1 Time - Sequential Working Wavelength - Selective Filter 2 for Flat Autostereoscopic Displays 3


A time-sequential working, spatially multiplexed autostereoscopic 3D display design 20 consisting of a fast switchable RGB-color filter array and a fast color display is presented. The 21 newly introduced 3D display design is usable as a multi user display as well as a single user 22 system. The wavelength-selective filter barrier emits the light from a larger aperture than common 23 autostereoscopic barrier displays with similar barrier pitch and ascent. Measurements on a 24 demonstrator with commercial display components, simulations and computational evaluations 25 has been proceeded to describe the proposed wavelength-selective display design in static states 26 and to show the weak spots of display filters in commercial displays. An optical modelling of 27 wavelength-selective barriers has been used for instance to calculate the light ray distribution 28 properties of that arrangement. In time-sequential implementation it is important to avoid that 29 quick eye or eyelid movement lead to visible color artifacts. Therefore color filter cells, faster 30 switching than conventional LC display cells, must distribute directed light from different 31 primaries at same time, to create a 3D presentation. For that electric tunable liquid crystal 32 Fabry-Pérot color filters are presented. They are switch on-off the colors red, green and blue in 33 millisecond regime. Their active areas consist of a sub-micrometer thick nematic layer sandwiched 34 between dielectric mirrors and ITO-electrodes. These cells shall switch narrow-banding light of 35 red, green or blue. A barrier filter array for a high resolution, glasses-free 3D display has to be 36 equipped with several thousand switchable filter elements having different color apertures. 37

20 Figures and Tables

Cite this paper

@inproceedings{Barr20171T, title={1 Time - Sequential Working Wavelength - Selective Filter 2 for Flat Autostereoscopic Displays 3}, author={Ren{\'e} de la Barr{\'e} and Roland Bartmann and Silvio Jurk and Mathias Kuhlmey and Bernd Duckstein and Detlef Loetzsch and Christian Rabe and Peter Frach and Hagen Bartzsch and Matthias Gittner}, year={2017} }