Charged Particle Multiplicity in Three-Jet Events and Two-Gluon Systems

  title={Charged Particle Multiplicity in Three-Jet Events and Two-Gluon Systems},
  author={Jalal Abdallah and Paulo Giovanni de Abreu and Waldemar Adam and P R Adzi{\'c} and Torsten Albrecht and T. Alderweireld and R. Alemany-Fernandez and Thomas Allmendinger and P. P. Allport and U. Amaldi and N. Amapane and S. Amato and Edward Anashkin and Attilio Andreazza and Sofia Andringa and Nuno Anjos and Pierre Antilogus and W-D. Apel and Y. Arnoud and S. Ask and B. {\AA}sman and J-E. Augustin and A. Augustinus and P. H. Baillon and Alessandro Ballestrero and Philip Bambade and R{\'e}mi Barbier and D. Yu. Bardin and Gareth J. Barker and Antonio Baroncelli and Marco Battaglia and M{\'e}lanie Baubillier and K-H. Becks and M{\'a}rcia Begalli and Abraham S Behrmann and Eli Ben-Haim and Nektarios Chr. Benekos and A. C. Benvenuti and Corinne B{\'e}rat and Mikael Berggren and Lotta Berntzon and D. Bertrand and Marc Besançon and Nathalie. Besson and Debbie Bloch and Marloes Blom and Michal Bluj and M. Bonesini and M. Boonekamp and P. S. L. Booth and Galin Borisov and Olga Botner and Benjamin Bouquet and T. Bowcock and I V Boyko and M. Bracko and Ruth A. Brenner and Eyal Brodet and P. Bruckman and J-M. Brunet and Peter Buschmann and Marta Calvi and T. Camporesi and Vincenzo Canale and Franco Carena and Natascha Castro and Francesco Cavallo and M. Chapkin and P. Charpentier and Paolo Checchia and Roberto Chierici and P. V. Chliapnikov and Jan Chudoba and S. U. Chung and Krzysztof Cieślik and Pat Collins and Rachele Contri and G. Cosme and Fabio Cossutti and Maria Jo{\~a}o Costa and D. Crennell and J Daniel Cuevas and Jorgen D’Hondt and Joseba Dalmau and Thamy da Silva and William D. A. B. da Silva and G. Della Ricca and Alessandro De Angelis and Wim de Boer and Charles De Clercq and Barbara De Lotto and Nicola de Maria and A. De Min and L. de Paula and L. Di Ciaccio and Alessio Di Simone and K. Doroba and Judith Drees and Gerald Eigen and Tord Ekelof and Mattias Ellert and Markus Elsing and Maria Esp{\'i}rito Santo and Galinos Fanourakis and Dimitris Fassouliotis and Michael Feindt and Julio Fern{\'a}ndez and A. Ferrer and Fleur M. Ferro and U. Flagmeyer and H. Foeth and Emmanuel Fokitis and F. Fulda-Quenzer and Joan Fuster and Miriam Gandelman and C Peteiro Garc{\'i}a and Ph. Gavillet and E. N. Gazis and Ryszard Gokieli and Bo{\vs}tjan Golob and Guillelmo G{\'o}mez-Ceballos and Patrı́cia Gonçalves and Elda Graziani and Gilbert Grosdidier and Karolina Grzelak and Julien Guy and Christoph Haag and Anita Hallgren and Klaus Hamacher and Kevin Hamilton and Stephan Haug and F. Hauler and Vincent Hedberg and Michael Hennecke and Hugh Herr and John Hoffman and S. L. Holmgren and Philip J Holt and M. A. Houlden and Klas Hultqvist and James N. Jackson and G. Jarlskog and Philippe Jarry and Daniel Jeans and Eva K Johansson and P. D. Johansson and Per O. Jonsson and Christian Joram and L. Jungermann and F. Kapusta and S. Katsanevas and E. C. Katsoufis and Borut Paul Kersevan and Ulrich Kerzel and Bryant T. King and Nanna Kjaer and Peter M. Kluit and P. Kokkinias and C. Kourkoumelis and O. M. Kouznetsov and Z. Krumstein and Mateusz Kucharczyk and Justin Lamsa and G. Klein F. Leder and F. Ledroit and Lasse Leinonen and R. Leitner and J. Lemonne and Vincent Lepeltier and Tadeusz Lesiak and Wolfgang Liebig and Dietri h Liko and Anna Lipniacka and Jorge Lopes and Jos{\'e} M. L{\'o}pez and Dimitris Loukas and Power Lutz and L. Lyons and J Macnaughton and Alimohammad Malek and Stefanos Maltezos and Felix Mandl and J. B. Marco and R. Marco and Bilkis Marechal and Martino Margoni and J-C. Marin and Christian Mariotti and Athanasios Markou and C. Mart{\'i}nez-Rivero and Jozef M{\'a}{\vs}ik and Nikilaos P Mastroyiannopoulos and F. del Pinal Matorras and Clara Matteuzzi and Federica Mazzucato and Monica Mazzucato and R. Mc Nulty and Claudia Meroni and Enrica Migliore and Winfried A. Mitaroff and U. Mjoernmark and T. Moa and Marcin Moch and K. M{\"o}nig and Rosa Monge and J. Montenegro and D. Moraes and Sergio F. G{\'o}ngora y Moreno and Paolo Morettini and Ulrich Mueller and Kirsten M{\"u}nich and Martijn Mulders and Leandro Resende Mundim and William J. Murray and B. Muryn and Glenn Myatt and T. Myklebust and M. Nassiakou and Francesco L. Navarria and Krzysztof Nawrocki and Rosy Nicolaidou and Maxim N. Nikolenko and A. Oblakowska-Mucha and V. A. Obraztsov and A. G. Olshevski and Ant{\'o}nio Onofre and Risto Orava and Kris L Osterberg and A. Ouraou and Arantza Oyanguren and Marco Paganoni and Simona Paiano and Juan P. Palacios and Henryk Palka and Th. D. Papadopoulou and Luc Pape and Chris Parkes and Fabrizio Parodi and Ulrich Parzefall and A C Passeri and Oliver Passon and Lu{\'i}s Peralta and Victoria Perepelitsa and Andrea Perrotta and A. Petrolini and J{\'o}natan Piedra and Lidia Pieri and F. M. Pierre and M{\'a}rio Pimenta and Elena Piotto and T. Podobnik and Vincent Poireau and Manisha Pol and G. Polok and V V Pozdniakov and Nelli Pukhaeva and A Pullia and J. R. Rames and Alexander L. Read and Paolo Rebecchi and Jorge Rehn and Dariya Reid and R. Todd Reinhardt and Peter B. Renton and F. Arduini Richard and Jan Ridky and Matias I. Rivero and David Mar{\'o}n Rodr{\'i}guez and A Delgado Romero and P. Ronchese and Patrick Roudeau and T. Rovelli and Vanina Ruhlmann-Kleider and D. Ryabtchikov and A. B. Sadovsky and Laura Kristiina Salmi and Jos{\'e} Salt and Christian Sander and Aurore Savoy-Navarro and Ulrich Schwickerath and Andrea Segar and R. Sekulin and Martin Siebel and A. N. Sisakian and G{\'e}rard Smadja and Oxana Smirnova and Alexei Sokolov and Andr{\'e} Sopczak and Ron Sosnowski and Tony Spassov and Marcel Stanitzki and Achille Stocchi and Judith Strau\ss and Bjarne Stugu and M. Szczekowski and M. Szeptycka and Tomasz Szumlak and T. Tabarelli and Anyes Taffard and Fredrik Tegenfeldt and Jean-Pierre Timmermans and L. G. Tkatchev and Mark Tobin and S. Todorovova and Basheer Tome and A. Tonazzo and Pablo Tortosa and Petr Tr{\'a}vn{\'i}{\vc}ek and D. Treille and G. Tristram and Marcin Trochimczuk and C. Troncon and M-L. Turluer and I. A. Tyapkin and P. Tyapkin and Sp. Tzamarias and Vladimir Uvarov and Giovanni. Valenti and P Sytze van Dam and Jan van Eldik and Nick Van Remortel and I. Van Vulpen and G. Vegni and Francisco Veloso and W. Venus and P. Verdier and V. Verzi and David Vilanova and Lorenzo Vitale and Vaclav Vrba and Herje W{\aa}hlen and A. J. Washbrook and Christian Weiser and Daniel Wicke and Jeff Wickens},
The charged particle multiplicity in hadronic three-jet events from Z decays is investigated. The topology dependence of the event multiplicity is found to be well described by a modified leading logarithmic prediction. A parameter fit of the prediction to the data yields a measurement of the colour factor ratio C A /C F with the result C A /C F = 2.261 ± 0.014 stat. ± 0.036 exp. ± 0.066 theo. in agreement with the SU(3) expectation of QCD. The quark-related contribution to the event… CONTINUE READING