Establishment of stable cell lines of Drosophila germ-line stem cells.

  title={Establishment of stable cell lines of Drosophila germ-line stem cells.},
  author={Yuzo Niki and Takafumi Yamaguchi and Anthony P. Mahowald},
  journal={Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America},
  volume={103 44},
Each Drosophila ovariole has three independent sets of stem cells: germ-line stem cells (GSCs) and escort stem cells, located at the anterior tip of the germarium, and somatic stem cells (SSCs), located adjacent to the newly formed 16-cell cysts. Decapentaplegic (Dpp) is required to maintain the anterior stem cells, whereas Hedgehog is required for maintenance and cell division of the SCCs. In an effort to establish a new in vitro system to analyze intrinsic and extrinsic factors regulating the… CONTINUE READING