Advanced hybrid supercapacitor based on a mesoporous niobium pentoxide/carbon as high-performance anode.


Recently, hybrid supercapacitors (HSCs), which combine the use of battery and supercapacitor, have been extensively studied in order to satisfy increasing demands for large energy density and high power capability in energy-storage devices. For this purpose, the requirement for anode materials that provide enhanced charge storage sites (high capacity) and accommodate fast charge transport (high rate capability) has increased. Herein, therefore, a preparation of nanocomposite as anode material is presented and an advanced HSC using it is thoroughly analyzed. The HSC comprises a mesoporous Nb2O5/carbon (m-Nb2O5-C) nanocomposite anode synthesized by a simple one-pot method using a block copolymer assisted self-assembly and commercial activated carbon (MSP-20) cathode under organic electrolyte. The m-Nb2O5-C anode provides high specific capacity with outstanding rate performance and cyclability, mainly stemming from its enhanced pseudocapacitive behavior through introduction of a carbon-coated mesostructure within a voltage range from 3.0 to 1.1 V (vs Li/Li(+)). The HSC using the m-Nb2O5-C anode and MSP-20 cathode exhibits excellent energy and power densities (74 W h kg(-1) and 18,510 W kg(-1)), with advanced cycle life (capacity retention: ∼90% at 1000 mA g(-1) after 1000 cycles) within potential range from 1.0 to 3.5 V. In particular, we note that the highest power density (18,510 W kg(-1)) of HSC is achieved at 15 W h kg(-1), which is the highest level among similar HSC systems previously reported. With further study, the HSCs developed in this work could be a next-generation energy-storage device, bridging the performance gap between conventional batteries and supercapacitors.

DOI: 10.1021/nn501972w

7 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@article{Lim2014AdvancedHS, title={Advanced hybrid supercapacitor based on a mesoporous niobium pentoxide/carbon as high-performance anode.}, author={Eunho Lim and Haegyeom Kim and Changshin Jo and Jinyoung Chun and Kyojin Ku and Seongseop Kim and Hyung Ik Lee and In-Sik Nam and Songhun Yoon and Kisuk Kang and Jinwoo Lee}, journal={ACS nano}, year={2014}, volume={8 9}, pages={8968-78} }