaffe and G . E . Masek and H . P . Paar and E. M. Potter and Soeren Prell and Vikram Sharma and David Asner and A. Eppich and Tony S. Hill and Robert John Morrison and R . A . Briere and Gao Peng Chen and Bernd-Arno Behrens and William T. Ford and Andrei V. Gritsan and Joy Roy and James G. Smith and James P. Alexander and Val{\'e}rie Boisvert and David G. Cassel and Mel Dickson and Persis S . Drell and Karl M. Ecklund and Ricardo Ehrlich and Andrew D. Foland and Peter Gaidarev and Lawrence Gibbons and B . Gittelman and Stacy W. Gray and D. Hartill and Brian K. Heltsley and Pablo I. Hopman and Carl D. Jones and David L. Kreinick and Martin Lohner and Alan Magerkurth and Thomas Meyer and N. B. Mistry}, year={2000} }