Assembly of CNS Myelin in the Absence of Proteolipid Protein


Two proteolipid proteins, PLP and DM20, are the major membrane components of central nervous system (CNS) myelin. Mutations of the X-linked PLP/DM20 gene cause dysmyelination in mouse and man and result in significant mortality. Here we show that mutant mice that lack expression of a targeted PLP gene fail to exhibit the known dysmyelinated phenotype… (More)
DOI: 10.1016/S0896-6273(01)80046-5


6 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@article{Klugmann1997AssemblyOC, title={Assembly of CNS Myelin in the Absence of Proteolipid Protein}, author={Matthias Klugmann and Markus Schwab and Anja P{\"u}hlhofer and Armin Schneider and Frank Zimmermann and Ian Griffiths and Klaus-Armin Nave}, journal={Neuron}, year={1997}, volume={18}, pages={59-70} }