Banff 07 classification of renal allograft pathology: updates and future directions.


The 9th Banff Conference on Allograft Pathology was held in La Coruna, Spain on June 23-29, 2007. A total of 235 pathologists, clinicians and scientists met to address unsolved issues in transplantation and adapt the Banff schema for renal allograft rejection in response to emerging data and technologies. The outcome of the consensus discussions on renal pathology is provided in this article. Major updates from the 2007 Banff Conference were: inclusion of peritubular capillaritis grading, C4d scoring, interpretation of C4d deposition without morphological evidence of active rejection, application of the Banff criteria to zero-time and protocol biopsies and introduction of a new scoring for total interstitial inflammation (ti-score). In addition, emerging research data led to the establishment of collaborative working groups addressing issues like isolated 'v' lesion and incorporation of omics-technologies, paving the way for future combination of graft biopsy and molecular parameters within the Banff process.

DOI: 10.1111/j.1600-6143.2008.02159.x

5 Figures and Tables

Citations per Year

12,698 Citations

Semantic Scholar estimates that this publication has 12,698 citations based on the available data.

See our FAQ for additional information.

Cite this paper

@article{Solez2008Banff0C, title={Banff 07 classification of renal allograft pathology: updates and future directions.}, author={Kim Solez and Rober B Colvin and Lorraine C. Racusen and Mark Haas and Banu Sis and Michael J Mengel and Philip Halloran and W. Clifton Baldwin and Giovanni Banfi and Adam B. Collins and Fernando C Cosio and Da{\'i}sa Silva Ribeiro David and Cinthia B. Drachenberg and Gunilla Einecke and Agnes B . Fogo and Ian W. Gibson and Denis Glotz and Samy S. Iskandar and Edward S. Kraus and Evelyne Lerut and Roslyn B. Mannon and Michael J{\"{o}rg Mihatsch and Brian John Nankivell and Volker Nickeleit and John C. Papadimitriou and Parmjeet Singh Randhawa and Heinz M Regele and Karine Renaudin and Ian S. D. Roberts and Daniel Ser{\'o}n and R-N Smith and Marialuisa Valente}, journal={American journal of transplantation : official journal of the American Society of Transplantation and the American Society of Transplant Surgeons}, year={2008}, volume={8 4}, pages={753-60} }