Boundary formation and compartition in the avian diencephalon.

The diencephalon comprises three functionally distinct regions: synencephalon, dorsal thalamus, and ventral thalamus. Patterning of the diencephalon has been proposed to involve subdivision of its anteroposterior axis into segments, neuromeres or prosomeres (Bergquist and Kallen, 1954; Vaage, 1969; Figdor and Stern, 1993; Rubenstein et al., 1994; Redies et… CONTINUE READING