Assembly of high-areal-density deuterium-tritium fuel from indirectly driven cryogenic implosions.

  title={Assembly of high-areal-density deuterium-tritium fuel from indirectly driven cryogenic implosions.},
  author={A. J. Mackinnon and J. L. Kline and Shamasundar N Dixit and S. H. Glenzer and Michael J Edwards and Debra A Callahan and Nathan B. Meezan and Steven W Haan and Joseph D Kilkenny and Tilo D{\"o}ppner and Dennis Farley and John D Moody and Joseph E Ralph and B J Macgowan and Otto L. Landen and Harry F Robey and Thibault Boehly and Peter M Celliers and Jon H Eggert and Klaus Krauter and G. Frieders and G. F. Ross and Damien G. Hicks and Richard E Olson and Stephen V Weber and Brian K. Spears and J D Salmonsen and Pierre Michel and L. Divol and Bruce A Hammel and C A Thomas and Daniel Seth Clark and Ogden S. Jones and Paul T. Springer and Charles J Cerjan and Gilbert W Collins and V. Yu. Glebov and James P Knauer and Craig Sangster and Christian Stoeckl and P. Mckenty and James M McNaney and Ramon J Leeper and Carlos L Ruiz and Gary W Cooper and Antoinette G. Nelson and G. A. Chandler and K. D. Hahn and Michael J Moran and M B Schneider and Neil E Palmer and Richard M Bionta and Edward P. Hartouni and S. LePape and Pravesh K Patel and Nobuhiko Izumi and Riccardo Tommasini and Essex J. Bond and Joseph A. Caggiano and R. Hatarik and Gary P Grim and Frank E Merrill and David N. Fittinghoff and Nevzat Guler and O. B. Drury and D. C. Wilson and Hans Werner Herrmann and Wolfgang Stoeffl and Daniel T Casey and Maria Gatu Johnson and Johan A. Frenje and Richard D. Petrasso and A Zylestra and H G Rinderknecht and Daniel H Kalantar and John M. Dzenitis and Pardo Nicola and David C. Eder and W H Courdin and G Gururangan and Simone Burkhart and St Friedrich and D L Blueuel and Lee A. Bernstein and M. J. Eckart and David H Munro and Stephen P Hatchett and Andrew MacPhee and D. H. Edgell and David K. Bradley and Perry M. Bell and Steven M. Glenn and N. Simanovskaia and Manuel A. Barrios and Roberta B R Benedetti and G. A. Kyrala and R. P. J. Town and E. L. Dewald and Jose L. Milovich and Klaus Widmann and Alastair Moore and Greg LaCaille and Sean P. Regan and Larry J Suter and B. Felker and R C Ashabranner and Mel C. Jackson and Rajendra Prasad and Michael J Richardson and Thomas R Kohut and Philip Datte and Geotz Krauter and J J Klingman and Ronald F. Burr and Terry A. Land and M. R. Hermann and D A Latray and Randi L Saunders and Stanton E. Weaver and Sarah J. Cohen and Lisa G. Berzins and Stefan Brass and Ernani Sales Palma and Roger Lowe-Webb and G N McHalle and Phillip A. Arnold and L. J. Lagin and Christopher D. Marshall and Ginny Brunton and David G. Mathisen and Richard D. Wood and Jonathan R. Cox and Ryan Ehrlich and Kathleen Knittel and Mark W. Bowers and R. A. Zacharias and B. K. Young and Justin P Holder and John Kimbrough and Tammy Ma and K N La Fortune and C. Clay Widmayer and Michael J. Shaw and Goetz Erbert and Ken Jancaitis and J M DiNicola and C D Orth and Glenn M Heestand and Robert Kirkwood and Chris Haynam and Paul J. Wegner and Pamela K Whitman and Adil Hamza and Elizabeth G Dzenitis and Ryan J. Wallace and Satej Bhandarkar and T. Parham and Rebecca Dylla-Spears and Evan Mapoles and Bernard J Kozioziemski and J. Sater and C. Ferrier Walters and B. J. Haid and James E Fair and Abbas Nikroo and Eduardo Gir{\'a}ldez and Kim Moreno and B Vanwonterghem and R. L. Kauffman and Suresh Batha and Douglas W. Larson and R. J. Fortner and D. H. Schneider and John D. Lindl and Russell W. Patterson and Lawrence Atherton and Edward I. Moses},
  journal={Physical review letters},
  volume={108 21},
The National Ignition Facility has been used to compress deuterium-tritium to an average areal density of ~1.0±0.1 g cm(-2), which is 67% of the ignition requirement. These conditions were obtained using 192 laser beams with total energy of 1-1.6 MJ and peak power up to 420 TW to create a hohlraum drive with a shaped power profile, peaking at a soft x-ray radiation temperature of 275-300 eV. This pulse delivered a series of shocks that compressed a capsule containing cryogenic deuterium-tritium… CONTINUE READING