Cosmopolitanism with African roots. Afropolitanism's ambivalent mobilities

@article{Gehrmann2016CosmopolitanismWA,
  title={Cosmopolitanism with African roots. Afropolitanism's ambivalent mobilities},
  author={Susanne Gehrmann},
  journal={Journal of African Cultural Studies},
  year={2016},
  volume={28},
  pages={61 - 72}
}
This paper explores some aspects of the controversy which is now surrounding Afropolitanism, and examines the philosophical and literary output in relation to the concept. Mobility between spaces, in the cosmopolitan tradition, as well as digital mobility and visibility through the use of social media, are considered as key elements of Afropolitanism as a diasporic movement. So Afropolitanism can be described as a form of cosmopolitanism with African roots. However, the commodification of the… 
The Afropolitan Idea: New Perspectives on Cosmopolitanism in African Studies
This essay locates the concept of Afropolitanism, introduced in the mid-2000s by Achille Mbembe and Taiye Selasi, inside a longer historiography on cosmopolitanism in Africa. Used to describe the
Lived Afropolitanism: Beyond the Single Story
Abstract It has been several years since the term “Afropolitanism” was coined and instigated an intense debate in both the offline and online world. Although Afropolitanism is celebrated for
The politics of Afropolitanism
Afropolitanism has evolved over the past 10 years as a rubric for describing transnational African identity. This piece develops a cultural-materialist analysis of that phenomenon as a metropolitan
Afropolitanism as critical consciousness: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's and Teju Cole's internet presence
Critiques of Afropolitanism that dismiss the concept because of its links to consumerism and commodification assume an unchallenging compliance of those considered as Afropolitans with dominant
Cosmopolitanism’s new clothes? The limits of the concept of Afropolitanism
Abstract Despite all the attention it has received, Afropolitanism remains undertheorised. Afropolitanism, inspired by the concept of cosmopolitanism, includes an explicit link to the African
Passersby: The Politics and Poetics of Afropolitanism
PASSERSBY: THE POLITICS AND POETICS OF AFROPOLITANISM In this article, I discuss the notion of Afropolitanism as presented by Taiye Selasi in various articles and in her Ghana Must Go (2013), “an
Minority Cosmopolitanism: Afro-Cosmopolitan Engagement Displayed by African Australians
ABSTRACT Research on cosmopolitan practices and non-white refugee and migrant populations in Western nations often concentrates on how the mainstream ‘host’ culture practise openness and hospitality
Transforming the body, transculturing the city: Nalo Hopkinson’s fantastic Afropolitans
Abstract This article explores the intersections between Afropolitanism and the speculative fiction of Afro-Caribbean Canadian writer Nalo Hopkinson. Interpreting her work under the theories of
Afro-Asian Internationalism: Leftist Solidarities during the Cold War
  • Monica Popescu
  • Art
    PMLA/Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
  • 2021
MONICA POPESCU is associate professor of English and William Dawson Scholar of African Literatures at McGill University. She is the author of At Penpoint: African Literatures, Postcolonial Studies
Afropolitan in their own way? Writing and self-identification in Aminatta Forna and Chika Unigwe
Abstract After Taiye Selasi’s enthusiastic vindication of the term ‘Afropolitan’, discussions of Afropolitanism have been taking place for years with a special focus on the features that qualify a
...
...

References

SHOWING 1-10 OF 43 REFERENCES
Rethinking African culture and identity: the Afropolitan model
Since the end of the Cold War and, in particular, the demise of apartheid in South Africa, there has been a sustained debate about African identity. There seems to be a consensus among scholars of
Negotiating Afropolitanism: essays on Borders and Spaces in Contemporary African Literature and Folklore
Negotiating Afropolitanism brings together scholars in African studies from across the world in order to critically examine the representations, transgressions, disruptions, and/or redrawings of
Cosmopolitanism: Ethics in a World of Strangers
Cosmopolitanism: Ethics in a World of Strangers. By Kwame Anthony Appiah. (New York: W. W. Norton, 2006. Pp. xxii + 196, preface, introduction, acknowledgments, notes, index. $24.95 cloth, $15.95
Literary Cosmopolitanisms in Teju Cole’s Every Day is for the Thief and Open City
Abstract:This paper examines cosmopolitanism in Teju Cole’s Every Day is for the Thief (2007) and Open City (2011). The protagonists of both texts maintain cosmopolitan identities largely by
“I’m not Afropolitan — I’m of the Continent”: A conversation with Yewande Omotoso
Since the end of apartheid, South Africa has become a new home for many immigrants and refugees from all over the African continent. Engaging with this “new season of migration to the South”,1 South
Achille Mbembe. Sortir de la Grande Nuit: Essai sur l'Afrique Décolonisée
The books reviewed in this section explore feminist politics in a global frame. We aim not just to include writings in feminist international relations, but also to feature multi-disciplinary
Flights of Memory: Teju Cole’s Open City and the Limits of Aesthetic Cosmopolitanism
While Teju Cole’s 2011 novel Open City has been received as an exemplary cosmopolitan performance, a careful reading of the novel’s engagement with memories of suffering and of its evocations of
Ghana Must Go
A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This
Teju Cole’s Photographic Afterimages
Abstract Teju Cole’s Open City (2011) directly engages W.G. Sebald’s concerns about the traumatic displacements that arose from the Second World War and its aftermath through his employment of
Cosmopolitanism: Ethics in a World of Strangers
This brilliant, cross-disciplinary work challenges the separatist doctrines which have come to dominate our understanding of the world. Appiah revives the ancient philosophy of Cosmopolitanism, which
...
...