Yung-Sheng Yen

Learn More
New metal-free dyes with a furan moiety in the conjugated spacer between the arylamine donor and the 2-cyanoacrylic acid acceptor have been synthesized, and high efficiency dye-sensitized solar cells were fabricated using these molecules as light-harvesting sensitizers.
New dipolar compounds incorporating a dithieno[3,2-b:2',3'-d]thiophene unit as the electron donor, an oligothiophene moiety as the conjugated spacer, and 2-cyanoacrylic acid as the electron acceptor have been synthesized. These nonarylamine type metal-free organic compounds have been successfully used as the sensitizers of dye-sensitized solar cells(More)
A series of metal-free benzotriazole-based dipolar dyes have been developed as sensitizers for dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSCs). Different heteroaromatic rings such as furan, thiophene, and selenophene, were used in combination with benzotriazole as the conjugated spacer group. Light harvesting, charge recombination, and electron injection of the cells(More)
Efficient structural characterization is important for quality control when developing novel materials. In this study, we demonstrated the soft ionization capability of the hybrid of immobilized silica and 2,5-dihydrobenzoic acid (DHB) on iron oxide magnetic nanoparticles in MALDI-TOF MS with a clean background. The ratio between SiO(2) and DHB was examined(More)
A series of new phenothiazine-based dyes (HL5-HL7) with double acceptors/anchors have been synthesized and used as the sensitizers for highly efficient dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSCs). Among them, the HL7-based cell exhibits the best efficiency of 8.32% exceeding the N719-based cell (7.35%) by ∼13%.
The cationic complex {[Ru]=C=CHCPh2CH2CH=CH2}BF4 (3a, [Ru] = (eta5-C5H5)(PPh3)2Ru) in solution transforms to {[Ru]=C=CHCH2CPh2CH=CH2}BF4 (4a) via a new metathesis process of the terminal vinyl group with the C=C of the vinylidene group which is confirmed by 13C labeling studies. This transformation is irreversible as revealed by deuteration and(More)
Dipolar dyes comprising an arylamine as the electron donor, a cyanoacrylic acid as electron acceptor, and an electron deficient naphtho[2,3-c][1,2,5]thiadiazole (NTD) or naphtho[2,3-d][1,2,3]triazole (NTz) entity in the conjugated spacer, were developed and used as the sensitizers in dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSCs). The introduction of the NTD unit into(More)
A series of new organic dyes comprising different amines as electron donors, 2-(6-substituted-anthracen-2-yl)-thiophene as the π-conjugated bridge, and cyanoacrylic acid group as an electron acceptor and anchoring group, have been synthesized. There exists charge transfer transition from arylamine and anthracene to the acceptor in these compounds, as(More)
Metal-free dyes (BP-1 to BP-3) containing a 9,10-dihydrophenanthrene unit in the spacer have been synthesized. The dye with the highest cell efficiency, BP-2, was used in combination with SQ2 for cosensitized DSSCs. The cosensitized DSSC in which the ratio of BP-2 and SQ2 is 8:2 (v/v) has a record high efficiency of 8.14% among cosensitized systems using(More)
New heteroleptic ruthenium complexes have been synthesized and used as the sensitizers for dye-sensitized solar cells (DSSCs). The ancillary bipyridine ligand contains rigid aromatic segments (fluorene-, carbazole-, or dithieno[3,2-b:2',3'-d]pyrrole-substituted bipyridine) tethered with a hydrophobic hexyl substituent. The conjugated aromatic segment(More)
  • 1