Beam test evaluation of electromagnetic calorimeter modules made from proton-damaged PbWO4 crystals

  title={Beam test evaluation of electromagnetic calorimeter modules made from proton-damaged PbWO4 crystals},
  author={Todd A. Adams and Franciole Da Cunha Marinho and Sudha Ahuja and Dean M. Anderson and Michael Benjamin Andrews and Florian Michael Pitters and Pedro M Ribeiro Cipriano and Rosario Arcidiacono and Michael Wayne Arenton and Stefano Argiro and Caterina Vernieri and Riccardo Andrea Manzoni and G. Hamel de Monchenault and Stefania Baccaro and St{\'e}phanie Baffioni and Dorian Bailleux and E. J. Tonelli Manganote and David Barney and An. Zalite and Alessandra Bartoloni and Manfred Jeitler and Emilia Becheva and Samuel Louis Bein and Camilla Cruz da Silva and Kenneth Watson Bell and Andrea Davide Benaglia and Josh Bendavid and Derek S. Berry and Manon Besançon and Yu. Galaktionov and Wieslaw Bialas and L P Carlos Bianchini and R. Arcidiacono and Joao Rodrigues Antunes and Adolf Bornheim and Luca Brianza and Andrew J Brinkerhoff and Ruth M. Brown and A. J. Brummitt and Philippe Busson and Vieri Candelise and Camilo Andr{\'e}s Carrillo Montoya and Nicol{\`o} Cartiglia and Francesca Cavallari and Young Wook Chang and Elizabeth Starling and G. Chevenier and R{\'e}mi Chipaux and Eric Cl{\'e}ment and D. J. A. Cockerill and Louie D. Corpe and François Couderc and M. A. Segura Delgado and Benjamin T. Cox and Giacomo Cucciati and David Cussans and Giulia D'imperio and Diogo Di Calafiori and Ioan Dafinei and Jerome Daguin and Giorgos Daskalakis and Andre David Tinoco Mendes and François De Guio and Amy Degano and Marc Dejardin and Deanna Del Re and Giuseppe Della Ricca and Carlos Felipe Gonz{\'a}lez Hern{\'a}ndez and Predrag Milenovic and N. Prabhu Dev and D. Deyrail and Emanuele Di Marco and Bill Diamond and Marcella Diemoz and G{\"u}nther Dissertori and Mary Lynne Dittmar and Lubomir Djambazov and T. N. H. Doan and L{\'e}onard Dobrzynski and Andrey V Dolgopolov and Matteo Doneg{\'a} and Carley De Oliveira Martins and Melanie Dr{\"o}ge and T. H. Durkin and Dipanwita Dutta and Hajar El Mamouni and C. Eklund and E. Elmalis and Patricia Rebello Teles and Giuseppe Fasanella and Matthieu Marionneau and Joe Fay and Alexei Fedorov and Federico Ferri and Brian Francis and Naets Frank and Giovanni Franzoni and Werner Funk and Gautier Hamel de Monchenault and St{\'e}phanie Gasc{\'o}n and Martin Gastal and Yannick Geerebaert and Simone Gelli and Raffaele Angelo Gerosa and Alessio Ghezzi and Viktoria Athina Giakoumopoulou and Andreas Pfeiffer and Nikola Godinovi{\'c} and Neil Goeckner-Wald and N P Golubev and Pietro Govoni and Ioannis Papadopoulos and Fabrice Guilloux and Camille Haller and Gautier Hamel De Monchenault and Mikael Sonne Hansen and Paul W. Hansen and Joshua Robert Hardenbrook and C. F. Gonz{\'a}lez Hern{\'a}ndez and Joachim Hill and Pr Hobson and Oliver Holme and Ayato Honma and E. Prencipe and Rocio Vilar Cortabitarte and Konstantinos Vellidis and Sw. Banerjee and Quentin Ingram and Sa. Jain and Patrick Jarry and Colin P. Jessop and Dusan Jovanovic and Prasanna Siddireddy and Sean Kalafut and Ke-kong Kao and Nathan M. Kellams and Stilianos Isaak Kesisoglou and Ajeeta Khatiwada and Anatoly Konoplyannikov and Dmitri Konstantinov and Mikhail Korzhik and Martin Kov{\'a}c and Yuzuru Kubota and Ashwani Kumar and Chia-Ming Kuo and Paul Kyberd and Aristotelis Kyriakis and Gennadij V Latyshev and Paul Lecoq and Alexander Andreevich Ledovskoy and Ya Jie Lei and A. A. Ocampo Rios and Imad Baptiste Laktineh and Haifeng Li and J. P. Martin and Yueh-Feng Liu and Pierluigi Paolucci and Th. D. Papadopoulou and V. Blobel and Marco Toliman Lucchini and Werner Lustermann and Catherine Kirsty Mackay and Fr{\'e}d{\'e}ric Magniette and Juan Manuel Grados Luyando and Shivali Malhotra and Irakli Mandjavidze and Yurii Y. Maravin and Fabrizio Margaroli and Nancy Marinelli and Gagan Bihari Mohanty and Badder Marzocchi and Andrea Massironi and Abhigyan Dasgupta and Vitaly Mechinsky and Fanbo Meng and Paolo Meridiani and Francesco Micheli and Jelena S Milo{\vs}evi{\'c} and Alexander Titterton and Pasquale Musella and Francesco Pandolfi and Chris Neu and Harvey B. Newman and Christiana Nicolaou and Shervin Nourbakhsh and Maria Margherita Obertino and Giovanni Organtini and Toyoko Jennifer Orimoto and Maria Florencia Canelli and Efstathios Paganis and M. Paganoni and Gian Luca Pinna Angioni and Vili Panov and Riccardo Paramatti and Paulo Parracho and Nadia Pastrone and Michael Paulini and Francesco Lacava and Kristof Pauwels and Fabio Pellegrino and Cristian Fernando Vald{\'e}s Pe{\~n}a and Luca Perni{\`e} and Michele Raffaelli Andrea Peruzzi and Eftychia Petrakou and David A. Petyt and Simone Pigazzini and J. Kapustinsky and Michael Planer and Roko Ple{\vs}tina and Drazen Polic and Harrison Prosper and M. Correa Martins Junior and Ivica Puljak and Milena Eleonore Quittnat and Stefano Ragazzi and Shahram Rahatlou and Christian Schnaible and K. Vijay Ranjan and Jacim{\'a}rio R. da Silva and Thierry Romanteau and Lucia Silvestris and M. Van De Klundert and Rodger Rusack and Roberto Salerno and Francesco Santanastasio and Arka Santra and Myriam Schoenenberger and Christopher Seez and Varshali Sharma and Colin Bernet and J. G. Shiu and Ram Krishen Shivpuri and Alexandre A.V. Singovsky and Tutanon Sinthuprasith and Yannick Sirois and Nikola Smiljkovic and Livia Soffi and Menglei Sun and P. Symonds and Tomasso Tabarelli de Fatis and Nisarg Mahesh Tambe and I B Tarasov and Silvia Taroni and Roberto Teixeira Lima and Alessandro Thea and Konstantinos A. Theofilatos and Floris Thiant and Maksim Titov and Martin Torbet and Pier Paolo Trapani and Peppino Tropea and Jui-fa Tsai and Andromachi Tsirou and Joel A. Turkewitz and Nik. A. Tyurin and Yeng-ming Tzeng and Andrey Uzunian and Nil Valls and Jo{\~a}o Varela and Venkatesh Veeraraghavan and Piero Giorgio Verdini and Paschalis Vichoudis and Evgueni Vlassov and Jianxin. Wang and Ta-Wei Wang and Martin Weinberg and Antonio Mar{\'i}a P{\'e}rez-Calero Yzquierdo and James L. Wood and Stefano Lacaprara and Sema Zahid and Serguei Zelepoukine and Amina Zghiche and Luoning Zhang and Kuanliang Zhu and Marco Meschini and S. De Pasquale},
The performance of electromagnetic calorimeter modules made of proton-irradiated PbWO_4 crystals has been studied in beam tests. The modules, similar to those used in the Endcaps of the CMS electromagnetic calorimeter (ECAL), were formed from 5×5 matrices of PbWO_4 crystals, which had previously been exposed to 24 GeV protons up to integrated fluences between 2.1× 10^(13) and 1.3× 10^(14) cm^(−2). These correspond to the predicted charged-hadron fluences in the ECAL Endcaps at pseudorapidity… CONTINUE READING