Algebraic Collisions

@article{Hyslop2014AlgebraicC,
  title={Algebraic Collisions},
  author={Scott J. Hyslop},
  journal={Foundations of Science},
  year={2014},
  volume={19},
  pages={35-51}
}
Algebraic equations in the tradition of Descartes and Frans Van Schooten accompany Christiaan Huygens’s early work on collision, which later would be reorganized and presented as De motu corporum ex percussione. Huygens produced the equations at the same time as his announcement of his rejection of Descartes’s rules of collision. Never intended for publication, the equations appear to have been used as preliminary scaffolding on which to build his critiques of Descartes’s physics. Additionally… 
1 Citations
The Mathematics of High School Physics
In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, mathematicians and physical philosophers managed to study, via mathematics, various physical systems of the sublunar world through idealized and

References

SHOWING 1-10 OF 12 REFERENCES
Reviews: Mathematics and Logic-Symbols, Impossible Numbers, and Geometric Entanglements: British Algebra through the Commentaries on Newton's Universal Arithmetick
Acknowledgements Introduction 1. Setting the scene 2. William Oughtred and Thomas Harriot 3. John Collins's campaign for a current English algebra textbook 4. John Pell's English edition of Rahn's
A history of mathematical notations
TLDR
Volume I, Notations in Elementary Mathematics, just off the press, is sure to be an indispensable addition to every school and college library and will add greatly to the appreciation and understanding of elementary mathematics.
Unrolling Time: Christiaan Huygens and the Mathematization of Nature
Preface 1. Introduction 2. Accelerated motion: gravity 3. Accelerated motion: curvilinear fall 4. Evolutes 5. Curvature 6. Rectification 7. Diversions 8. Conclusion Notes Bibliography Index.
The Mathematics of Measurement: A Critical History
The emergences of the practical conception of number early scientific metrology and quantitative laws early applications of geometry and proportion the progress of quantification arithmetical algebra
Huygens: The Man behind the Principle
Preface A commemoration 1. Titan 2. Father 3. Mother 4. Family portrait 5. Student 6. Collisions 7. Saturn 8. Force 9. Temperament 10. Weight 11. Crisis 12. Light 13. Dismissal 14. Orphan 15. Heaven
Principles of Philosophy
I/Of the Principles of Human Knowledge.- II/Of the Principles of Material Objects.- III/Of the Visible Universe.- IV/Of the Earth.- Plates.- Index of Persons and Works.- Index of Subjects and Terms.
...
1
2
...