Elusive Females: The Coexistence of Submissiveness and Subversiveness within Female Characters in "Gerusalemme Liberata"

@inproceedings{Kuo2006ElusiveFT,
  title={Elusive Females: The Coexistence of Submissiveness and Subversiveness within Female Characters in "Gerusalemme Liberata"},
  author={Hsin-Ju Kuo and H. Lu},
  year={2006}
}
Tasso's Gerusalemme Liberata is hailed as an influential masterpiece in the tradition of Dante and Virgil. The most pervasive discussion emphasizes his intention to revive the epic by infusing new materials-elements of romance-into the tradition. For his attempt to fuse two different genres and to please all his readers-both the learned and the common folk, Tasso's Gerusalemme Liberata was strongly criticized by his contemporaries. Thus the inherent ambiguity in this work reveals an unstable… CONTINUE READING