Chemical Basis for Qualitative and Quantitative Differences Between ABO Blood Groups and Subgroups: Implications for Organ Transplantation.


Blood group ABH(O) carbohydrate antigens are carried by precursor structures denoted type I-IV chains, creating unique antigen epitopes that may differ in expression between circulating erythrocytes and vascular endothelial cells. Characterization of such differences is invaluable in many clinical settings including transplantation. Monoclonal antibodies were generated and epitope specificities were characterized against chemically synthesized type I-IV ABH and related glycans. Antigen expression was detected on endomyocardial biopsies (n = 50) and spleen (n = 11) by immunohistochemical staining and on erythrocytes by flow cytometry. On vascular endothelial cells of heart and spleen, only type II-based ABH antigens were expressed; type III/IV structures were not detected. Type II-based ABH were expressed on erythrocytes of all blood groups. Group A1 and A2 erythrocytes additionally expressed type III/IV precursors, whereas group B and O erythrocytes did not. Intensity of A/B antigen expression differed among group A1 , A2 , A1 B, A2 B and B erythrocytes. On group A2 erythrocytes, type III H structures were largely un-glycosylated with the terminal "A" sugar α-GalNAc. Together, these studies define qualitative and quantitative differences in ABH antigen expression between erythrocytes and vascular tissues. These expression profiles have important implications that must be considered in clinical settings of ABO-incompatible transplantation when interpreting anti-ABO antibodies measured by hemagglutination assays with reagent erythrocytes.

DOI: 10.1111/ajt.13328

Cite this paper

@article{Jeyakanthan2015ChemicalBF, title={Chemical Basis for Qualitative and Quantitative Differences Between ABO Blood Groups and Subgroups: Implications for Organ Transplantation.}, author={Mylvaganam Jeyakanthan and Kesheng S Tao and L P Zou and Peter J Meloncelli and Todd L Lowary and Kazuo Suzuki and Deirdre Boland and I. Marheim Larsen and Michael Burch and Natacha Shaw and Kimberly D Beddows and Linda J. Addonizio and Warren A Zuckerman and Bahman Afzali and D . H . Kim and Michael J Mengel and A M James Shapiro and Lori J. West}, journal={American journal of transplantation : official journal of the American Society of Transplantation and the American Society of Transplant Surgeons}, year={2015}, volume={15 10}, pages={2602-15} }