Education in high-performing hospitals: using the Baldrige framework to demonstrate positive outcomes.

  title={Education in high-performing hospitals: using the Baldrige framework to demonstrate positive outcomes.},
  author={Kathryn M. Burke and Sharon Donahue Hellwig},
  journal={Journal of continuing education in nursing},
  volume={42 7},
          299-305; quiz 306-7, 336
Hospital education departments can better align with the strategic direction of the organization, effectively prioritize work processes, and focus on what matters most to the organization when the organization adopts an assessment process known as the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence. This article describes the Baldrige assessment process, a framework of seven criteria based on a set of core values and concepts that encourage organizations to use an integrated systematic… 
1 Citations

Figures from this paper

Pain management topics of interest for nurses in rural Appalachia.
Nurses with at most an associate's degree in nursing/diploma were significantly more interested in pain management education than those with a bachelor of science in nursing or higher degree.


Continuous improvement: the ten essential criteria
This study advocates a planned and integrated approach for achieving continuous improvement in an organisation. A model based on ten essential criteria and supporting elements of “best practice” is
Strategic implications of quality management in health care
Qualitative research was undertaken within one of Australia's largest private health care providers for the purpose of exploring the role that quality management plays in its operations, finding a perceived need continuously to evaluate quality management against objective criteria.
Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence
The internationally acknowledged Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award sets the standard of excellence that helps organisations benchmark world-class quality.
Evaluating Training Programs: The Four Levels
Evaluating Training Programs: the Four Levels is an indispensable tool; a guide for developing a reliable method of evaluation suitable within the business, institutional or organizational context.
Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award application
  • Retrieved from Bronson_Methodist_Hospital_ApplicationSummary.pdf
  • 2005
The Baldrige Model: An integrated and aligned systems approach to performance excellence
  • Journal of Association Leadership. Retrieved from www.asaecenter
  • 2008
Laws of the Fifth Discipline
Pareto’s principle: The 80-20 rule
  • Retrieved from http:// htm
  • 2008
Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award application
  • Retrieved from Application_Summary.pdf
  • 2009