Dynamic distribution of muscle-specific calpain in mice has a key role in physical-stress adaptation and is impaired in muscular dystrophy.


Limb-girdle muscular dystrophy type 2A (LGMD2A) is a genetic disease that is caused by mutations in the calpain 3 gene (CAPN3), which encodes the skeletal muscle-specific calpain, calpain 3 (also known as p94). However, the precise mechanism by which p94 functions in the pathogenesis of this disease remains unclear. Here, using p94 knockin mice (termed herein p94KI mice) in which endogenous p94 was replaced with a proteolytically inactive but structurally intact p94:C129S mutant protein, we have demonstrated that stretch-dependent p94 distribution in sarcomeres plays a crucial role in the pathogenesis of LGMD2A. The p94KI mice developed a progressive muscular dystrophy, which was exacerbated by exercise. The exercise-induced muscle degeneration in p94KI mice was associated with an inefficient redistribution of p94:C129S in stretched sarcomeres. Furthermore, the p94KI mice showed impaired adaptation to physical stress, which was accompanied by compromised upregulation of muscle ankyrin-repeat protein-2 and hsp upon exercise. These findings indicate that the stretch-induced dynamic redistribution of p94 is dependent on its protease activity and essential to protect muscle from degeneration, particularly under conditions of physical stress. Furthermore, our data provide direct evidence that loss of p94 protease activity can result in LGMD2A and molecular insight into how this could occur.

DOI: 10.1172/JCI40658
Citations per Year

153 Citations

Semantic Scholar estimates that this publication has 153 citations based on the available data.

See our FAQ for additional information.

Cite this paper

@article{Ojima2010DynamicDO, title={Dynamic distribution of muscle-specific calpain in mice has a key role in physical-stress adaptation and is impaired in muscular dystrophy.}, author={Koichi Ojima and Yukiko Kawabata and Harumi Nakao and Kazuki Nakao and Naoko Doi and Fujiko Kitamura and Yasuko Ono and Shoji Hata and Hidenori Suzuki and Hiroyuki Kawahara and Julijus Bogomolovas and Christian C. Witt and Coen A. C. Ottenheijm and Siegfried Labeit and Henk L . Granzier and Noriko Toyama-Sorimachi and Michiko Sorimachi and Koichi Suzuki and Tatsuya Maeda and Keiko Abe and Atsu Aiba and Hiroyuki Sorimachi}, journal={The Journal of clinical investigation}, year={2010}, volume={120 8}, pages={2672-83} }