A test of the flavour independence of the strong interaction for five flavours


We report on a measurement of the ratio of the strong coupling constants es(Mzo) for various data samples with different quark flavour compositions obtained f rom e + e annihilation at LEP. We select events with muons, electrons, and D *• mesons f rom charm and bot tom decays, events with highly energetic K ~ mesons originating predominantly f rom strange quarks, and events with highly energetic stable charged particles f rom a combination of up, down and strange quarks. F rom the jet production rates in these events we obtain f rom these samples the relative value of c% for the individual quark flavours as b c ~s -1.017__+0.036, es 0 . 9 1 8 • u d s c O~ s O~ u d s b s u d s 0% -1 .158• 0% --1.038__+0.221, with quadratically combined statistical and systematic errors. We also compare the 0% values for quarks of different weak isospin, charge and generation. No evidence for a dependence of as on any of these quark properties is observed. Finally, combining all samples and deter~ s /~s ratio for each flavour, we do not find mining the f incl any dependence of the strong coupling constant on flavour.

20 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Akers2017ATO, title={A test of the flavour independence of the strong interaction for five flavours}, author={R . J . Akers and Gavin Alexander and John Allison and K . J . Anderson and S . Arcelli and Alan Astbury and David Axen and G . Azuelos and J . T . M . Baines and A . H . Ball and Jess Banks and R. J. Barlow and Stephen M. Barnett and Rainer Bartoldus and J . R . Batley and Gr{\'e}goire Beaudoin and Angela Beck and G . A . Beck and J . Becket and C. Beeston and Timo Behnke and K . W . Bell and Gino Bella and Piotr Bentkowski and Peter Berlich and Siegfried Bethke and Otmar Biebel and I . J . Bloodworth and Peiqing La and B . Boden and Holger Bosch and M . Boutemeur and H . Breuker and Philipp Thomas and Rafe M . Brown and A . Bayf A . Buijs and H. J. Burckhart and Christoph Burgard and P. Capiluppi and R . K . Carnegie and A . A . Carter and J . R . Carter and C-W Chang and D . G . Charlton and Sang L. Chu and P. E. L. Clarke and Ian Cohen and J . E . Conboy and Mick Cooper and Michelle Coupland and M . Cuffiani and Stanislav Dado and G . M . Dallavalle and Sander J.G. de Jong and Lourdes del Pozo and Hongzhong Deng and Arne Dieckmann and Michael Dittmar and Shiv Dixit and E . do Couto e Silva and J . E . Dnboscq and E . Duchovni and Guenter Duckeck and I . P . Duerdoth and D . J . P . Dumas and P . A . Elcombe and P . G . Estabrooks and Erez Etzion and Harold G. Evans and Franco L. Fabbri and Bernard Fabbro and Mauro Fierro and Michael Keeler and H . M . Fischer and D . G . Fong and Micka{\"{e}l Foucher and Aline Gaidot and John Gary and Jos{\'e} Gasc{\'o}n and Neil Geddes and C . Geich - Gimbel and Sonja Gensler and F . X . Gentit and Giorgio Giacomelli and Rainer Giacomelli and Valerie Gibson and Will Gibson and John Gillies and Douglas M. Gingrich and M. Jean Goodrick and W . Gorn and Claudio Grandi and Frances Cleary Grant and J . Hagemann and Gail G. Hanson and M . Hansroul and C . K . Hargrove and P Harrison and P . M . Hattersley and Mathias Hauschild and Christine Hawkes and E . Heflin and Richardw Hemingway and Gregor Herten and R . D . Heuer and Jenna C . Hill and Stephen Hillier and Talita Hilse and D . A . Hinshaw and J. David Hobbs and Peter R. Hobson and Don Hochman and Ronald J. Homer and Atsushi Honma and R . E . Hughes - Jones and Richard Humbert and P . Igo - Kemenes and H . Ihssen and D . C . Imrie and A . C . Janissen and Abolhassan Jawahery and Paul Jeffreys and H . Jeremie and M . Jimack and Andrew J Mungall and Richard Jones and Philipp Jovanovic and C . C . H . Jui and D . Karlen and K. Kawagoe and Tetsuaki Kawamoto and Rachael Keeler and Robert Givens Kellogg and Brandon Kennedy and Jerry W . King and Stefan Kluth and Takayoshi Kobayashi and D . S . Koetke and T . P . Kokott and Sachio Komamiya and J . F . Kral and Robert V. Kowalewski and Jacquelyn Krogh and Joseph Kroll and Paul Kyberd and G . D . Lafferty and H . Lafoux and Robert Lahmann and J . A . Lauber and J . G . Layter and P . Lebtanc and A Lee and Mark Lehto and D . Lellouch and C{\'e}line Leroy and James Letts and Lisa Levinson and Sally L. Lloyd and F . K . Loebinger and J . M . Lorah and B . Lorazo and Mairead Losty and X . C . Loll and A . Luig and Massimo Mannelli and S . Marcellini and Charles Markus and Albert Martin and J . - P . Martin and Tetsuro Mashimo and U . Maur and J A Mckenna and Thomas J. McMahon and J . R . McNutt and Frans Meijers and D . Menszner and Frank S. Merritt and H . Mes and Alberto Michelini and R . P . Middleton and Giora Mikenberg and Joe Mildenberger and David J. Miller and Ronen Mir and Wolfgang Mohr and Camille Moisan and Alessandro Montanari and Takakazu Mori and Masatomo Mori and U . Mtiller and Bernd Nellen and Hoang Ha Nguyen and S . W . O ' Neale and F. G. Oakham and F . Odorici and H . O . Ogren and Charlotte Oram and M . J . Oreglia and Shintaro Orito and J . P . Pansart and B . Panzer - Steindel and P . Paschievici and Glen N. Patrick and Pascal Pfister and J . E . Pilcher and Jessica Pinfold and Damien Pitman and P . Poffenberger and Branka Poli and T . W . Pritchard and H. Przysiezniak and Germano R. Quast and M . W . Redmond and Geordie Richards and A . Rollnik and J . M . Roney and S . Rossberg and Ann Marie Rossi and M . Rosvick and P . Routenburg and Karl Runge and O . Runolfsson and D . R . Rust and Munetaka Sasaki and Carla Sbarra and A . D . Schaile and W . Schappert and Fabian Scharf and P. Hansen and Peter Schenk and Bernard Schmitt and H . von der Schmitt and Christoph Schwick and Jochen Schwiening and William G. Scott and Mark Settles and T . G . Shears and B . C . Shen and Charalambos Themistocleous and P. Greg Sherwood and G . P . Siroli and Ann Skillman and Agnija Skuja and Arfon M. Smith and Theresa J . Smith and Glenn A. Snow and R . Sobie and Michael Sproston and Shlomit Tarem and Matteo Tecchio and Patr{\'i}cia Dias and Nathan Tesch and G . Transtromer and N . J . Tresilian and Taiji Tsukamoto and Rick van Kooten and G . J . VanDalen and Gabriel Vasseur and Arne Wagner and David L . Wagner and Carl Wahl and C . P . Ward and Penelope Watkins and Nigel Keith Watson and Michel Weber and Paul M. Weber and Philip Stephen Wells and Norbert Wermes and Berend Wilkens and George W. Wilson and Tomasz Wlodek and S . A . Wotton}, year={2017} }